We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Congress Hotel Seepark
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Certificate of Excellence
Plumpton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding friendly service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel looks, and is, very modern but please do not be put off by looks! The staff make you feel welcome from the first moment you arrive. The room ( we had a suite) was large with separate lounge areas, outside space with stunning views and great bathroom with 2 sinks, a shower and a bath. All rooms have blinds and curtains so you can have as much or as little light as you want. Nespresso coffee machine with plenty of capsules, the cream capsules had thoughtfully been put into the fridge and there was several bottles of water provided.
For food - breakfast is described as a buffet but it is much more than that. There is fruit juice, facilities to squeeze your own, fresh fruit, yoghurts, meats, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausages and so many breads and conserves. It is open until mid day on a Sunday which is a real treat. The restaurant for evening meals is truly outstanding and the service impeccable.
The location is right on the lake and the hotel provides many great views from public areas and some meeting rooms. You can walk into Thun but it is a fair walk, better to use the bus, free when staying in the hotel or via a taxi. Thun is beautiful and you can easily spend the day wandering around the multi layer shops and the seeing the sights.
The hotel is good, the staff make it special and worth a stay.

Room Tip: The suites are large, quiet and with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agentswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    59
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
56
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gyömrő
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very nice hotel, with good food, very friendly staff, and with some wonderful hiking nearby snowmountins are beautiful. The room is just excellent. The sauna area is great, and very calm. They have steam bath, finish saune and an old stile aroma sauna. Everithing is clean and some fruits prepaired for you in order to refresh yourselves after sauna seanses. The highlight of staying at the hotel is with out a doubt the restaurant. The lake provides you a romantic viewof the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozsef-Oldjoe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great lakeside location with mountain view across the lake, nice treks nearby good SPA inside with several saunas to choose from and a good gym. It is an excellent business hotel that is also suitable for relaxation and visiting the area. Not full service so not sure why called 4*, should have been really a true top of the range within the 3* category, still an excellent choice in the area.

Food is really-really good, it has Michelin recommendation and 14 Points Gault Millau , had several meals there and all of them consistent high quality. Wines are hit and miss however.
The rooms on the small side, but clean and modern, unfortunately not with lake view (maybe the suites? I did not ask).
In the summer one can swim in the lake or take a free Canoe from the hotel. There are also bicycles to borrow year-round.
All in all I would not hesitate to strongly recommend, finally as a tip since this property belongs to a local financial institution that arranges very often conferences etc. if one prefers a quieter place I would advise to check with the hotel if there are any planned for during the stay.

Room Tip: Maybe the suites if at decent rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel Seepark in Thun is a relatively small hotel that is typically used by business travelers for conferences and seminars. Yet, it is set in a large park on Lake Thun with a fantastic view of mountains and near a museum and restaurant. It is a very short taxi ride from the Thun train station.
It is not a luxury hotel. The room had a basic bed and bathroom, desk and small TV with limited channels. PLus, it has no air-conditioning. Instead, one has to open the window (no screen) for fresh air. I am not sure I would want to stay there in the summer.
The hotel has a fitness center along with a sauna and jacuzzi. A fan of outdoor activities would enjoy the setting.
The food in the hotel restaurant is good. Adventuring out is easy, as some are in walking distance and taxis are easy to find.
Balconies are small for the usual rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and basically used this as our base for exploring the area. I must stress that we stayed in a Panorama suite and would really recommend splashing out the extra money for one of the suites.

This is not a full service hotel and we knew this when we booked so when we arrived and checked in, we were directed to a room with luggage carts and we managed our own luggage. Again, if this was not your expectation, you may be disappointed. Check-in went well and we were told how to get in to the underground parking and some basic things about our room like how to turn on the lights. The room was massive with a living room area, bedroom area with the bathroom at the back, and an office area with a bar fridge and nespresso machine as well as a desk facing the windows onto the lake. If you book this room for a business trip, don't expect to get any work done - you won't be able to take your eyes of the view!!

While the furnishings are all very nice, they are closer to the functional end than the luxurious end of the spectrum but all very clean and comfortable. The minibar is complimentary and nicely stocked with drinks and snacks.

The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge and very nicely decorated. Many hotels have nicely decorated bathrooms which are completely non-functional but this was definitely finished with purpose in mind. Shelves and drawers to put your toiletries away. There was a good size closet with sufficient hangers and shelves in the bedroom and another at least as big in the hall as you enter the room. This entire room has floor to ceiling windows so it may, in the summer, get terribly warm without any air conditioning. There are two terraces off this room - one being off the bathroom/bedroom area and the other off the living room with a ridiculous view of the mountains and the lake. We spent most of our time in the hotel, on that terrace.

The service was very good for this type of hotel. Again I have to stress that this is not a full service hotel. As others have said, it caters to the conference trade. However, we ordered a bottle of prosecco after arriving and it was delivered almost immediately by the same woman who checked us in. About half an hour later, we couldn't figure out the lighting, within two minutes after placing the call (for instruction), Rachel was back again to show us. She was fantastic. And yes, she did explain the lighting upon check-in which my husband realized just as she arrived. We also had breakfast delivered to the room on the morning we were leaving. The food was excellent and the portions were large (neither of us finished what we ordered).

The hotel is situated in a beautiful park that is well used for running and dog walking but not to the point of being noisy or intrusive to the hotel. It is however, enough of a distance from "town" that I wouldn't have walked it if returning from dinner at night. We decided to have dinner both nights at the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent as was the service. The first night, there was only a family of 8 and us. The second night was just us. There is an outdoor seating area overlooking the park and lake which would have been beautiful for dinner in the warmer months but it was a little chilly during our stay for outdoor dining. One thing I would caution people about, is that the posted times, the times on information in your room, and the times that staff will tell you for the restaurant opening and closing are all different. Even if you are the only people there, make a reservation so they know you're coming or you may find the restaurant closed when you arrive. I wish I could remember the name of the lovely young lady who served us both nights because she was a credit to the hotel. She spoke with us and suggested things to do and see all while maintaining a friendly but professional manner.

All in all, would we stay at this hotel again? Probably, but only if we could get one of the suites. Again, this is a wonderful place to stay if your expectations are tempered.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything was really good in Seepark and I definitely recommend other people to stay there, either if it is for leisure or business. The staff was incredibly friendly and always prepared to help out in all kinds of areas, for example with excursion tips. What I especially liked was the great breakfast smorgasbord with everything you could wish for. If it was up to me I could have stayed hours just at the breakfast area having the amazing view of Lake Thun in front of me. The spa was also top class and very calming and soothing after a long day out on excursions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jullebulle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My impression of this hotel is that it is used mainly for conference and as a training venue. This means that the rooms are clean, bright but sparse and functional. Anyone expecting luxury will be disappointed. The lunch we had in the dining room away from the main delegate area was outstanding, as was the view and the location, which is ideal for exploring one of the most beautiful cities in Switzerland or simply for walking around the park. Other features betray what I imagine is the main purpose of the hotel. When we asked for an iron and board we were directed to an ironing room on the second floor. When my family and I arrived at the hotel at 2am after a long trip, the reception staff looked at us while drinking their tea and we had to bring in our luggage ourselves, presumably because this was outside their standard conference working hours. The same staff had difficulty in checking us out because they were unfamiliar with the hotel management system, again probably because it was outside normal conference working hours. Would we stay there again? Yes but we would adjust our expectations beforehand, hence the three-blob rating

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kmckellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
99 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 5 in Spiez
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel Seepark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel Seepark

Property: Congress Hotel Seepark
Address: Seestrasse 47 | 3602 Thun, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Congress Hotel Seepark 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant, airy and stylish Superior Congress Hotel Seepark stands right on the shores of Lake Thun, in the midst of the historic Schadau Park. Its 85 rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 panorama suites are comfortable, generously proportioned and modern. The Seepark offers a choice of eating options - gourmet dining in "dasRestaurant", and hot food and snacks virtually round the clock in "theTimeless'" bistro. Leisure activities include excursions to the region's beauty spots, outings on the hotel's mountain or e-bikes, and use of the in-house wellness and keep-fit facilities. Fresh, seasonal cuisine and exquisite original dishes, mainly from local produce, make our menus a tempting culinary experience. This tranquil setting with its breathtaking lake and mountain views promises relaxation, pleasure and a sense of utter well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Congress Hotel Seepark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing