We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tacu tato is the best plate ever!”
Review of Restaurant Tato

Restaurant Tato
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Barranca
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tacu tato is the best plate ever!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tacu tato Was excelent as always, ceviche and chicharrón de calamares were very good as well. The restaurant has added new tables, the waiter was very nice and se didn't have to wait much to be served
The

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia230572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    47
    21
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very overrated”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Lunch on a Wednesday, the place was about half full. The service was ok, about average. We ordered the Tacu Tacu with picante de mariscos. The presentation was very nice, with the seafood sauce incorporated into the taco taco. However, the flavor was very disappointing, especially given the reputation of this place. Taco taco should be a mixture of rice and beans. This one however, was virtually 100% rice. There couldn't have been more than 10 beans in the whole thing. This resulted in a slightly dry dish with a flavor which was not true taco taco.

What a shame!

The price was cheap, but I'd be happy to pay more for better food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveDog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great reputation... average food”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We came here on the way back from Caral with friends in December 2011. Our friends were raving about their supposedly amazing tacu tacu so we went with high expectations. We found the food average compared to most restaurants in other parts of Peru. However, the value for money was quite good. Lots of food for an affordable price.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stopped in Barranca on our way back from an early trip to Caral from Lima and had lunch there. Our friends who lived in Peru had heard of it Tato and wanted to try. We *were not* disappointed. It was absolutely deserted on a weekday afternoon. It's right on the beach, the food is very good, and they had AMAZING tacu tacu. I would recommend it very highly and walking around the beach was also wonderful. It was also very inexpensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank TaraLCopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The food was average, and the service was absolutely horrible.”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

NOT RETURNING HERE! Tato has a reputation, but after our experience it cannot be for their service and the food was only of average quality.

Our group (8 persons) arrived on Monday, August 30, 2010 (Día de Santa Rosa de Lima). We ordered food and drinks, and the waiter said they did not have cold beer. He went to the kitchen and returned after 10 minutes saying they did in fact have cold beer (did they have to buy them up the street?). The drinks arrived and all was good. 25 minutes later the first plates of food arrived -- one was as ordered, but the other was 1 plate of food that was unknowingly substituted for 2 plates ordered. The waiter explained that the other 2 plates were not available, and no option for changing the order was offered. 15 minutes later 3 plates of tacu tacu arrived, but only after one of our friends went to the kitchen and brought them back to the table herself. Still 2 plates missing. Our friend returned to the kitchen 5 minutes later and returned with her daughter's plate. Still one plate of tacu tacu was missing, and it was hers. She checked again in the kitchen, but no food returned with her. During this time multiple plates of tacu tacu were being served to customers who arrived after us. 25 minutes later still no food for her, and the rest of us were finished eating. We decided to leave and asked for the bill. Charging us in full, we told the waiter and then the manager we were not at all satisfied with the substituted plate, the missing plate, the lack of service, and the need to visit the kitchen multiple times. After another 10 to 15 minutes, they offered us nothing to make the situation better, so we paid only for the drinks and the food orders that were correctly prepared (most of which was brought to the table by one of us) Needless to say, no tip was included. We all walked out of the restaurant very angry, while the employees did and said absolutely nothing. The food was OK, but the substituted plate was cold (a plate previously sent back to the kitchen by another customer?). The "service" was nothing less than atrocious, horrible, and non-existent. The time (in total about 1-1/2 hours) was a total waste of 3 customers' time since they left still hungry (one not having eaten at all). On scale of 1 to 10, the food rated 5.0 and service obviously rated below 1.0.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Outtabounds43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Tato also viewed

Barranca, Lima Region
Barranca, Lima Region
 

Been to Restaurant Tato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing