We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just another museum...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee International de la Reforme

Musee International de la Reforme
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.82*
and up
Geneva Pass
Ranked #40 of 145 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Drammen
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just another museum...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was supposed to be the big museum visit for our students during our trip to Geneva, but it turned to be just "OK" and nothing more. The small size of the place, the lack of structure in the displays and incomprehensible Swiss notion of banning photography (even without flash) made it mediocre at best.

The websites are great. They give a visitor lots of information about the Reformation, its connections to Geneva, the museum building, Jean Calvin and different Protestant movements in general. Having studied these in advance, I was eager to take my students there for a visit. I left feeling confused as to whether we should just have done some lectures in the school instead.

Located in the middle of the Old Town and with several Calvin-figured signs directing us to the right place, it starts out promising enough. We had ordered free audio guides (which are kind of like big mobile phones you click a code into; the codes next to different items let you know which codes to enter to hear more about them), and knowing the general knowledge of the English language of most Swiss museum guides, I'm glad I did that rather than paying extra for a guide to show us around. Still, we could not always get the audio guides to work properly and I think you need to have quite a disciplined setup if bringing students to the museum: use the tasks found on the websites and get the students to solve them at the site instead of just walking around.

Walking around in the museum is a bit difficult, as there are several floors, stairs and narrow passages in this small house. Potentially, it can be really good to bring a small group here and guide them. The museum is quite biased in their depiction of Calvin, though, and the other displays - which are quite interesting and contain such things as an overview over the world's Protestant movements and their prominent figures - don't seem connected to the rest of the exhibition. All in all you need to have a good overview of Protestant history already, and study the exhibit carefully, if you're going to gain anything from it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Petter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    27
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a focused museum that you deserve to experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

a museum that focuses on the historical and cultural influences of the protestant reformation with thought evoking artifacts. if it SOUNDS interesting, then you MUST experience it. it is not a "free" museum, as many are in geneva...i believe the entry ticket for adults is 15CHF...but well worth the price. they have portable audio equipment to supplement the displays. be sure to experience the lower rooms at the end which examine the post reformation influence on protestantism worldwide over the last 300 years to present. allow 2 hours. then be sure to go right inside the st. pierre cathedral right next door as the perfect follow up to the museum experience. while there, at 5CHF, walk the steps to the tower for a panoramic view of geneva that is remarkable! allow 1 hour for this experience. then take the next hour to walk down the hill behind the cathedral to parc de bastions and see the 60 foot high reformation wall, further extending the museum experience. spend the rest of that hour in the gorgeous park or back to the top of the hill side and lounge on the never-ending bench above and behind the reformation wall. a PERFECT 1/2 day tour for 20CHF!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sdpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Helped me put things in context”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This museum told the story of part of my history as a Calvinist, but with an anthropologist's objectivity. I found it enlightening and encouraging. By getting back to the roots of the movement, it helped me cut through the distortions that have (mis)shaped Protestantism through the centuries.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KenH207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

A very well presented Museum about the Reformation - most interesting ideas that children would enjoy and for the adults loads of Manuscripts and old Documents which are so very interesting. The audio is in English but when they show t.v. pieces which are incorporated with "action" round the room it is in French only which is a shame. It follows through to the present day which is also excellent. Well done, great museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WENDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Eh! Okay a nice museum of religious history.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Not my thing really, but well done and brings into context the history of religion and how we got to the mess we are in today. Just kidding, well just a little anyway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gdmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee International de la Reforme also viewed

 

Been to Musee International de la Reforme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing