We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed the shower test”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Elite
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a fairly upmarket hotel in the centre of Biel/Bienne. The location is perfect if you are arriving by train, but avoid if you have a car as parking is some way off and CHF22/day.

The room was reasonably sized and Swiss spotless. My disappointment was the shower - the temperature varied quite substantially during the course of use, and the water did not drain away fast enough.

When I stayed it was quite warm. The rooms do not have aircon so I wanted to open the windows to get the temperature down. However, it was very noisy (my room was at the front) and the window had to be closed at night to sleep.

Good points: the staff were efficient, friendly and suitably attentive. WiFi worked well. Breakfast. Bar/bistro. They also have a fine dining restaurant, which was excellent but pricey (be ready to pay close to CHF100/head with wine).

Room Tip: Avoid the front if you want to sleep with windows open (summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaldieBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 161 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

I spent one night in this hotel on a business trip. The rooms are well thought out and the bed comfortable. WiFi was OK. Dinner in the lively bar/restuarant downstairs was excellent although there is a more up-scale restaurant in the hotel if you wish to entertain. The building itself is very stylish and centrally located - only 5-10 minutes from the station.
The downside for me in this hotel was the street noise. Most of it came from loud people in front of the bars/shops/restaurants streetside. The noise died down around 23:00.
Breakfast was standard continental buffet.

Room Tip: Maybe try asking for rooms that look out to the back of the hotel. These may be quieter than on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doonfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

In Europe and Switzerland it is not easy to actually find a property where one can feel ok and find the luxury of international standard.

Check in was great, room is fantastic!
Fully renovated and with all amenities one wants to have. In addition, it is modern. Great, I could really sleep there as it was in perfect temperature (you can just by yourself) as well as it was quiet.

I also think it is fun to be here as the hotel has its own Bar called "Baramundo". Trendy, hip and where people meet. Perfect for a drink or "apero". Love to be in a hotel where the bar is also known by locals and a meeting point!

Breakfast is what one knows from international hotel standards. Great quality, great variety and good service. Coffee, for me important, served as it has to be!

Perfect hotel as location is fantastic, 1 minute from the railway station and in the
heart of the town but also quiet!

Room Tip: all rooms are fully renovtaed and for me it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The hotel is situated just 3 mins away from the train station and is easy to locate. There is a supermarket (Migros) diagonally across the hotel, which makes it extremely convenient to stock up on basic items such as water and snacks. Just a short 5 mins walk will take you to Zentralplatz, the main shopping area. You will be able to find plenty of restaurants serving Italian, Turkish and French cuisines, just to name a few. You can even find MacDonald's and Starbucks, which are opened on Sunday as well.

The staff are friendly and helpful. They helped us with the checking of train departure timings and provided directions to the places we needed to go.

Wi-fi, mini-bar and breakfast are available.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

It was a pleasant stay and I recommend this hotel to all who visit Biel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

As per other reviews, good hotel in city centre. Rooms somewhat larger than average and now feature free wifi (collect code from front desk). Staff were very helpful and I was generally impressed, although a little mystified by the 4-star rating: felt more like an upscale 3-star to me. Special prices if you book in advance. Ihad a room on the front and slept fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here last month. The rooms were nice and clean and the location of the hotel is central. It was very noisy at night though and the hotel supply ear plugs!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RuzzOxford_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

A spotlessly clean, sharp and very well presented hotel in the very centre of town with only one drawback - it's right in the middle of the nightlife in Biel (with one of the most popular bars in the building) - Earplugs are supplied and the Swiss law that requires all 'street drinking' to cease at 12:30 helps, but quiet it is not. It eventually quitened down by 2:30 or so but a disturbed night seems to be the norm. Sound insulation between the bedrooms is poor. Aside from the noise, a great hotel, great breakfast and so long as you are in it (not trying to sleep above it) - the bar is excellent! Note that there is no parking at the hotel, but it is possble to find on street parking not to far away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuailOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Plaza Biel
Mercure Plaza Biel
#1 of 11 in Biel
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Biel Bienne
0.8 mi away
Hotel Metropol Biel
Hotel Metropol Biel
#6 of 11 in Biel
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lago Lodge
Lago Lodge
#1 of 1 in Nidau
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dufour
Hotel Dufour
#8 of 11 in Biel
35 reviews
15.8 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Elite

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 14 | 2501 Biel/Bienne, Biel 2502, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Biel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Price Range: $157 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Deco Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing