We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, quiet and comfortable hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpha Thun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpha Thun
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice, quiet and comfortable hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Especially convenient if you are attending an event at the nearby cultural events center (KKThun). The rooms were nice, warm and quite; the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The staff was polite and effective. Finally, breakfast was good. It is not expensive... compared to hotel prices in Switzerland!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
25
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here not knowing how good it was going to be. We had to wait a bit to check in so they offered to hold our bags and deliver them to the room when it was ready. We were going to go into town to eat but chose to eat at their restaurant instead. The chef came around and greeted everyone and then cooked up a great dish of fish, potatoes and herbs with an oil sauce, excellent!
When we had finished lunch, we went up to our room on the third floor to find our luggage. The room was ok, a bit small with the ceiling following the roof line down at one side of the room. I hit my head once or twice on the beams, but no biggie. There was a bathroom in the room which was nice and a window in the roof. It would have been nice with a real window, a better reading lamp, and control over the temperature. We had the fan on continuously.
There were some issues with the internet, but they seemed to be working on it, and trying to sort it out. Overall I would stay here again and recommend it to others. Good luck you guys.
As for Alpha sophie, I'm still not sure

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a level (normal) ceiling, maybe not on the third floor with a bathroom and showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel itself is just OK, but the staff brings it up a notch in the ratings. The location is great as well. It is a little outside the city center so it is quiet and it is right across from the lake. There is a beautiful walking/running trail. It is a little hard to find but not too difficult. Breakfast is not bad and the restaurant serves good food. Dinner is expensive but that is always the case in Switzerland. There is free wifi in the restaurant and lobby but also available in the rooms for a fee. There are a few parking spots in the back of the hotel but these are usually occupied. However there is additional parking for CHF 4.00 per 24 hours. Note, if you park in this lot I recommend you pay the CHF 4. A colleague got a CHF 40.00 parking ticket because he didn't pay. Overall, not bad. I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rieder83, Manager at Alpha Thun, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Rob B! Thank you very much for your stay at alpha thun and your feedback on TripAdvisor!
However we in process to improve continuously our services and facilities.
We would be glad to welcoming you in the future at alpha thun again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2004

I stayed at this hotel during the summer. I was very impressed by the staff (very polite and studious) and rooms at this hotel were very clean and spacious and the location was incredible...I'm looking at booking in there again next year. It's across the road from a beautiful lake, within walking distance of everything including the main train station and Thun Castle....I would suggest this hotel to anyone.

C

Helpful?
11 Thank Vanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
1.2 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Holiday Thun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Thun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Thun

Property: Alpha Thun
Address: Gwattstrasse 4 | 3604 Thun, Thun 3604, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Thun 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha thun hotel offers modern rooms, a 5-minute walk from Lake Thun and the marina. It includes an innovative restaurant, serving freshly-made dishes with seasonal ingredients. As an extra you'll get in the lobby drinks (coffee, tea, mineral water) and snacks for free. Rooms at the alpha thun hotel are nicely decorated with wooden furniture and they have private bathrooms. Free Wifi is available troughout the entire hotel. The alpha thun restaurant offers a selection of fresh fish, meat and vegetarian dishes. The wine list includes Swiss wines only, but there is at least one wine from each region. A large choice of homemade desserts, regional ice-cream variations and various coffees is served. Thun train Station is only a 20-minute walk away. The station can be reached by local bus (Line 1, Stop "Strandbad"), which stops directly in front of the Hotel alpha thun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpha Thun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing