We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit touristy, but fun for dinner!”

Restaurant Edelweiss
Reserve with
Restaurant Edelweiss is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,705 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Description: Welcome to the mountains! In a truly unique setting, featuring wooden panelling and checkered tablecloths, Edelweiss restaurant offers you a typically Alpine dining experience. In a group or with friends, treat yourself to a delicious fondue and other Swiss specialties, while enjoying the sounds of yodel and traditional instrumental band. You will discover a typical Swiss cuisine, with cheese/ meat fondues, raclette, eminces, chocolate, alpine setting and close to the lake.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A bit touristy, but fun for dinner!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our hotel concierge almost tried to talk us out of having dinner here because they said it was "too touristy", but we rolled the dice and went for dinner and had a great time. The live music is great (two guys on stage playing/singing) and they try and get the other guests involved. For dinner we had the champagne fondue and the Chinese fondue and really enjoyed both. Wine list is expensive and limited, but that's probably true of every restaurant in the city. (Waiter was nice and let us try 3 different ones before we picked something). I had never actually had cheese fondue before so this was a really pleasant first fondue experience, even if it had a touristy feel to it. Not a cheap dinner, but a memorable one.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    228
    90
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Swiss made”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are a fan of swiss fondue or raclet that is the place.
Typical swiss decor, friendly staff.
Thinks in advance and reserve a table. Would recommend the table on the balcony -more privacy and not so crowded.
Try also Mont Blanc dessert.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bo_Pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Traditional swiss food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Service was excellent traditional food was very good. The portions of the meat fondue a bit limited but overall a good experience

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Selfachifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fun overall experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Given the name Edelweiss, you have to expect a certain level of kitsch. ☺ You get that with the chalet décor, stuffed Saint Bernards and the live music--yodeling, accordion, cowbells and Alpenhorn. We went to the restaurant on a Saturday evening without making reservations. Little did we know that this place is a hot ticket and luckily there was a table available for the two of us. All other seats were reserved. My partner had the mixed salad as a starter and I chose the charcuterie. The portions were plentiful and the food average. The cheese fondue was tasty but nothing to write home about. We appreciated the 15%-off coupon we received as guests at the hotel. The musicians are what tied up this experience and made it worth it overall. (Had they not been there I wouldn't recommend this restaurant). The guys are fun and friendly and engage the patrons without making anyone feel silly. And they happen to be excellent musicians. Overall, it was a lot of fun if not a little cheesy (excuse the pun).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyingpig666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A taste of Switzerland”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

On all the tours I took, they mentioned that the Hotel Edelweiss restaurant was a good priced place to eat a traditional Swiss meal. You will need a reservation, as its always quite busy. Interesting menu, I chose to have a typical fondue, but the real value was the fun little show that is put on by the band. Traditional Swiss music and audience participation (if you choose) trying to play some of the instruments, and Yes, there was Yodeling !!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Edelweiss also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Restaurant Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing