We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, charming town, very convenient trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Congress Hotel Seepark
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, charming town, very convenient trains”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This UBS conference hotel is placed in a charming setting outside of town, with stunning views of the lake and the Alps. The rooms are small, but nicely appointed and comfortable and most seem to have terraces. The food was delightful, although for Switzerland they didn't have much of the trademark chocolate! Everything worked and ran smoothly. I'm not a huge fan of their unlimited wifi system - you have to provide a mobile number and they text you a code which seems just all too clunky but I guess for free what do you expect? The staff were unfailingly helpful. Thun is about a 2 hour train ride from Zurich and there are even direct trains straight to the airport which is really convenient. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the main train station and taxis are plentiful.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor and there was some elevator noise - doesn't bother me but if it bothers y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    59
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
56
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Oh wow what a lovely hotel directly beside the lake with the Alps up close, it cannot get any better! The rooms are amazing, lobby, everything! Didn't get to try out the SPA as I was told that it was a mixed one and I don't feel very comfortable with that idea so think that is the only thing that should be changed. Apart from that, my stay was ALL good. Enjoyed a wonderful course dinner as well as breakfast, excellent food. Wonderful stay, they made my family feel so comfortable. Highly recommended, will definitely return when I get the chance to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel. This hotel is right on the lake with incredible views of the Alps. WOW The hotel was nice. English was not an issue. We had the basic room - #308. Quiet, clean. The bed was to small for two people and the duvet was not big enough for a double bed. The room was only set up for one person - one pillow, one robe, one pair of slippers, one glass even though the room was booked for 2 people. The spa was average. The hot tub was nice but the steam room and sauna were not warm or at the posted temperatures. The walking paths along the lake from the hotel are fantastic. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. Terrific service, quality food and plenty to eat. The breakfast buffet was great too - meats, cheese, cereals, breads, bacon/ham/sausage, beans, scrambled eggs etc. Lots of choice. We drove into Thun and LOVED this gorgeous Swiss town. Lots to see (Saturday market), cafes, and walk along the river. This is a dog friendly hotel - our dog loved walking along the paths with us! We would go back again but upgrade our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolate1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went up on a special offer from UBS and it was lovely. The view on the Lake is superb, the reception, staff and spa were great. The dinner was very good too. There is a lot to do around the area including a boat ride on the Lake, the St. Beatus caves and the old town of Lake Thun as well. Very delightful surprise.

Room Tip: The rooms are wheelchair accessible. This is the first hotel where there is a night light in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and daughter a few times, we have always been impressed with the price for the quality of hotel compared to others in Switzerland. Since our last stay the hotel rooms and public areas have been remodeled, the hotel was fine before, but with the upgrade it's Great. The rooms are a good size, with large confortale beds. The bathroom, at least in our rooms was 5 star!

Very nice spa, and always seemingly quiet. Plus its open to 10pm!

Welcome drink and friendly staff a pleasure!

We will continue to recommend the hotel to our friends.

Thun is Great too, if you don't fancy the hotel restaurant, which is great in itself, check out the Italian near the kunstmuseum.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We enjoyed: the beauitful setting just on the lake; the quiet room (actually one of the quietest rooms we have ever had, also as regards sounds from inside the hotel); the fact that the room could really be made dark at night; the fresh, delicious food for dinner; the fresh breakfast buffet

We did not like: the hot duvet and the plastic mattress protection, which both made sleeping a sweaty, uncomfortable experience; the unfriendliness of the breakfast room staff; the fact that the breakfast buffet was not refilled (e.g. salmon was out after half an hour); the fact that the hotel says on their website that parking was available but it was not

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was the back end of a trip for grad school which used this hotel as a place to stay and teach. The hotel is quirky as anything with a somewhat scandic feel - very minimalist and small rooms, but they're comfortable with well appointed bathrooms and each has a balcony. It's a shame none had a lake view - although coming down to breakfast to be greeted by the sun glinting off Thunersee just 40 feet from the back of the hotel was amazing.

Breakfast was dissappointing from a Germanic standpoint - just a limited selection, but I guess I've been spoilt from too many amazing hotel buffets across Germany and Austria. The bar was quiet, but with a decent selection and not criminally priced (that's after 5 days in Geneva which stunned someone who's lived and drank in New York for the last 6 years).

Staff were friendly and attentive and I have nothing but good memories of the Seepark.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joegold80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.8 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
99 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 5 in Spiez
265 reviews
4.0 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel Seepark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel Seepark

Property: Congress Hotel Seepark
Address: Seestrasse 47 | 3602 Thun, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Congress Hotel Seepark 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant, airy and stylish Superior Congress Hotel Seepark stands right on the shores of Lake Thun, in the midst of the historic Schadau Park. Its 85 rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 panorama suites are comfortable, generously proportioned and modern. The Seepark offers a choice of eating options - gourmet dining in "dasRestaurant", and hot food and snacks virtually round the clock in "theTimeless'" bistro. Leisure activities include excursions to the region's beauty spots, outings on the hotel's mountain or e-bikes, and use of the in-house wellness and keep-fit facilities. Fresh, seasonal cuisine and exquisite original dishes, mainly from local produce, make our menus a tempting culinary experience. This tranquil setting with its breathtaking lake and mountain views promises relaxation, pleasure and a sense of utter well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Congress Hotel Seepark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing