We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast elevators, decent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Plaza Biel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Plaza Biel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Biel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fast elevators, decent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Central location but we got in late and really didn't get a chance to walk around since we were enroute to another location. The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was small, but the water pressure was good. There were 2 elevators and I thought that it might be crazy with so many people coming and going in the hotel, but the elevators were SPEEDY (first time I've ever seen that in a European hotel!) so we weren't inconvenienced at all. The hotel bar/restaurant is ok for a set dinner that our group ordered. I might like to have tried something different if we stayed another night. Breakfast options were decent and included yogurts, orange juice or fruit juice, fresh fruit, scrambled egg, bacon, sausages, fresh bread rolls & machine coffee. I wish I could say more about this hotel, but we didn't stay long. I might try this location again for the right price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercureplaza, Manager at Mercure Plaza Biel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Ilona Gloor, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    183
    52
    18
    5
See reviews for
37
94
41
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice Rooms, kept clean, bath/shower combination in ensuite. Breakfast included yogurts, orange juice or fruit juice mix, fresh oranges, scrambled egg, rashers/bacon, sausages, fresh bread rolls & machine coffee.

Easy to find central location next to the river/canal. Within approx 10mins to the night life/restaurants. Approx 12mins from the train station.

Checkin was a bit slow as there were a lot of people checking in (even in the evening!) and there was only 1 guy working the desk.

Only complaint is they moved my stuff while i was out of the hotel without telling me, I thought I was locked out or the key card was broken. Luckily I hadn't unpacked! Had to go and get a new key card for my new room where my stuff was relocated. The second room was fine also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobnoxious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercureplaza, Manager at Mercure Plaza Biel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Bienne Biel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the waiting and the room changing problems and and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ilona Gloor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I satyed 1 Night in a Twin Bed room. The room is big and it has a balcony. There is free wifi service provided. There is also a sauna and gym.The breakfast buffet at level 1 was a spread. Overall, nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoyuE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercureplaza, Manager at Mercure Plaza Biel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Plaza Biel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ilona Gloor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here in a group, which the hotel managed quite well. The staff are very accommodating, and I liked the room. The bed was very comfy. Outlets were easily available to recharge my stuff. I can't say the same for the bathroom, however. The shower was very slippery without grab bars, and as others have noted, there wasn't much room to mount and dismount the porcelain throne.
The breakfast buffet was the best on my two week trip in 7 hotels.
For me it was as good as Mercure usually are -- I'm sure the plumbing issues are not easily alleviated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I am a platinum member of Accorhotel and after my request got an upgrade to a junior suite. Very satisfied. There is also sauna and fitness free of charge. Room service is also free. Very good breakfasts.

Room Tip: Show your membership card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBZ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I've been here for the third time.

Knowing that Biel offer is not wide this time, alone, I was again in this hotel.

I chose an individual room: WRONG.

The bed is fine but accessible only from one of two the sides. However is big enough I have to say.

The room is bit small but enough in space but the bathroom... Come on! No space for the legs once seated in the white throne! The shower is small and without curtain, result: bathroom flooded after the shower. The thermal control of the shower is giving wrong numbers. If you choose 35 degrees you will be roasted as a duck. 20 or 22 (which probably is 35-38) is the right choice.

A red lamp for heating the bathroom is idiotic, much more if you consider that after a minutes it switches off automatically.

The other times I've been I enjoyed double rooms with much more space.

All the hotel is a bit outdated, but clean. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly what make things much much easier.

The restaurant is pretty much ok.

I will repeat but making sure they give me the right room

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creudelsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biel
0.4 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Elite
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental
0.9 mi away
Lago Lodge
Lago Lodge
#1 of 1 in Nidau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dufour
Hotel Dufour
#7 of 11 in Biel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropol Biel
Hotel Metropol Biel
#6 of 11 in Biel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
18.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Beaulac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Plaza Biel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Plaza Biel

Property: Mercure Plaza Biel
Address: Neumarktstrasse 40 | Postfach 3376, Biel 2502, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Biel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Plaza Biel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Plaza Biel is situated in the middle of Biel, close to the pedestrian zone and the train station. This 4-star house of world class has 100 comfortable and airconditioned rooms and suites at your disposal and features all comfort. International and local dishes and wines are served in our Restaurant Barrique. A bar, a terrace and a fitness room with sauna are available too.Room facilities: Smoke detector, 220/240 V AC, flat screen, Satellite and cable TV, safe, telephone, free WiFi, RJ25 electrical socket, electric kettle with tea and coffee and air conditioningBathroom facilities:Bathtub or shower, hair dryer, make-up and magnifying mirror, guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Plaza Biel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Plaza Biel Hotel Biel
Accor Plaza Biel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing