We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krone Hotel-Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We got told in Germany to come to thun as we did not know where to go in Switzerland, and they booked us at the krone hotel... Stunning hotel on the river in the heart of everything a place that looks like every opera singer in the world had performed, it's the perfect place to stay a few days just before you start the journey to drive through the Swiss alps!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie-meares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
53
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Thun is a charming and lively town at the head of the lake of the same name, and it’s a great base for exploring Central Switzerland. Places as far apart as Grindelwald, Neuchatel and Luzern can all be visited in a day, the Rhone valley is only 45 minutes away by train, while Interlaken and Bern are even closer.

The Hotel Krone is a beautiful building in a picturesque square which my wife and I discovered last year and couldn’t wait to revisit. For flexibility, friendliness and location, it’s unbeatable, and it’s also good value for a hotel in the centre of a Swiss town. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful, fresh fruit was available on each hotel floor and we had a coffee machine in our room.

We asked for a half board arrangement, which made extra work for the staff, but it also showed their flexibility and desire to please. We were able to eat outside by the river in good weather or in one of two restaurants in the hotel (one of which is Chinese), and wherever we chose a personal menu was prepared for us.

I can thoroughly recommend the Hotel Krone. I’m sure our second visit won’t be our last!

Room Tip: We were allocated Room 201 on our first visit, and we asked for it again - and received it - on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The rooms were very spacious,as were the bathroom.
There were fruits in the lobby for guests.
However, there was no coffee maker in the room.

The pillows were initially arranged to look like 2 double cones, well, nice to look at, but doesn't this mean that the pillow is too soft?

We got up to the room, and forgotten to ask for the wifi password, I looked for the phone to call reception and realized it wasn't there. I went down to ask the receptionist. she confirmed several times if I was sure, there should be a phone in every room. After I confirmed, she said she will ask the housekeeper.
The next morning when checking out, I saw a phone outside with the housekeeper's trolley, presumably for my room. I though they should have it brought to the room, once they realised that it was not there instead of waiting for the next day. What if I had to call reception for anything during the night?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yclum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our room at the Hotel Krone could only be described as very cool - spare, spotless, roomy, modern. We loved all the shelving, window ledges, wood floors, and all the little extras, like a makeup mirror in the bathroom. It was all so well thought out and comfortable. Desk personnel were also very friendly and helpful. I honestly would have loved to have stayed here much longer than the one night our itinerary allowed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gafarmgirl623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at Krone for 1 and a half weeks. The location was superb in the middle of old town. The breakfast was standard and not a lot of different things. So with a quite long stay it got a little boring. The coffee is excellent though as always in Switzerland. I tried the Chinese restaurant once and it was quite okay.

The front staff were always helpful and nice. The WiFi was included, which should be the case today in every hotel.

My room was 101, which is in the first floor facing the river. This means that it was closest to the walking street. The windows where very thin and lady's high heels on Cobblestone street very quite easy to hear. Luckily Thun is quite small town, so not a lot people partying and walking trunk back home (at least on October).

Room was quite spacious and clean. Nice big bathroom at least in my room. A bit poor lighting in the room, I think they planned that people keep the curtains open, but when on the first floor and view from the walking street, so did not do that.

Overall experience very positive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosqito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seltisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Krone in Thun the last weekend of July 2012 after a Wedding-Anniversary party. The hotel is located in the historic pedestrian area in the center of Thun and most shops and sights (Thun castle etc.) are within close walking distance. We were welcomed very friendly at the front desk and our rooms were quite modern and furnished nicely. We booked a double standard room and a double deluxe room, but be aware, that the hotel also offers quite small standard double rooms with only one "Grandlit" (bed 1 meter 40 wide), which I consider too narrow for two adults (except perhaps if you are on your honeymoon...). In my opinion, The higher price for a King or two single beds is well invested! What we found to be quite a bit bothering, was the fact, that the windows were well sound proof if shot, but on a hot summer night, they had to be left open, because there was no air conditioning in the rooms, which I think could be expected for the price you pay. As mentioned in other reviews, there are a lot of pedestrians coming and going to the bars and pubs around the old town till early in the morning, making quite some noise. And what was disturbing even more, was the street cleaning machine rumbling over the square directly in front of the hotel shortly after 8 o`clock in the morning, making it impossible to sleep in after a party night. And that was on a Sunday! But over all, our stay was quite pleasant, the breakfast buffet was rich and delicious and therefore, we probably will consider to book the hotel again for our next stay in Thun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here in the Christmas season and it was just amazing. The hotel was wonderful, clean, professional and had that quaint feeling of being in a lovely Swiss postcard scene....snow, bells, reign deer, hot chocolate and gingerbread.....just magical. I would recommend this hotel and this town to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherelleFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thun hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Emmental
Hotel Emmental
#6 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Holiday Thun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krone Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krone Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Krone Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Obere Hauptgasse 2 | Rathausplatz, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Krone Hotel-Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with a long history and tradition. It extends a warm welcome with cheerful rooms, natural hospitality and an extensive choice in its two restaurants, lounge and sunny-side terrace next to the Aare river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Krone Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Hotel Thun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing