We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, food excellent every time”

Cafe du Bourg de Four
Ranked #133 of 1,701 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Cité
Description: It is a straight forward inexpensive restaurant in the old city of Geneva with a general European cuisine, mixed with a few Balkan dishes. It does a good rosti. But the general food enjoyment is let down by a surly and rude waiter.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Third visit, food excellent every time”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Picked randomly on a first visit to Geneva, the Cafe du Bourg de Four was good enough to go back to on two other occasions - once for dinner and twice for lunch. The rosti is excellent, and other dishes tried (steak with mushroom sauce, steak tartare) were also of a very high quality. The location is excellent, in a lively part of the old town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    69
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food is good with average service and a bit priced”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner there with our kids. We ordered 4 dishes (there is no menu for children) and got mixed food: beef was ok but tuna steak was not great. If you pay with credit card you get 3% up charge...we found this practice not friendly at all

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Olimpia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
375 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth to try”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Little, cute restaurant. Lovely decoration. If you want to eat good rösti, this is the place to be. Must to try: hazelnut liqueur.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Steak Tartar in Geneva !”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had lunch here on a rainy cold March day. This brasserie had many locals as well as tourists who filled the tables at this small restaurant in one of Geneva's oldest squares. My husband said it was one of the best steak tartars that he has tasted. I had homemade baked spinach ravioli.
Just delicious ! We both had some local Swiss wine which was delicious. The service was superb. I highly recommend this charming little restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good atmosphere, good service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Dinner for 5 that started out as a reservation for 11 people. I was worried that the staff would be upset with our change in numbers, but they took it in stride. The service was prompt and friendly (something you don't always find in Geneva). The food was well prepared and not overly expensive. In our party we chose two fish dishes, a steak, a salad, and rosti. All were delicious. Will definitely return to this establishment. Would recommend a reservation as the place was full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Bourg de Four also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe du Bourg de Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing