We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Runs like clockwork” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Runs like clockwork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My spouse and I spent one night at the D'Angleterre after a hiking trip in the French Alps. Prior to our arrival, we received an email that welcomed us in advance and asked us to fill out a short questionnaire to ensure that any preferences we had could be accommodated - a very nice/professional touch. We received a very warm greeting upon our arrival at the hotel, check in was seemless and the desk clerk gave us a tour of our upgraded room, where we found some fruit and a few sweets waiting for us. The bathroom was spacious. Turn down service included lit tea candles in the bathroom. The room was very quiet, which ensured a deep sleep. The room was immaculately clean. The decor can be described as 'masculine'. We had a number of requests - an early wake up call, reservations at a restaurant that could accommodate my spouse's specific dietary preferences, a taxi, a premier chocolate shop, etc. All these were dealt with very efficiently by desk staff. The location of the hotel is ideal - right on the lake, very close to the jeu d'eau, within a short walking distance (about 12 mins) from the train station, close to the designer shops and also a short walk to the old town (no need for a taxi to and from the train station). If you need to get to the airport, you can take a train from the train station for about 3 euro - most, if not all trains stop at the airport. It is also a close walk to the bus station (if you need to get to certain destinations that are serviced by bus). The hotel is a member of Leading Hotels of the World and that designation is very well earned. This hotel is not cheap - in fact, Switzerland is quite expensive in general, but I consider that this is money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravellerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    74
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
84
266
36
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

one of the best in Geneva we enjoying our stay in it. very friendly and helpful they trying here best to make you happy
thanks =)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jassimalhetmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I was booked in this hotel through work, and really enjoyed my stay. It is not cheap, but you feel why it has 5 stars.. Service is friendly and personal, from the moment you arrive to the moment you walk out the door again. The room was not very large but beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped. For non German or French speakers like myself it would be nice to have 1 or 2 english entertainment channels (as all shows are dubbed) but that is honestly all I could think of as a point to improve!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdamtraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is a top class hotel. Food, accomodation and service are impeccable.
The restaurant looks out across the lake and jet d'eau, truly spectacular.
Food quality and service are second to none. Try the Lobster Bolognese.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carnebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

In my opinion this hotel still has what others have lost when refurbished in this town, its cozy, with friendly discreet and at the same time ready to help staff. For todays traveller, it is home from home, walking distance to almost everywhere at the heart of this two shored city.

I can only write about the two "superior rooms" we have stayed at and they have what they need, and should you need anything else just ask, staff is very keen to help.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varegue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

From the moment of our arrival to our departure, we were amazed with the hospitality; attention of the personnel and the impeccable service. Our room and bed, pillows were very comfortable with a perfect view of the lake. Every detail was thought of.. We also enjoyed the breakfast.. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Very welcoming, room was excellent and food superb. I would highly recommend this as value for money compared to other 4 star superior / 5 star hotels

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing