We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef not willing to please customers”
Review of Restaurant Le Duo

Restaurant Le Duo
Ranked #297 of 1,701 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It takes talent to dream up a "quick gourmet break" meeting the constraints of short time-frames. For Le Bistro, the chef Armel Bedouet has concocted a gourmet moment based on respecting the generosity of artisan-style produce. Tasty and original interpretations of classic French brasserie dishes accompanied by Geneva and Swiss wines compose a delicious menu. Le Bistro is the natural destination for friendly meals and business lunches offering a wealth of reassuring culinary references.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chef not willing to please customers”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Eat here with friends and family during a city break to Geneva.
We were a party of Six and on of the party wanted a Caesar Salad but with any other meat in subsitute of the normal chicken but despite asking nicely this was far too much trouble for the chef who simply refused! So we asked how cheaper the salad would be without any meat and they refused to take anything off the price! Obviously didn't want happy customers!
I had the steak with was very fatty.......so not great.
The points I have given for the quality of the desserts which to be fair we're very good.
Overall poor experience and would never return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalManotel, Directeur at Restaurant Le Duo, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Richard M.,

On behalf of the restaurant Duo at the Hotel Royal, I thank you for telling us about your diner experience during your recent visit to Geneva.

We aim to exceed our Guest’s expectations and we feel very disapointed when we fail to do so, such as in your case.

I kindly ask you to accept my appologies for the inconvenience we may have caused you and your friends.

Based on your comment we were able to set the necessary in place to avoid this from happening again.

Looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you personally at Restaurant Le Duo in the near future

Kind regards,

André Cheminade
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for dining in when you're not feeling like going out”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The service was friendly and attentive in this competent restaurant. Dishes were tasty, if not particularly inspired. Prices were reasonable by Geneva standards. If you're staying in the neighborhood, this is a good option to have available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NIPSparticipant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
233 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A winner for a business dinner.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just had a business dinner here. It was perfect for that.

The food is good bistro food, nothing mind-blowing but solid and well-presented.

The waiter was excellent: very attentive and observant.

The atmosphere is ok, nothing special.

When I saw the place my expectations dropped.

But the service and attention to detail in the food changed my mind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Was staying in the hotel (the Royal) and decided against going outside in the rain... Great service, good food, nice atmosphere (we had dinner in the bistro). Beef tartare was very generous and exceptionally well prepared; my companion had the lamb, which was cooked to perfection. A little expensive, but well, not more than the average restaurant in Geneva.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubs_Howlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked in to the Bistro part of this restaurant when we were staying at the sister hotel just down the road. Would class it more as a restaurant than a bistro. We were swamped by too many waiters one just too pretentious when choosing our wine. Not a relaxed dine and even with discount vouchers from our hotel, the most expensive meal we had in Geneva and certainly not the best 11/3

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Duo also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Restaurant Le Duo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing