We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparable boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Geneva. After our overnight flight from North America and a short walk from Gare Cornavin in the rain, we arrived looking quite bedraggled at Hotel d'Angleterre. We were met by 2 extraordinarily friendly and welcoming gentlemen at the reception desk who made our check-in process a breeze. We were then escorted to our room where a detailed tour of the room ensued. We were brought coffee and provided with an enormous bowl of Swiss chocolate. Our room was on the top floor and, upon opening the windows, were greeted by a superb view of Lac Leman. The location of the hotel is excellent both from the standpoint of the view to Old Geneva, as well as being directly at the site of the ferry across the lake. Proximity to the train station as mentioned above is also excellent. Our room deserves only superlatives, being fully equipped in every regard, even to the point of providing a 110V AC electrical outlet. To me, however, the greatest asset of this hotel was the incredible staff, every member of which was as polite, friendly, and helpful as the two men at the reception desk. This hotel deserves all the accolades that have been bestowed upon it in other reviews. If the occasion arises for my wife and I to return to Geneva, I have no doubt where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSRSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Angleterre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 652 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend having chosen the hotel based on reviews and having stayed in two of their London hotels.
The hotel is beautifully furnished, immaculately clean and in a great location but the highlight is the quality of the service.
I'm not sure how they do it and why other hotels fail to, but the quality of service is truly exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble, we were made to feel like the only guests and our name was remembered consistently by staff in all the functions.
I can't recommend the hotel or Red Carnation as a group enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKtravelMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business over the years. I have always like the location proximity to the train station, the wonderful views of Lake Leman, the staff, facilities and restaurant . This time was the first time I ever stayed there with my wife during our 25th anniversary trip to Europe.

When we arrived, the doorman who I did not know greeted us with "welcome back Mr. R" The front desk was equally as inviting and kind. We were escorted to our room where the staff had made the bed with a heart of rose pedals, swiss chocolates and other canapés. While up there, the front desk called and asked if I had the keys to my car. I told them that I did, but that we would be leaving soon to return the car to the airport. I had not locked the car. When I got downstairs about 20 minutes later, there was a bell hop GUARDING my car!! I was blown away. He told me he was worried leaving the car unlocked, so simply waited for me to return.

Later that evening we went to the Leopard Room bar for drinks and a Great band. The service was impeccable.


When we returned to our room, there was another desert for us to have before bedtime. It was a wonderful experience. We were sorry that we only stayed one night, and will definitely be back soon. When we checked out, it felt like we were leaving home away from home.... a great feeling. Be sure to check this place out!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This small leading hotel is not very small, but it feels like home away from home. Beautifully located on the Quai, this hotel offers fantastic rooms, excellent and very personal service and one of the best hotel bars I've ever come across: the Leopard Bar. In a quiet and romantic setting, this bar boasts splendid cocktails and great live music (not so quiet but very nice). Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Over the past year it has been our tradition to meet several times per year, during the fall and winter months, at the hotel for traditional afternoon high tea. We have never been disappointed. This time (Sunday 4 Nov) we were surprised with an upgraded offering and new china (appropriately matched by a new price). The afternoon was superb. Lovely and attentive service, excellent quality of food, attention to detail in table setting and decoration. It is always such a treat to spend a few hours, and the environment is simply welcoming, warm and cozy.
We will certainly return. Wonderful work being done at the hotel and the dedication to guest service shows.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JenGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times for many years it is always great the staff very friendly and efficient they make feel as you are the owner of the place , some rooms are very small others are ok and the rooms facing the lake wish they had bigger windows to enjoye the great view of the lake , but the rooms always clean clean never experienced it other wise and amenities is good , service excellent not to forget food is great and their hamburger is the best in town ,they have an afternoon tea which is fabiolus ,not to forget their bar with live music is the place in town where every one goes . i recommend it always to my friends but reserve early they do not have many rooms and most of time is full . one thing is not so great it is expensive but for 5 star hotel is with in the price of the other 5 stars hotels in Geneva .

Room Tip: if you want a good size roo get a deluxe room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVAfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a lovely old traditional hotel. The location is excellent, staff attentive and friendly and dining in "Windows" both high quality and unexpectedly good value. The hotel is surprisingly dog friendly (although, oddly, having taken our Labrador into the restaurant for every meal without incident, we had some problems with a huffy manager at the distinctly less sophisticated bar in the basement - a definite black mark.

In common with other reviews, we found the breakfast also below the standard expected - surprising, considering the exceptional quality of other meals. Our room was lovely, but a little smaller than expected. However did overlook the lake, albeit through a small-ish window.

Room Tip: Some Lake-view rooms can be small.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadsterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
974 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 106 in Geneva
762 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 106 in Geneva
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $425 - $1,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing