We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic place, do book there....”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place, do book there....”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Fantastic hotel, with friendly staff, beautifully furnished.

The best tea time in Geneva, sconces, lovely presentation, lots of attention to details.

Definitely a treasure among Geneva hotels.

It Is rather rare to find this quality of the service in Geneva.

Location is also beautiful, facing the lake, and being close to all the commodities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    77
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
93
281
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

stayed for 7night in lovely boutique hotel in front of geneva famous lake,within walking distance to all tourism attraction, the hotel contain 35 rooms each room has diffrant design and decoration, the hotel still use the luxury antique elevators, the room is in nice and the bathroom is big but the staff service is amazing every one try to help you and every one know your name and they really respect your culture and do their best to help you, the breakfast in ground floor in windows restaurant with beautiful view to the lake, all i want to say is tripadvisor never lie about the best hotel in geneva

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsheikh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited gevena for 2nights stayed in lake executive connected to a standard room. Rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious bathrooms and excellent amenities. Staff are great and helpful, would greet you everytime they see you and always offer to help.
The one area that would definitely need attention is breakfast buffet. It's extremely small selection of bread and fruit, then you can order your eggs. Didn't see a menu just a question of what kind of eggs you like. Other than breakfast, our stay was excellent and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Madam,

Let me thank you for the very nice comment you have left about the hotel d'Angleterre as well as the posted pictures.

I have noticed your remark regarding the breakfast. We propose 3 kinds fresh breads every morning, tosats and various danish pastries. I have asked our Maitre D to make sure that these are available all morning long on the buffet. The range of eggs is being proposed by voice.

Thanks for giving us this opportunity to improve our services.

Warmest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although our room was on the smaller side I enjoyed the décor (husband didn't). We did have a large king bed that took up most of the room space. (paid for the lowest category room) The service was very good. We enjoyed the Leopard Room for an expensive drink....the décor there is part of the price.

The room had a coffee pot which was nice. Location is great...walking distance from the train station and across the street from the free ferry to old town. They only lost one star because the price is steep; however, I found a better rate through an online booking agency.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SailAwaySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have only praise for this hotel. The location is excellent. The rooms are on the small side, but beautiful. However, the hotel truly shines because of the staff. We truly could not expect more from them. They are friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The concierge recommendations were spot on. Our meals in the restaurant were excellent-I would highly recommend the afternoon tea. The leopard bar is an interesting and fun little place, as well.

When we return to Geneva we won't even consider another hotel, based on our experience at the Hotel d'Angleterre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a beautiful, well-located property that enables you to walk to restaurants, taxis, shops and the lake. The staff are exceptional and give you breathing room to go about your business. The bedding is very comfortable and the room well equipped.
Couldn't find a better location.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a king bed and the bed did dominate the room, but worked out well for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryMary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely out of this world, This has got to be in my Top ten. I stayed here on business with work colleagues, and I have to say it was exceptional, the quality of service the variety of food and it tasted magnificent. I would highly recommend this hotel, its an absolute must.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 244Krystal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
928 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 105 in Geneva
725 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing