We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pizza is ok, all the rest average...”
Review of Luigia

Luigia
Ranked #22 of 1,701 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The pizza is ok, all the rest average...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, lively atmosphere, delicious pizza but seriously overpriced. The waiters don't speak English and the service is generally poor...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantina-Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    490
    173
    73
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Busy late night dinner venue”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We decided to find somewhere to eat after going to a small Geneva wine bar for pre-dinner drinks. Luigia does not accept reservations, but on arrival you register at the front desk and are given a buzzer. You can order a drink at the bar while waiting for your table. We were a group of four, arrived just before 10pm and waited approximately 30 minutes for a table. Once we had our table and had ordered, the food came quite quickly and was very nice. Three of us had pizza, I had the salmon linguine. A good range of pizza and pasta available on the menu, a little pricey but by Geneva standards not too expensive. You can watch the pizza being made if you are lucky enough to get a table close to the wood fired oven. The service was good until it came time to get the bill, we were asked to leave as it was midnight but waited at least 15 minutes for the bill to be bought to the table. Payment on exit and they were happy to split the bill for us (this seems common in Geneva). Overall summary: - nice busy atmosphere, reasonable Italian food but not the best I have tasted, a bit expensive but clean, good service and obviously popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'm picky when it comes to pizza outside of Italy but here it's safe :-)”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I seem to be hooked to the Pizza Petals which is a pizza rolled almost the same way as a cinnamon roll. Stuffed with mozzarella di buffala, rocket lettuce, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, prosciutto and the best part...truffles! It's definitely one singular pizza you'll probably enjoy. As for the cost, it's Geneva, don't expect anything to be inexpensive :-) Decent wine selection. Arguably the best pizza place in Geneva so try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went there under suggestion of a friend, stating it was the best pizza in Geneva. What I think, is that the personel of the restaurant is spreading this rumors! Pizza was nothing but average indeed, they have their special, called pizza Luigia, which costs 50 CHF (circa 40 euro) and it is not that good (fancy shaped and with one, and I mean just one, leaf of truffle). Price is very high too, a blond beer is around 8 euros, you can find cheaper ones in Geneva (almost the half price). Service was quite disappointing, they were quite rude. Summarizing, this place was a terrible mistake, if you want to try it, have a chance, but being an italian I would suggest other places where to eat a better and chaper pizza in Geneva.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A good decor with contemporary style. The lighting suits the place very well. The moment you enter the restaurant, you feel the pressure of the staff. They are not friendly or welcoming. The tables are very close to each other which makes it difficult to communicate with other person. The staff are there to just take the orders very fast and disappears for a long time. The food is ordinary, there are many neighbourhood and better restaurants which provides better service, friendly, accommodates your needs and reasonably priced. This is an expensive for it serves, not to mention the service. I will go there if I have to with work colleagues. I do not recommend. You should try other neighbourhood restaurants for quality, service and price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigia also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing