We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Matze

La Matze
Ranked #428 of 1,678 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss, European, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Cornavin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good food, a bit noisy when restaurant is full, but other than that.. Great place to eat at. Isn't open on Sunday though.

Price is a bit high but that's the average in Geneva I guess.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephanmignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    44
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great Cheese Fondue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

One of the better tasting cheese fondues I've tasted . This is a tourist place close to the train station. Do not expect nice views. The waiters were very efficient and prompt and anticipates customer's needs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Porter120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Value Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visit Geneva at least twice a year and La Matze is always on our lunch or dinner schedule. It is very reasonably priced for Geneva. We typically have the roasted chicken, which is very good. They also have good pastas and pizza. This is not a fancy place, just a basic, good restaurant.

The place is loaded with locals at lunch time, so although they get their share of tourists due to the location, the locals definitely love this place. In the summer, many people sit on the "terrace" outside, which is a pleasant people watching location.

The personnel can be a bit reserved with tourists, but we have found they warm up to us just fine. In fact, we dropped by for an early lunch the other day and the hostess was not in front, so we just sat down at a table. When the hostess came out, she sat us at a semi-round booth (the second best in the house - the first was occupied) and told us "this is much better" - and it was. They have several waitpeople on staff that speak good enough English and if not, just point at the menu - you'll do just fine.

I'm sorry to read that other people have had bad experiences here, but over the past ten years, we've never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tierradeluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“They take rude to a new level”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We understood when visiting Paris and Switzerland that there would be a fair amount of cultural difference we would need to make allowance for.
When we went to dine at this restaurant however, we were not greeted and even after several "bonjour!"'s from us, the response was only stony silence.
And though it was virtually empty, the old man seated us just about on top of the only other couple there. My friend and I expressed a desire to sit elsewhere and that we would move should they suddenly have 16 people arrive to dine at the same time. This was forbidden.
We had brought a bottle of wine special to us and enquired about corkage, at which the man said yes sure no problem twice, which surprised us but pleased us enough to stay. When we asked for the corkscrew it was as if we had insulted his mother. So as not to be looked at down a long crooked nose all evening, we thankfully left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tourist Hangout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is in an area near the main station that is packed with fairly similar places. The food is quite good and the prices are reasonable (for Geneva, as always has to be said) but the night we there every table was occupied by tourists (including us, naturally). The service was friendly and prompt but this is not a place to go if you want to go where the locals eat. Try a bit further from the station.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASClarkca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Matze also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to La Matze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing