We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Les Armures
Nearby Hotels
$623
$506
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$386
$372
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$294
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$393
$339
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel N'vY(Geneva)
$417
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$364
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$341
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
147
61
13
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
61
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold cityexcellent lightingnice productsenclosed showerjunior suitefondueboutique hotelbreakfast room islovely hoteleuropean hotelswelcome drinkbeds were comfortableheat waveturn down servicenespresso machinevisit genevaluxury
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 227 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My family of four stayed in two adjacent and connecting rooms here for three nights. We had room 301 (king) and 302 (two twins). This hotel was a real discovery and we were delighted to have found it and stayed here. With so many hotels in Geneva, it was hard to decide exactly where to stay, but the Les Armures location and ambiance made it a perfect choice. It's situated up at the top of a long flight of stairs (or a winding series of roads) in Geneva's old town. It has an old world exterior, but modern and contemporary rooms brightly decorated in wood and leather with flat screen TV's and high tech internet access. Our rooms opened up to a small square in front of the hotel which, while nice, allowed for both a great view but late night noise as well. The bathrooms were both modern but, as I've found in many European hotels, the shower was a little bit difficult to climb in and out of and the shower's glass door didn't keep water from pouring onto the floor. There is a complimentary laptop available at the front desk and free internet access in the lobby. The hotel itself is well located to take advantage of Geneva's waterfront attractions as well as many shops and restaurants nearby in the old town area. You will get your exercise climbing the stairs from the main shopping street up to the hotel, but it will help you work off the calories from Les Armures terrific restaurant (the fondue IS really, really good). There's a very generous breakfast buffet served here as well. The staff was well trained, service was always bright, friendly and cheerful. It was a delight to stay here and I'm looking forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The hotel is located in the old quarter of Geneva, at the top of the Cathedral hill, very short walking distance to all the old quarter sites and the English Garden and lakefront. Very nicely done, though small. This is where the Clintons stayed in 1996, according to the "graffiti" in the elevator. Nice carpeted hall, lots of wood paneling in the room, reasonable amount of space with good closet and good-sized bath (tub/shower), coffered ceilings. Great view down the hill from our room. Very helpful staff gave directions and made reservations, taxi to airport, even brought us a special breakfast tray at 5:45am so we could make our flight!

Hotel Restaurant was small, cozy, and great service. The fondue was yummy, as were the main courses and a good wine list. This seems to be a hot spot in Geneva as there were several diplomat cars parked nearby.

Overall an elegant experience worth the splurge for location and service.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank klgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2008

A lovely little hotel tucked away in the old town. I regularly travel to Geneva on business, and stay at Les Armures when possible. The style is individual, rooms beautifully designed without the bland corporate styles found in so many other hotels. Lovely bathrooms! Breakfast is substantial and value for money (for Geneva anyway!). Also a good restaurant - maybe not gourmet cooking, but good solid Swiss standards and always goes down well with visiting colleagues. Staff are really friendly, must have a top CRM system as they remember all my preferences. Only grumble - can't have an iron in my room because it's a health & safety issue - that'll be 9CHF please to iron my blouse. But if that's the only fault I can find...

Would I go there if it wasn't on expenses? For a very special weekend, yes.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My husband and I had researched on the internet before we booked and had read that some rooms had been recently modernised and therefore requested one – we were more than impressed, the colours, the details, the bathroom and amazing shower – just gorgeous.

Hotel staff were brilliant, they gave us advice on where to go and what to see. Geneva itself does not have a huge amount to do. It does have the lovely old town with its streets to wander around and then the main shopping street with larger department stores like Globus. The hotel is in a perfect location for all of these.

So with advice from staff we took ourselves off on the trains. The best place to visit, especially this time of year (if the weather is good ie not raining) is Gstaad – absolutely gorgeous and our visit here really made our whole trip worthwhile. It is approx 2 hour train journey – the scenery on route is outstanding – but when there – the little town is just breathtaking – it had just received heavy snow fall a day or two before we arrived – and with blue skies – the mountains and village it was just beautiful.

One negative comment in relation to the hotel was the restaurant. Although we had found some lovely restaurants in the surrounding area of the old town (Spaghetti Factory – Café Demi Lune and Salle a manger and also the tiny little restaurant that made gorgeous crepes). On the Sunday night, not many restaurants were open so we thought we would try the hotels own. It looked busy with a good atmosphere, but unfortunately as we are none smokers we were sent to the basement, it had no atmosphere at all. The service was poor and unfortunately the meals we both ordered were very poor indeed – infact very disappointing especially as it turned out to be quite expensive.

However we still loved the hotel – and the breakfast in the small quaint breakfast room outshone the service and quality of the main restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Fairies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

The Hotel Les Armures is an excellent little boutique hotel right in the heart of Geneva. The rooms are furnished to a high standard with stylish, contemporary fittings (widescreen tv etc) and original period features, namely the 17th century wooden beamed ceiling. Prices are a little on the steep side - 6 CHF to iron a shirt! - but the room rate includes a generous breakfast and the staff could not have been more responsive to my requests, opening the bar late at night for our party and allowing me to use the reception computer and printer. They were also able to provide local knowledge to make the trip a success. The location is perfect, just around the corner from the Cathedral and minutes from the main shopping street, in the heart of the old town. Definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teppy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews