We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a let down!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Biel is not a tourist area but this hotel is situated just a short walk from a beautiful lake. Also it has an old part of the city with a Fenikula railway.

The Continental is typical of all best western hotels, very austere from the outside and basic on the inside.

The room at the back was acceptable but "" Polistyrene cups for the coffee"" again a trait of best western hotels, NOT FOR ME I borrowed a ceramic cup from the business suits on the first floor.
No 24hr reception, not acceptable for business. The restaurant reasonably priced but the bar area. ""Totally incipid, totally uninspiring, totally un manned. It aws as inviting as having a wet fish slapped in your face ""
Come on Best Western wake up. I will be stopping in the Mercure next, partly because i will arrive at 01:30am.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!! or make sure you get a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryJOrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    47
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
9
36
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend while attending activities in nearby Neuchâtel. The hotel's attraction was the location near the Biel/Bienne train station and decent reviews. I was able to book for a relative bargain price on booking.com and this made up for the CHF26 round-trip train fare back to Neuchatel.

The hotel was quiet - presumably busier in the summer - but the front desk staff was friendly. The room is basic but clean; I was surprised to find a large room with amenities like a minibar. Included breakfast was very well-stocked, like the best of a German hotel, with cheeses, meats, eggs, fruit, breads, and even sparkling wine. My room on the 5th floor had a view towards the lake; again I suspect it would be very pretty in summer.

Only two negatives - 1) the rolling shutter over the window needed to be lubricated and 2) I forgot to put my do-not-disturb sign out the first night, and promptly at 7 AM housekeeping was knocking on the door. Swiss efficiency :-)

The hotel advertises that they are five minutes from the train station; I think that made it sound father away than it really is. You can see the hotel from the platform and it is just down a long walkway and across a single street.

Room Tip: Ask to face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
489 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This unpretentious hotels offers a quiet sleep, a very good breakfast, and free parking - all for a decent price. Its relatively central location - one can walk both to the town centre as well as to the nearby lake in a few minutes - makes it suitable for both the leisure and the business traveller. There are also meeting rooms for company gatherings.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished ones - they call them "business rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

clean quiet comfortable friendly staff central location with car park
room clean well equiped and spacious
nice breakfast with a wide variety and plenty of it

enjoyed the stay and would return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Good Location for Travel / Visit in the Biel/Bienne Area
close to the lake, very good restaurants nearby ( dining on the lake terraces ), friendly staff offer warm welcome, free welcome drink,
superiour breakfast buffet, free parking, large hypermarket ( Migros )
in walking distance, located in the city of Biel/Bienne, but still quiet
location for a good-night-sleep !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank business_travelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed there for 2 nights. Parking was conveniently situation behind the hotel. Check in was relatively strait forward and they were very accommodating with the special bedding arrangement for the children.
Room itself is Ok and clean with basic furnishing. One of our beds creaked all night and we were told that there was no more extra bed to replace it with. The toilet was Awful. The toilet was leaking and the base was moldy and rusty. How can housekeeping not see this? We resorted to using the toilet in the reception because it was cleaner.
Breakfast buffet had a good selection and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Arrived 1hour earlier than suggested check in time, Parked car in hotel carpark and went for a walk until room was ready at suggsted time 2pm. Older Hotel but room recently re decorated and therefore very clean and comfortable. Downside, no air conditioning. Room faced road and traffic noise noticeable at night due to balcony doors being open to cool room. Free parking on site and room had a safe. Free internet access available at computer terminal on 1st floor, unlimited usage. Location very good. Easy 5 minute walk to railway station and large supermarket, 10-15 minute walk to town centre (main shopping district). 5 minute walk behind hotel to the lake and parks. Continental breakfast very good. Juices,cereals, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, smoked salmon, yoghurts, Croissants and breads, tea and coffee. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Plaza Biel
Mercure Plaza Biel
#1 of 11 in Biel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lago Lodge
Lago Lodge
#1 of 1 in Nidau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Elite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dufour
Hotel Dufour
#7 of 11 in Biel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol Biel
Hotel Metropol Biel
#5 of 11 in Biel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Florida Studen
Hotel Florida Studen
#1 of 1 in Studen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental
Address: Aarbergstrasse 29, Biel 2503, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Biel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Biel
Biel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing