We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fresh and Delicious Food”
Review of L'Epicentre

L'Epicentre
Reserve with
L'Epicentre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,687 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Fresh and Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The food served at L'Epicentre was some of the freshest and most delicious locally sourced food I have ever had. The menu changes frequently (every 4 weeks or so, to use the freshest seasonal and local ingredients we were told). The waiter was really friendly and helpful to translate the menu which was only available in French. We were two people ordering two different main courses (one veal, one fish) and dessert. What amazed us was that both our plates had so many flavours, so as you progressed, more flavours appeared. That made each bite taste unique, as you got to combine the different ingredients in a different way every time.

The only downside (which does not affect the rating, because the food was absolutely brilliant) was that their website did not inform about the opening hours and that out of 3 desserts on the menu, they only served 1 of them on the night we visited.

The restaurant is not located in an area you would usually pass as a tourist, but it is easily reachable by tram and a short (200 m) walk. What tricks the eye is that the establishment doesn't look like a fancy place and the terrace looks like it would belong to an ice cream shop. But don't be fooled! The food is really good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NoNameAvailable10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    27
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Geneva”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Unbelievably good cuisine. You won't find a better option in Geneva - the spices used are amazing. The owner and his chefs pay careful attention to every detail for each meal - using only the freshest ingredients and pay careful attention to each customer. You will not regret going to this restaurant. Strongly recommend trying the tasting menu. Only drawback is that it's currently closed the entire weekend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DKNorthstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“L épicentre à développer une nouvelle forme de gastronomie”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I am going there every time I go to Geneva (the only restaurant I am actually willing to go except for a couple of ethnic restaurants). Except for the organic wine (there is also few regular wine thankfully), this place is nothing but fabulous and would easily deserve a couple of Michelin stars (not possible due to small infrastructure).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBergInLozarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We happened upon this gem recently, and can't wait to go back. Lovely atmosphere, eclectic taste in decoration. We had the "5spice" tasting menu, and found each dish delectable. They were small portions, which for me was perfect. The spicing was delicate, but definitely added something special to each dish. A nice discovery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We only found this place because Geneva was booked out so we had to stay away from the centre. But what a delight!
My French is good, but not for spice names so we chose the set EpiMenu, a 5-course mini degustation. It was an incredible mixture of fine cuisine and new flavours from the various spices. And really good value for just 58 CHF. The "cheesecake" (their name for it, but it doesn't do justice to the dish) dessert was a stunning mixture of flavours and textures. The meal was the best in our 2-week holiday in the region.

The place is small and well-frequented by locals so I suggest booking.

Warning: the street address is correct but when we went (20 Jan 2014) the TripAdvisor map link was wrong, pointing to a nearby cross-street.

Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessGrumpy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Epicentre also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to L'Epicentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing