We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location, good breakfast - perfect stay in Biel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Plaza Biel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Plaza Biel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Biel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice location, good breakfast - perfect stay in Biel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Biel was not our main destination, but worked out perfectly for our first stop in Swizerland. The hotel is located fairly close to the main shopping street, which also leads to the old town. It's quite a hike to the shore of the lake, but we were able to walk it easily (there is a nice path along the canal).

Room was nice and clean. Parking available (although you need instructions to find it) - but you have direct access to the lobby and your room.

We arrived in Biel already in the morning, but were able to get the room right away - this was perfect, since we had been travelling all night.

Hotel is also within a walking distance from the Omega Watch museum.

Room Tip: if you are worried about traffic noice, ask for a room on the inner court/side road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    177
    51
    17
    5
See reviews for
36
94
41
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atibaia, Brazil
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

No parking place available, which is a big trouble for people who don´t know the city. The breakfast is chaotic due to tourist groups and it is expensive if compared to other hotel of the same economic group (Ibis).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bienne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercureplaza, Manager at Mercure Plaza Biel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Bienne Biel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Concerning the parking we have limited underground parking places but there are also public parkings in the close surrounding (three minutes walking).

For the breakfast, please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ilona Gloor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
158 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

There are not many hotels in Biel/Bienne. Mercure is a good option for business travelers but it is far from being perfect.

Pros:
- Large and clean room, although furniture and look is dated
- Silent and efficient AC
- Free and fast internet access

Cons:
- Location pretty far away from the main train station
- Traffic noise from 6am in the morning
- Bathroom badly lit
- Quite expensive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercureplaza, Directeur général at Mercure Plaza Biel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear client of the Mercure Plaza Biel,

We thank you very much for your comments about us. We are happy to read that you've spent a pleasant stay with us.

About the points of improvement, we will do our best to improve them as soon as possible. Our location beeing central, the traffic is part of a city center but our windows are well sound proof. As we have an A/C, we have the advantage to offer the possibility to keep them closed the whole night if needed.
The train station is 7 min by walking. Further than other hotels but still well located.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again in our hotel for a future stay in Biel.

Best Regards,

Gsponer Céline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel Staff is very friendly. A lot better then expected. The question which remains usually after a biz trip, would you stay there again or recommend it to a friend. the answer will be a double yes.

There were some issues with the quietness of the room. More to it further below.

Room Tip: it probably depends what room you get. However I heard my next door neighbour doing his thing... ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Equitecnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

A nice hotel well situated in the center of Biel. The hotel is not brand new but well maintained.
Nice and service minded employees.
The rooms could be more exciting but they are clean and tidy.
Simple but sufficient breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Billeballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a good stay, clean room, excelent service.

Restaurant was just ok, not to many options. They had a kind of pizza with different cheeses, bacon and ham, it was very good (don't remember how they call it).

Rooms are a little bit old, but still good.

TV services has not many channels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosueOsuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Located near old town and shopping district. Rooms were spacious and clean. Service was good and staff was friendly. A bit pricey at chf150/night. But for the comfort a good night's rest, it was worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheska g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biel
0.4 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Elite
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental
0.9 mi away
Lago Lodge
Lago Lodge
#1 of 1 in Nidau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropol Biel
Hotel Metropol Biel
#6 of 11 in Biel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dufour
Hotel Dufour
#7 of 11 in Biel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Schloessli Ipsach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Plaza Biel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Plaza Biel

Property: Mercure Plaza Biel
Address: Neumarktstrasse 40 | Postfach 3376, Biel 2502, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Biel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Plaza Biel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Plaza Biel is situated in the middle of Biel, close to the pedestrian zone and the train station. This 4-star house of world class has 100 comfortable and airconditioned rooms and suites at your disposal and features all comfort. International and local dishes and wines are served in our Restaurant Barrique. A bar, a terrace and a fitness room with sauna are available too.Room facilities: Smoke detector, 220/240 V AC, flat screen, Satellite and cable TV, safe, telephone, free WiFi, RJ25 electrical socket, electric kettle with tea and coffee and air conditioningBathroom facilities:Bathtub or shower, hair dryer, make-up and magnifying mirror, guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Plaza Biel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Plaza Biel Hotel Biel
Accor Plaza Biel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing