We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Lenin might stay, but you should not”
Review of Elite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elite Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where Lenin might stay, but you should not”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This Minotel-linked hotel is right across from guidebook recommended but eerie Hotel Emmental, but from the moment our taxi pulled into the motel-like porte cochere we thought "oh no." The building is industrial, dated and old, and while the reception staff was very helpful, once we got into the double room we'd booked that actually had two twin beds, my partner said "I stayed in a hotel like this when I was in Moscow in 1989." He went on: that was when people used to complain about the toilet paper in Russian hotels by writing home on it.

The toilet paper at Elite Hotel is better, but the room we stayed in was otherwise very similar. The small tv was propped on an aging minibar; the twin beds were connected by a plywood veneer headboard; the blue carpet seemed a close cousin to astroturf, and the comforters were about half an inch thick. The view from the window was of a meeting point of other buildings, one undergoing construction, with just a hint of mountain peaks. The pan shower was inches from the toilet and sink, and no toiletries were offered liquid soap.

Had the cost been $90/night we might have shrugged our shoulders and still looked elsewhere for more desireable digs, but at $200US a night we were not only uncomfortable and disappointed, but felt ripped off.

We arrived late at night so were forced to sleep there one night, cancel the rest of our reservation (luckily there was no fee or hassle--they must be used to this) and move the next morning to the lovely, hip, river-front and infinitely better Hotel Freiburg for just $50 more a night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wayfinderHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2008

For a weekend romantic getaway ,under February sun,mildwinter.
Got the hotellist from the Expedia travell agency per internet,looked at the weather forcastof Switzerland,gained lots of informations from Tripadvisor.We tooka choice tolodge in the EliteMinotel in a small nice town of Thun. It was perfect.The chamber overlooks the castel,well insulated,very quiet:though direct situated at the rounabout.5minutes to the center,manycaffe' and restaurants.
Parking is practical,for travellers withheavy luggages-noproblem;the lift is right near the park lots dierct on the floor where your chamber is.The room is spacious,old modish but has been renovated and well cleaned.The bath is also large,two wash basins,a bath tub, and well lit. The breakfast was ok..I gave a positive point for the breakfast, it was not mega luxury, but it was good,there were every basical things to eat as a good breakfast.
For a connection with the routes along the Thuner Lake or the highway ,both are very easy.
Next time in Thun,Ill be lodged there again.

  • Liked — Location, good but not expensivehotel.
  • Disliked — non
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pfGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We have just returned from our vacation in Thun. We stayed at the Elite Minotel Aug. 29-Sept. 4, 2007. Since we flew in and out of Geneva, the last night of our vacation was spent at the Ibis Geneva Airport hotel (which turned out to be a good idea since it is about a 2 1/2-3 hour ride to Geneva from Thun by train). This was the first time either of us had been to Europe, so these are the only 2 hotels we have to go by. We did, however, hear all the horror stories before we left about European hotels (small size, no air conditioning). I had also read the only other review of this hotel and, based on that, tried to get a room in one of the other hotels mentioned. Of course none of those had availability for the nights that we needed, so I took a chance on the Elite Minotel. Although our expectations were low, it turned out to be more than fine.

The looks of the hotel from the outside was nothing to write home about. When we got to our room, however, we immediately thought the size was not bad at all. We had 2 twin beds pushed together, so for all intents and purposes, we had one huge bed. We also found the bathroon to be huge. We felt as if we had plenty of room. Of course, we did not spend too much time in the room as there was too much else to see outside of the room. We did not have air conditioning, but the temperature was perfect, so we never even needed it anyway. We were always comfortable. We had an awesome view! We just opened the window, looked to the right, and had a perfect view of the castle.

The room cost 990.00 Swiss Francs, which converts to about $833.00 US dollars for 6 nights. So about $138.00 a night.

There was a mini bar in the room which included cokes, a few different types of wine, 2 mini bottles of whiskey, Smirnoff ice, beer, and a Toberlone chocolate bar. It was restocked daily. It was a little pricey, but I guess it is normal for Switzerland; although, even mini bars in the US are pricey.

The hotel was in walking distance to the castle, to a beautiful park, to shopping, restaurants, and only a 10-15 minute walk to the train station. Therefore, it was in a convenient location.

Attached to the hotel was a restaurant, Delux Pizza. We ate there one night, and it was fabulous. Get the Rosti croquettes- they were incredible! On the other side of the hotel was the Anthra bar and lounge. We went there every night because the staff was so friendly and the food was good. Get the Grillwurst!!

The staff of the hotel was friendly and spoke English. One day it was raining, and we were going to head into Bern. Although we had brought an umbrella along (good decision), they had a bunch of umbrellas to loan out to people and offered us two.

We only had the breakfast one morning. They had breads, cheeses, like 3 or 4 different types of lunchmeat, and some kind of eggs (I think they were soft boiled). They also had a coffee machine (which made espresso) and orange juice.

The only negative thing was that we had requested a smoking room, and as it turned out, they evidently put us in a non-smoking room. We smoked in the room (our bad), and the woman in charge (we perceived) kind of scolded us. But she kindly moved us to another room, which was exactly the same as the first, and then everyone was happy.

As the previous reviewer stated that the hotel was "smelly," we did not experience that. We found the room to be well-cleaned everyday. The other hotels they listed might be better, but as I said we wouldn't know since we have not stayed in any of them. The room was a lot bigger than the Ibis in Geneva, if that helps. The decor in the Ibis was nicer, but as I said, we were basically only in the room to sleep and shower, so decor was not a huge factor.

Overall, I would recommed this hotel, and more importantly, I would recommend a vacation in Thun. The town was gorgeous and it was a good location if you wanted to take a day trip to Bern, Lucerne, Jungfraujoch, Interlaken, or other places.

Hope this helps someone!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank myladydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Have been in and around Thun for a couple of months whilst working in Steffisburg. The Hotels are often fully booked in summer time so we had to move hotels from time to time and the eight were allways split over two or three Hotels., however anyone who stayed here refused to come back to Switzerland if it meant staying here and none lasted more than a night. So this is not on persons bad experience but the truth. The place is filthy and smelly. Use the Emmental, Krone, Frierhoff or just outside town towards Interlaken, the stella del lago (---)

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thun hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thun hotels
1.5 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Emmental
Hotel Emmental
#6 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Holiday Thun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel

Property: Elite Hotel
Address: Bernstrasse 1, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Thun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing