We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

The hotel really was first class, from entering the reception to leaving four days later the service was impecable.

The staff could not do enough for you , I would recommend the hotel to anyone and we will definitely be visiting it again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    74
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
84
266
36
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Hotel is ideally located, in the centre of Geneva, just across the majestic fountain. Whether in town for business or pleasure, the Hotel is ideal! The staff is beyond wonderful: welcomed me consistently by name, with smiles and always willing to assist. I truly look forward to my next stay.
Other comments: heated towel racks in the bathroom, Penthaligon amenities, quiet rooms and an outstanding breakfast in Windows restaurant, overlooking all of Geneva.
This hotel is a MUST! With only 45 rooms or so, you feel at home with all the luxuries one would expect in a 5 star.
Bravo to the management for a perfect team and service!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding the hotel d'Angleterre. I was happy to read that you have enjoyed some of our facilities and the attention we give to details. This is why our hotel is so special and unique. I will share your compliments with the team.

I hope we will have the opportunity to greet you again in a soon future.

Kindest regards

Jean-Vital Domézon
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Superb! The Hotel d'Angleterre in Geneva is first class and definitley deserves its 5 * rating! Complimentary refreshments are offered upon check-in...A much appreciated gesture when you have been travelling for several hours! Whilst the hotel, itself, is sumptuous and beautifully appointed, its greatest asset is,without doubt, its professional, friendly and courteous staff...Within minutes of arrival, everyone recognises you and addresses you by name....A rarity, indeed! The situation of this hotel and the vista of Lake Geneva and Mont Blanc are second to none!...I am privileged to be staying here again for a pre-Xmas break this year and simply cannot wait to return to this wonderful haven...If you intend visiting Geneva, The Hotel D'Angleterre is the only place to stay! Simply stunning!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife and I visited Geneva in early November, 2011 and selected this hotel for our 5 night stay. The hotel is a short walk from both the main train station in Geneva and the central business district and old town. It fronts directly on the lake. The hotel is beautiful and exudes an old world charm but is surprisingly up-to-date. Our room was on the 4th (top floor) facing the lake and was beautifully furnished. In fact, all furniture and furnishings in the hotel are in perfect condition. No expense appears to have been spared in the finish of the hotel. While the hotel is beautiful, the reason to stay at this hotel is the staff. The staff is well trained, professional and extremely courteous. You will simply not find any hotel where the staff is as pleasant, accommodating and professional as at this hotel. If you are traveling to Geneva, do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

If you want a wonderful relaxing hotel with the best views of Geneva then this is the place for you. The direct view of the Lake Geneva and the great fountain as well as the city's other famous landmarks can be seen from your hotel bedroom window. Really lovely hotel with Lake Geneva on your doorstep so one can take exhilarating walks along the lakeside. But most of all you would want to stay at this hotel because of its outstanding service and hospitality. When we stayed we were treated like royalty. A friend of ours Raj Suri and his lovely wife Sonia, told us about this hotel and told us that it had been listed in a report as one of the “top hotels in Geneva” and we followed it up reading all the excellent reviews in Trip Advisor. We booked it for 2 nights only, bed and breakfast but now wish we had booked for more nights as we enjoyed the experience so much. This hotel really has a distinctive feel with each bedroom with its own unique character and style; antique with all modern amenities wonderful accommodation. We received a Suite which gave direct views of the lake and the city; however, the whole place is just lovely. The restaurant called “Windows”, the dining room and sitting rooms are just divine. But what makes this place are the General Manager Mr Jaques and Mr John Vittel. They are just the most wonderful hosts. The fantastic breakfast with Champagne before setting off for a day of sightseeing sets the scene for what follows. Everything was just right. The breakfast was buffet help-yourself with a la carte, cooked to order eggs, bacon etc... The good thing was that the breakfast was about the right size so that we did not need lunch. And the food is just so wonderful. Mr Jaques and John Vittel with all their staff make this place: they look after your every need and the hotel just runs so smoothly, it has a nice relaxed, almost being “part of the family” feel to it. It is THE place to be in the Geneva for a lovely relaxing holiday; but make sure you stay for at least several nights and book the breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I recently had the opportunity to visit Switzerland and stayed at this hotel in the excellent city of Geneva. The location was amazing. From my bedroom window I could see the famous lake and the whole old city and further back were the peaks of the mountains On arrival we were greeted by a highly professional team Including the General Manager Mr Jaques and mr John Vittel. They all knew our names and addressed us very nicely. At this moment i knew we had made the correct choice of hotel The check in procedure was smooth and the concierge came to greet us and assist us in any questions we had about our surrounding area and any trips we needed information on.

We were accompanied to our room which was beautiful. Highest standards with the views one only dreams off. My husband and I enjoyed hot drinks whilst we made our plans.

The next morning we feasted on the breakfast in the hotel restaurant the buffet had a huge variety of food and the hot breakfast was made when one was ready with no rushing at all.

I am in awe of this hotel. The ambience the service the atmosphere the location are just second to none.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saabLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

A beautiful boutique hotel located near Lake Geneva. The hotel staff are friendly, courteous and helpful and made my 2 weeks stay in Geneva very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing