We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay by the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay by the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our first visit to Lake Geneva was on August 15th, 2013 and we stayed for 3 nights at Hotel d'Angleterre. Hotel d'Angleterre, is a perfect boutique hotel on the lake with impeccable service and standards.
Friendly and professional staff greeted us, answered all of our questions, escorted us to our beautiful appointed room to see if they could further assist us or enhance our stay. The beds were very comfortable, and bathrooms spacious and well appointed.In the bathroom, there was a small fragrant candle burning next to the bathtub, was really warm and inviting! Delicious chocolate treats and fresh fruit were waiting for us in our room. Nice classy touch! Maid service was excellent, and attentive to our needs. The Concierge arranged everything that was asked of him with a smile. Staff at the ultra chic Leopard Lounge were happy to help us settle in, relax and enjoy the night. We will be happily returning to hotel d'Angleterre for 1 final night on August 20th before our departure to Paris. My wife and I will certainly be returning to this lovely hotel on our next visit to Geneva. We Highly recommended this hotel! Spencer M

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear M. M,

Reading and sharing your comment with the team gave me such stisfaction. I am really glad you enjoyed every detail of our hotel and even more the service.

I look forward to your next visit and hope we'll enjoy your favourite drink in the Leopard Lounge !

Warmest regards

Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    76
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
86
268
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasent stay. Super friendly staff. Extremely comfortable rooms. The best location over the lake. Very good food. I can't say enough about this place.
It is my only place when I come to Geneva

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alghamdi_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Fireworks on the shores of the lake are one of the highlights of the summer season in Geneva. Thank you very much for this great photo you have shared with us but also for you warm comment towards our Hotel.

We all look forward to greet you soon again at the hôtel d'Angleterre.

Kindest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The position of the hotel is perfect, close enough to walk everywhere.
The rooms were lovely: the beds were extremely comfortable with beautiful linen.
The service was excellent from the porter to the reception to the bar-lady. The highlight of our stay was at breakfast when the Maitre d’ said, “How can I make your breakfast more special?”

Room Tip: If the annual fair is on, make sure you don't have a lake-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Camilla,

Thank you so much for this wwarm comment on the hotel, its team and the details you've enjoyed. If you feel a bit "home sick" from the hotel d'Angleterre, I am sure you'll find the same spirit and ambiance in our sister hotel, the Oyster Box in Umhlanga, a bit closer from you than Geneva !

Kindest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is unassuming from the outside--but don't be fooled. You will be enveloped in service and comfort once you reach the front desk. Extremely friendly and helpful staff (thankfully for us, they speak perfect English). The rooms are a unique fusion of quaint and luxurious... hard for me to describe any other way! We had a beautiful view of the lake and the fountain. The Leopard Bar is a real experience-- casual and intimate during the week and party time on the weekend. The only downside is the cost--nothing is cheap in Switzerland, especially in Geneva. If you can afford to stay here, don't hesitate--we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. I can see why it is rated so highly on Tripadvisor.
great large rooms. Ours had a lake view.
the most remarkable thing about this hotel is the service. If you rang for anything, it would arrive almost immediately. Always plenty of staff on call and they would have to be the best and friendliest in all Europe. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Vincent,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It's true the location of our hotel is unique, offering our rooms facing the lake Leman marvellous views on the "Jet d'Eau" and the Mont-Blanc.

I am glad you enjoyed the service offered by our team and hope we'll have the opportunity to greet you soon again in Geneva.

Warmest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for several days with our young children (6 and 8) and I could not think of how our stay could have been any better. Our rooms were very clean nicely decorated. The view of Lake Geneva with the mountains in the background was beautiful to wake up to each morning. The Hotel staff was very helpful in making suggestions on what we should see and helping us make the necessary arrangements. The daily breakfast buffet in their restaurant was well worth the cost and we celebrated my youngest daughter's birthday one night in their restaurant and they certainly made her feel like a princess. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain/lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCB00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

At the time to make a reservation in Geneva, I did remember a comment made about this hotel from a friend who travels often to Switzerland. He was saying that it was the place to stay in Geneva.
I dont know much about other hotels in the city, but i doubt that you can find better.
Great location, the perfect comfortable room, nicely furnished with a with a large bathroom.,
At check-in, you feel instantly that the staff, gentle and very professional will provide a great service.
In fact, everyone cares about your well being and do their best to please you. GREAT! GREAT!
I have never seen a place so clean, they will even cover an opened bottle of water to protect it from dust ( see picture)
100% happy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing