We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great afternoon, rain or shine”
Review of BLS Schifffahrt

BLS Schifffahrt
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Thun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ahoy there - and welcome aboard! Turquoise blue waters, mountain peaks capped with eternal snows, and a cool breeze in your face - high time for a cruise on Lake Thun or Lake Brienz! So switch off and come to life! Leave your everyday worries behind, let your thoughts soar, and relax and unwind. A cruise on Lake Thun or Lake Brienz takes you past picturesque fishing villages and castles steeped in history. So whether it's Mediterranean flair on Lake Thun or a cruise through crystal-clear glacier waters on Lake Brienz, on every steamer the ship's kitchens are there to cater to our guests' well-being. What are you waiting for? "Cast off and set sail!"
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great afternoon, rain or shine”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There is no better way to spend an afternoon, whether it's sunny and warm or rainy and dreary, than cruising on beautiful Lake Thun. If you're new to the area, this is a perfect way to get oriented and gain a feel for the geography of this part of Switzerland. If it's hot, you'll get a cool breeze, and if it's raining, you can seek shelter inside and still have a delightful tour of the lake. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Well worth it on a sunny day!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a lovely way to see Lake Thun. If you're using a discount card of some sort, it makes it more reasonable in price. Weather was great and the breeze on the lake is a welcome relief from the hot sunshine during summer. The boat was clean and ran on time. We did Thun-Spiez-Thun, stopping off in Spiez for lunch. The boat ride was around 2hr round trip. If you take your car to Thun, there is a pay-for shopping centre car park just before the railway station on the left hand side.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Giggles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful afternoon!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We decided at the last minute to try this cruise on the lake. With a Swiss Pass, the trip was free! It is thoroughly enjoyable and such a nice way to cool off on a hot day! We cruised from Spiez to Thun and took the train back. Great views, lovely boat...A+!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BBos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interlaken visit”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took a motor steamer to Interlaken and returned on the
Paddle steamer.The scenery is very attractive and the boats
are ,like most things in Switzerland on time and clean.We only
took coffee on board which was good and reasonably priced by
swiss standards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank foogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“Scenic trip on a beautiful lake”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

In the course of a very rainy period in Interlaken in May 2013, we suddenly found ourselves with the promise of at least half a day of sunshine.
So we drove to Interlaken Ost station (cheapest parking in town) used our regional visitor pass (given to us at the place we are staying) to travel free to Interlaken West and then used our half fare card to buy a one way ticket on the boat to Thun and a return to Interlaken on the train. A good decision - we had sunshine all the way on the boat and a dry 2 hours to explore Thun before the rain re-started as we got on the train to come back.
The boat trip was delightful - there are half a doxen stops at small villages on both sides of the lake on the 2 and a half hour trip. There are 2 classes on the boat - lower deck second class was fine for us as we were able to get outside seats right at the back of the boat (it's worth being near the front of the queue to board if you want a good choice of seats, although on our trip was boat was only a quarter full). There
The upper deck (first class) looked fine and the restaurant at that level a bit smarter but as we had no intention of sitting inside eating a meal when there's so much great scenery to look at, the differences weren't relevant.
There is also a decent restaurant on the lower level and the menu was typically Swiss and the prices average for Switzerland. It looked a good place to eat and if one has done the trip several times it would be a gooid way of passing the time.
We would recommend taking binoculars if you have them - there are so many interesting things to look at as you pass villages and the high meadows and isolated farms.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLS Schifffahrt also viewed

Thun, Canton of Bern
Thun, Canton of Bern
 

Been to BLS Schifffahrt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing