We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Small Full Service Hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 5, 2007

I booked a short stay with family through the leading small hotels phone line. We stayed at the beginning of January 2007. Food in the Windows restaurant was excellent (not cheap, but simply described items like 'salmon burger' were actually rather fancier than they sounded). The staff were extremely courteous and helpful (parking, opening lift doors, cleaning service with excellent standards of hygiene and cleanliness). A waitress brought my wife a box of tissues when she sneezed at breakfast. Friendly for young children. On the minus side, the dining room was rather smoky at lunchtime, but this seems to be a Swiss issue, not one with the hotel, and service for our rather late lunch (4pm) the first day was somewhat slow. No problems any other time.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Angleterre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 651 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2006

We live in an age when there are "ordinary" five star hotels, and then there's the Four Seasons.

Geneva has a strip of top hotels (like the Beau Rivage, etc) along the front, in front of the water jet. The Angleterre is the last one in the strip -- indeed the Angleterre is directly opposite the Jet d'eau! (The classic postcard photo of the Jet would be taken from a room at the front the 2nd or 3rd floor of the Angleterre.)

It is a small hotel, sort of two-rooms wide on the street, with only a dozen? or so rooms. It is a full-on five star hotel, but unfortunately for this sort of money, it just doesn't come close to staying at Geneva's new Four Seasons. The Angleterre, which is a member of the "carnation" chain, is more expensive, if anything, than the 4S (which is both amazing and a bit ridiculous). We have no problem with paying a lot for a great hotel - but it really has to be a "destination hotel" .. not just "a pretty good hotel."

The rooms are perfectly good in a generic 5-star way. The staff at the Angleterre are, after they warm to you, very friendly indeed. Us and the kids were always treated with absolute courtesy and genuine warmth, from the breakfast staff, the front staff and so on. Some of the older concierge wear lovely traditional uniforms your kids will love.

The breakfast is particularly good food, you'll like it. The dining room is a kind of conservatory thing that was built somewhat conrtoversially at the front of the hotel kind of elevated on the street, hence with ultimate views onto the lake.

The chef's cooking in the evening is both complex yet elegant, a nice achievement.

If the Angleterre was just half the price, one would say about it "well that's a super 5 star hotel at the price, we were extremely happy, and heck, we saved a lot of money over staying at the Four Seasons" .... however .... as it is, one says "well heck, the Angleterre is an OK 5-star hotel, but the prices are so high that, no matter how hard the staff tries, you just feel horribly ripped-off that you didn't just stay at the Four Seasons down the street..."

If you stay at the Angleterre and arrive by car, note that you simply turn in to the small street beside the hotel, where you may find a valet at the side steps entrance to the hotel. The hotel is of course directly across the street from the lake, be sure to step across to the small ferry-boat that will run you across the lake for small change.

FWIW, it would seem to be almost essentialy to get a room on the front (lake) side...note that the almost incomprehensibly ugly Hilton (or whatever it is) built in the 70s is the next building along (the Angleterre sort of marks the end of the strup of 5 star hotels, the 4S is the start of the strip) so you can always conveniently find the Angleterre by looking for that hideous thing!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

The staff at Hotel D'Angleterre were excellent. They were efficient, extremely pleasant and friendly. My wife and I love staying in luxury hotels (I am a member of Leaders Club) and all too often luxury and snobbery go together. Fortunately not here. In the hotel there was an excellent balance of high quality and warm charm. The bedroom decor was impressive with high attention to detail on fabrics and furniture. The only down point was that our King bed was 2 singles pushed together. This was rectified on our second night with a humble apology and a change of rooms.

Before chosing this hotel I read other reports on Geneva hotels. They spoke of the snooty attitude of the staff and poor service. Hotel d'Angleterre is in a superb location, lovely decor and with excellent staff who could not do enough to help. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JohnLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

I have never had better service or a better appointed room anywhere in Europe, in fact this is was one of the best hotel experences I have had anywhere. We spent three nights in a junior suite overlooking the lake with two sets of french doors opening onto a lovely balcony. The room was everthing I could have wanted and the service was perfect. This is a small Grand Hotel where the staff will know your name and will treat you very well without overdoing it.

The dining room, Windows, is a nice place to have dinner and do ask about specials and items not on the regular - rather to English - menu. The gym is small but its on the same level as the very very nice bar and if you have any sense you will embrace the bar and save you working for a morning jog along the lake front.

I have stayed at other 5 star hotels in Geneva and if I were on business and traveling alone I might give an edge to the Four Seasons, which is on the river not the lake, but if you want a 5 star romantic hotel this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank JST1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

We took your advice and checked in at the Hotel D'Angleterre upon arriving in Geneva. The location was just perfect and we loved opening our french doors and looking out to the water jet specetacle just acroos the way in the middle of Lake Geneva. The rooms were very pretty in the cozy but elegant english style and the bathrooms were totally modern with marble and nickel fixtures. The sevice was superb. We came to rely on our wonderful and knowledgeable concierge, Bruno who never led us stray as far as the best restaurants to try and kept us from going to turist traps. The restaurant in the hotel was marelous and the lounge downstairs is a favorite of upscale locals.

13  Thank fbsexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2006

I've stayed even at other 5 star hotels, but you couldn't match the level of amenities and service at this hotel. From the moment we pulled up in the taxi, the hotel staff doted on us, and pampered us, and the hotel had everything we needed - cribs, a beautiful bathroom, walk in closet, couches, internet, a comfortable bed, and excellent service. The restaurant was also beautiful and the service really stood out - they even watched our baby while we ate, and everything was delicious, including the breakfast.

The concierge also provided us with umbrellas, and a suggested walking tour, and it was then that I noted how close the hotel is to both the lake (which is visible from our room and the restaurant), and old town, which has everything of note tourism wise.

Overall, an excellent experience. Top rating of all hotels I've been in.

16  Thank Frogberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
535
Reviewed January 7, 2006

At the end of the family trip we had a chance to stay at the D'Angleterre - and were so sorry we didn't make it a longer stay! We staff were great and the accomodations were beautiful - this was such a treat! We had acquaintances who stay in Geneva and exclusively stay at the D'Angleterre and had highly recommended it; we would only stay here in our next visit! The restaurant was also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
968 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#11 of 106 in Geneva
760 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $433 - $1,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing