We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another extraordinary leading hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is overlooking the d Jeau the fountain. What a location . You can't get probably a better location in geneva. It is a historic hotel with beautifully done 40 rooms. You feel like royalty with the kind of service they have. Mary who checked us in was vey helpful and showed the best room the junior suite which is just amazing view . The service is 11 out of 10 . A lot of people earlier commented of noise I think there is none . If you are in geneva and can spend a little more than this the place to stay. You have have coffee at the windows Resturant overlooking the lake. Keep the good work leading hotels . I would love to come back and stay here soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 666 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in Geneva for the first time on out travels to Interlochen. I have never stayed at what I felt was a comparable hotel to this. The wait staff, concierge and front desk reception are so overly helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is the most luxurious, prime location! Not one detail was spared on this hotel and that makes it so amazing. The views from our hotel room at as if we are standing right on lake Geneva! I will be talking about this hotel for many years to come and can only hope to visit again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NotURavgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I go to Geneve regularly on the business trips and like this hotel very much. Before I stayed in several more 5-star hotels in Geneve centre but dÁnglettere is the best. I like everything there especially lake view from the room when I have it. I try to book the lake view room in advance but unfortunately can't get it everytime.
Breakfast- a big choice of pastries, omlettes etc.
Location is THE BEST!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel on Sunday the 30th of October for one night. I had a meeting in Geneva on the Monday and as it was Mothers Day on the Sunday my daughter came with me.
We were greeted when we arrived at the hotel like royalty, even the manager was there to greet us. We arrived early as we had a very early flight and we were shown to our room straight away which was wonderful. All the staff during our stay couldn't of been more helpful or attentive. The service was second to none.
The room was beautiful with everything you could wish for in it. The Penhaligans products in the bathroom were wonderful and something you don't normally see in hotels.
The location is perfect and its location makes it accessible to everywhere in Geneva.
In the evening we had a drink in the Leopard bar after we had eaten and the drinks, snacks ( of which there were many) and service was fabulous.
The breakfast the next day was also good with a nice selection of cold breakfast items and a good freshly cooked breakfast as well.
The only downside to this hotel is the price. Its very expensive, however everywhere in Geneva is expensive.
This hotel definitely deserves it 5 star rating.
If or when I return to Geneva I would stay here again and will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room with a lake view as we had a standard room. I think these would be the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a colonial-style boutique hotel whose owners have not spared any effort in ensuring the best fixtures,fittings and paintings in decorating the hotel.
Located beside Lake Geneva, half the rooms face the lake and therefore at a premium price.
As noted by others, staff have been trained to know guests by name and are customer-focused.
We signed for the room and dinner package and were happy with the 3-course dinner provided at the inhouse Windows restaurant ..the food is gourmet class.
Downstairs,in the bar there is usually live music provided by the resident jazz band featuring a classy lady jazz singer.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This place is expensive (but Ibis will set you back ~£180 a night), but worth every penny. The hotel manager Jean-Vittal and his team are fantastic!!!! They all know your name, which is nice. Although my wife found it a little too much every time you enter everyone asks how you are.

Location is perfect!!! You can walk from the main train station in 10mins, but is a million miles away from the run down area by the station. You can walk all around the main parts of Geneva from the hotel.

The hotel has a fantastic bar, with the best service we have ever received in a bar!

Penhaligons bathroom products!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kewal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went too Geneva in March 2014 and we want to stay at 5 star hotel . This hotel is some of the most fantastic hotel we have stay on,,even If we have been round the word,,and lot of 5 ,7 star hotels .
Everyone at this hotel try their best to make our stay wonderful ,, the whole staff was great and the night club have very good entertainment and service .

Love to go back

Room Tip: If you stay in centre of town,,there will be some noise from traffic, but it was no problem when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007vine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#19 of 106 in Geneva
788 reviews
Le Richemond, Geneve
#7 of 106 in Geneva
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $413 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing