We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View Lac Leman”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Javea ALICANTE
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great View Lac Leman”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were driving en route Spain to Austria, chose this Hotel as for its location. It has outstanding levelof service, we normaly avoid hotel resturants, due to the snow we ate in the resturant, what a pleasant surprise, we were given a table overlooking the lake, very romantic atmosphere, will saty agin when in Geneva.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    77
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
87
271
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a few days for our wedding anniversary, and were knocked off our feet by the outstanding service, food, and quality of the overall hotel. The staff gets very high marks for their attention to detail and the needs of guests. excellent location, great rooms, Superb restaurants and lounge. Wonderful expereiences and memories created here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimHanson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was not our first time to Geneva but first time to this wonderful hotel. I was tempted to try Hotel d'Angleterre because it had been rated no.1 on trip Advisor for Romanticism. Well all I can say is that my husband and I will certainly without hesitation be back. The room was majestic overlooking Lac Léman. Loved all the architectural details of the room. The staff was extremely friendly and personal. Checking in was flawless. Even coming back to our room at night, there were candles lighted in the outstanding bathroom. And for the first time visitor, the hotel is located right in front of the little boats that takes you to the other side of the shore (where the great shopping is!) where ducks and swans follow you along. Simply the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family spent one night at the Angleterre over the Christmas holidays. We had two rooms, one larger room with a lake view and a smaller room (one with the blue decor as seen in the hotel website pictures). From the attentive staff, beautiful and tasty breakfast, elegant room decor to the phenhaligon's bath products, every detail was a treat. It's a little like staying in an elegant estate by the lake. The Jete d'Eau is right in front of the hotel and you can see it while sipping a capaccino or glass of champagne in one of the hotel restaurants. The bar downstairs is a hotspot and looked fun though we did not visit. The beds were great, probably the best night sleep we got in twelve nights in Europe. It's a long way from home but if we ever go back we would definitely stay at the d'Angleterre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igetaroundconb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Geneva. This hotel was impeccably decorated with original artwork and fine furnishings. The service from every member of the staff could not have been better. If you want an extremely nice room and service beyond compare, this is the hotel for you. When we return we will most definitely stay again at the Hotel d'Angleterre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Eric,

It was a great pleasure for us to start 2013 with you and your familiy! Thanks a lot for these warm comments that I will share with the rest of the team. We're all really glad you enjoyed the ambiance, the decoration and style of the hotel.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welocme you soon at the hotel.

Warmest regards

Jean-Vital Domézon
Général Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The service was impeccable and we were made to feel comfortable in every which way.

Attention to detail was amazing and rooms were lovely if not a bit small

The only slight negative was the extortionate prices in the bar but the ambience was worth it

We cant wait to return to this hotel

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aruna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of an anniversary trip. It was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, and the service impeccable. We were always treated as if we were their favourite guests! We luckily had an upgrade and our room was fabulous. We had a wonderful (if - as all Geneva- eye-wateringly expensive) meal in their restaurant, and really enjoyed a drink in the atmospheric bar downstairs. I think it was the nicest hotel experience I have ever had. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing