We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms of the Highest quality!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Les Armures

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Armures
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rooms of the Highest quality!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Absolute gem of a hotel. It didn't look that impressive from outside but the friendly staff soon put my mind at ease. I'd seen the rooms via tripadvisor, they looked great but in reality they were even better! I can honestly say that the quality of the rooms are as good as I've ever seen (previous hotels include 4 seasons Phoenix & LA, Sandy Lane Barbados, Peninsula Hong Kong)
Modern & very comfortable. Great location close to shops & sites.
The only thing that stops it getting 5 stars is the food. No real option for someone who eats a Plant-Based, whole grain diet. But that is a problem throughout Geneva.
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: They all seem new and refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLife L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
68
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Our first time in Geneva, we loved staying in the older part of town. Hotel Les Amures was the perfect place to start a 2 week vacation. The room was large and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team provided you with an excellent experience for your first time in Geneva.

I look forward to welcoming you again at “Les Armures”, I remain,

Yours faithfully

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have spent plenty of money at upscale hotels around the world in our travels but we did not feel that the rates here were justified. The location in Old Town was great. The hotel had an interesting, well documented history. The room was lovely - but quite small. We were charged an additional 40CHF per nite for parking our car. Breakfast was not included. The front desk was impersonal. Maybe they just like to cater to the famous people who stay there (as some of their written notes and photos were displayed in the elevator).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us at “Les Armures” hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the location in the old town of Geneva and the history of our 17th Century house.

Undeniably, the prices are quite high in Geneva; this is due essentially to the unfavorable exchange rate with the Swiss franc. The old city of Geneva is principally a pedestrian district; the fact to park here is a service unfortunately a little expensive.

Thank you again for all of your comments and constructive feedback, it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel and indulge you in a truly memorable stay which will be the true “Les Armures” experience.

With warmest wishes,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful if you want easy access to the old town and city centre. It doesn't have lake views but that wasn't what we were after.

The service was consistently lovely. No problem at all when we arrived at 1am after a delayed flight from Heathrow. The room was always wonderfully cleaned while we were out - we were very happy.

The room was a mix of original features and modern touches which was very nice. Slightly strange breakfast bar style table in our room but not unpleasant. Lovely to have a window that looked out onto the street and a window sill big enough to sit on to enjoy it.

The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is the price. It IS expensive but so is Geneva. It also doesn't have the facilities that the luxury hotels on the lake have like a gym or spa but if you're after a beautiful room in the old town then this is perfect and I would definitely recommend it and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at “Les Armures”.

It is nice to see that you both loved the decor and the location in the Old City of Geneva. Also, we pass on your kind words to our hotel staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit in Geneva.

With our best regards,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for one night very beginning of May. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was really nice with much place. Beds are very comfortable, wifi is excellent.
Our feeling was that the public spaces in the hotel should be upgraded to the same level as the rooms. The corridors, the lobby and the other rooms downstairs are not up to what you can except for the stars and the price of the hotel.
Service is good but not very good. They may need a few more people so that clients do not have to wait too long when they ask for something.
If we had not been upgraded I would certainly have thought the price was slightly too high.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are happy to read your comments regarding your very recent stay with us at “Les Armures” and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Junior Suite.
Regarding your little disappointments, we will carefully study your remarks to maintain the high standards of service expected.
We look forward to welcome you again to "Les Armures".

With our best regards,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Next time we plan to stay LONGER. We flew all the way from Los Angeles via London to Geneva in one day and took public transportation to Old Town then walked up to the hotel. We were exhausted, but as soon as we walked through the door we were so warmly greeted.

After receiving a generous complimentary upgrade for our two-night stay, we slept day one away! Hands-down that was the most comfortable bed we've EVER slept in and we do quite a bit of traveling. From the best pillows on earth to the bedding and the tranquil feeling of our junior suite, we felt we'd died and gone to Heaven!

Our junior suite had a living room area, open beam ceilings, beautifully decorated, a dressing room, fluffily bath robes, slippers, and the bathroom was marvelous! What a superb tub! I always love my tub and shower separate so it was perfect. Also, fluffiest bath towels EVER!

We are very eager to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post such kind words following your stay at “Les Armures”.

We are very pleased that you liked the bedroom, the decor, the comfortable bed and “the best pillows on earth”… We are very dedicated to making our guests feel at home and we are thrilled that you felt we could not do enough for you.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely yours.

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel.
It has the best location in Geneva.
But this is all.
Service is poor, impersonal.
Rooms are tiny.
There is no acoustic insulation, as it is an old building.
So, everyday (and night) you are awaken either by the service personel or by other guests.
Talking about old. There is one lift. That was broken during our stay.
The cherry on the pie? They simply charged minibar items we didn't consume...
Way to many stars in the facade.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

I am happy to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at « Les Armures » and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

First of all, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the old city’s situation of the hotel.
Moreover, I would like to apologize as it seems the hotel Les Armures hasn't answered your needs and expectations. I am sorry that you had to experience some disturbance caused by the lift out of order for a couple of hours. But please don't worry; if some parts of our hotel existed since XVIIth Century, this is not the case for the lift...
I am not only disappointed to read that you found the service poor and impersonal, but also surprised. We pay attention to helpfulness and friendliness, so the staffs are well-known to provide a high quality and personalized welcome and service.
I will carefully study your remarks to maintain the high standards of service expected.

I look forward for having another opportunity to welcome you back to « Les Armures », and to prove you that the image you have is really different to its reality.

With my best regards,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel de la Cigogne
#36 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#9 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#25 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#21 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Hotel Longemalle
#55 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#41 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Armures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Armures

Property: Hotel Les Armures
Address: rue du Puits-Saint-Pierre 1, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Geneva
#28 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Armures 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hotel located in the heart of the Old town of Geneva, “Les Armures” offers a breathtaking view of historic part of the city, while being only a stone's throw away from the business and shopping centre of Geneva. This magnificent 17th century residence has been recently renovated to create a unique environment, combining luxury and refinement, well-being and savoir-vivre with uniquely decorated rooms and suites, all of them with their own charm and elegance. As far as dining is concerned, Epicureans will enjoy “Les Armures” restaurant, known as one of the oldest in the city. The “brasserie style” restaurant, features all-day dining and serves Swiss specialities, such as cheese fondue or raclette. Undoubtedly, Les Armures Restaurant is an unforgettable experience!The walls of this romantic hotel still seem to vibrate with the charisma of his well-known guests as: President Jimmy Carter and his wife Rosalynn, President Bill Clinton and his family, Paul Mac Cartney, Gary Gasparov, Jean Marais, Yannick Noah, Sophia Loren, Pelé and recently George Clooney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Armures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armures Hotel
Les Armures Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing