We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ethiopian in Geneva”
Review of Awash

Awash
Ranked #269 of 1,716 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $24
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian in Geneva”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Relatively authentic Ethiopian restaurant (you do not quite sit on the ground) where you do not go away hungry. One of the best in Geneva for filling you up! Neighbourhood is so-so, but still safe, might consider a cab.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkkras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    62
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very nice. good food, good ambience”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a nice meal here and the restaurant was busy with many tables filled with couples or families. I am surprised to read the other reviews that say the food was poor, this was not our experience. It's maybe not an outstanding restaurant, but given the dearth of choice in Geneva for Ethiopian, it was quite pleasant and the ambience was nice. Service was good, not too slow. Only comment would be that the doro wat didn't have the usual boiled egg while our neighbors did. We would go back if ever back in the neighborhood. I would give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diestermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Not recommended, there are better Ethiopian restaurants in Geneva”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We love Ethiopian food but we did not like what we were served here. The tibs were bad quality, lentils not tasty, small portions, and bad desinterested service. Ethiopian customers appear to be treated better service and food-wise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prangins, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Special atmosphere, interesting food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The place is a bit shabby and sometimes noisy.
Service very good. Food definitely interesting, probably authentic Ethiopian, served very generously.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very poor food and service”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I had lunch with three other people there last Sunday, 8 July 2012, . The place is shabby, but maybe looks better at night as the atmosphere is more nightclub than restaurant and they do have live entertainment in the evening so maybe the food is a secondary consideration. Injera was good, but the rest of the meal was awful, tough meat, corn from a tin, wilted luttuce and the waitress was very distracted and really did not seem to care. We had to ask four times before we got water and she stood behind the bar, where there were no customers, and ignored us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gottogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awash also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Awash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing