We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge the book by its cover.”
Review of Awash

Awash
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Awash is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #238 of 1,685 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $19 - $24
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't judge the book by its cover.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place doesn't look spectacular on first inspection, but inside it is well decorated and you can have a choice of a "European"-style table or go for a more authentic experience. Ethiopian cuisine can be rather an acquired taste but if you do like it, this is a good place to go. A little pricey but the servings are generous, and the service hospitable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LausMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    61
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant, good atmosphere, food OK”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Ethiopian restaurant. Went on a Saturday night - around 4 or 5 times on the night the music was turned up and a couple of dancers came on. They were really good and added to the atmosphere.

I wanted to really like this place but the food was nothing really special. Nothing wrong with it either. Most of the dishes served on a type of pancake / crepe - you eat with your hands.

On the whole, having been there once, I wouldn't go back. I'd try somewhere else.

Tips:
* wash your hands in the toilets before eating
* avoid tables in the corner near the kitchen - nicer decor a bit further down the restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
367 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food was definitely tasty. We had a menu with several types of meat and vegetables. The staff is very friendly and beer/wine pretty affordable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Ethiopian food in Geneva!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Sold Ethiopian food in Geneva. Not the best we've had, but also not tasteless or boring. We had a 7 course tasting menu from a local coupon company, so I can't speak to the price, but the food would certainly be worth it to go back again. Yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank island_girl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality, delicious, vegan friendly food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I visited Awash because a good friend of mine highly recommended it and I had a wonderful dinner. The staff was very kind and helpful and allowed for all the special requests, like having a vegan option. My companions had Ethiopian beer and they liked it a lot. I had some Ethiopian tea and it was delicious. The food was very nice. They did not charge for the tap water, which is unusual at Geneva restuarants. The service was just excellent! I will definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suitcaseowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awash also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Awash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing