We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always on top !”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my second stay at the d'Angleterre, the last one was back in 2008. The experience is even better than in my memory, the restaurant is great with great service, the Leopard room is to me the most cosy and nice bar in town. Service remains there impeccable and extremely reactive.
The rooms are very nice and large for the city. Being very used to stay in the Red Carnation hotels I had the same great feeling and experience I usually have in the other properties although each hotel remains different, I could keep my landmarks. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: View on the lake is awesome, among the best. Various great quality restaurants steps from the hotel...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tm_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Angleterre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 652 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel not only lived up to our high expectations (after reading reviews) but exceeded them. The staff are a credit to themselves and to their employers. Luxurious and comfortable surroundings in an ideal location - perfect .

Room Tip: Front or side view room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel simply has it all – fantastic location with many rooms having a view of the lake right opposite one of the most famous Geneva’s attractions The Jet d'Eau fountain – we could literally see it without leaving our bed! Talking of which it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and I am a very regular traveller. Wonderful quality of the bed and bed linen would offer you the best quality of sleep in Geneva – that’s for sure. But if you don’t feel like sleeping much – this hotels has the most fantastic bar with great atmosphere – it seems to be very popular and almost impossible to get in if you are not a hotel guest. Our room was in wonderful condition and the bathroom just renovated. They also have very attentive and well-trained staff – everyone smiles and running to tend to your every request. The concierges called a dozen shops for us to search my favourite fashion label. We will be back!

Room Tip: rooms with the view of the lake are amazing
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Sir,

Your comment is the most rewarding answer to the wonderful team I work with. I feel really proud of their commitment when reading your message. Thank you very much you your wonderful feed back. Our philosophy at Red Carnation Hotels is "no detail to small no request too large" : details as the quality of beds and challenges such as helping you to find your favourite fashion label!

Warmest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a wonderful 5 star boutique hotel in an enviable position overlooking the lake.

Most importantly, the staff are just fantastic. I've rarely encountered such a dedicated and professional team.

Thoroughly, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

After trying in vain to find a hotel that is even reasonably good for the price in Geneva, I decided to stay at Angleterre on a recommendation (and Tripadvisor's reviews). I did not regret it: the service, the room, the food, everything was close to flawless (see below for one gripe). In some ways, this hotel has reconciled with me with the city, on which I had increasingly soured because of awful service, lack of cleanliness and general carelessness (and that is just the top hotels). From the doormen to the reception (thank you for being patient with my credit card issues) to the concierge to the waiters to housekeeping, I found a level of quality that I thought had disappeared in Geneva, and which makes all the difference between an indifferent stay (even when the room and location are good) and a wonderful one. The decor in the room, as in the bar, was a little over the top, but I enjoyed the contrast with the sobriety of the hotel otherwise, as well as with the dourness of the city. My one gripe: a spotty Internet connection, but even with this, all involved tried relentlessly to improve the situation, which (nearly) made up for the problem. I will not stay anywhere else in Geneva.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcinrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for this exceptional comment that does represent everything that we, as a team, are aiming for on a daily basis. We all feel proud that your experience in our hotel has reconciled you with our marvellous city of Geneva. Just to reassure you for your next stay, our Wi-Fi has been corrected : feel free to come back to test it and enjoy the hotel.

Warmest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you area looking for a cozy home away from home this is the hotel for your visit to Geneva. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The staff is wonderful professional and reliable. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and will return to Angleterre.

I have stayed in the winter as well as the summer the location is great!

We have had dinner several times at the restaurant if you love haute cuisine the chef is amazing. I am a chef little does he know and every taste is delightful. I hope you enjoy your stay in Geneva as much.

Room Tip: 427 this room is quiet with a partial view of the lake
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaBlossomfirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Located magically on the Quai du Mont-Blanc this hotel will charm you from the moment you enter the small but elegant lobby to the moment you are shown to your room; rooms overlooking the lake are the prized rooms offering point blank views of the Jet d'Eau, Mont Blanc and the French alps behind; rooms are spacious and immaculate with levels of cleanliness that most other hotels simply dream of offering; attentive staff, excellent room service and the fact that you can walk from this hotel to the old part of Geneve easily make the Hotel d'Angleterre perhaps the best hotel in Geneva; Windows restaurant is a lovely place to linger over lunch as the snow falls outside ....

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are worth the premium; however any room at this hotel will please you with the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear MADP,

Reading your review is a reward for all the team of the Hotel d'Angleterre. Thank you very much. You have mentioned how confortable our Windows Restaurant is when the weather turns to snow. This morning, you would have been able to enjoy a unique breakfast as we've had over 25 cm of snow during the night: the view on the shores is outstanding, immaculate and calm. The whole Geneva seems so peaceful...

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel d'Angleterre shortly.

Warmest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
976 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 106 in Geneva
762 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $425 - $1,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing