We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Location”
Review of Alpha Thun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpha Thun
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel itself is just OK, but the staff brings it up a notch in the ratings. The location is great as well. It is a little outside the city center so it is quiet and it is right across from the lake. There is a beautiful walking/running trail. It is a little hard to find but not too difficult. Breakfast is not bad and the restaurant serves good food. Dinner is expensive but that is always the case in Switzerland. There is free wifi in the restaurant and lobby but also available in the rooms for a fee. There are a few parking spots in the back of the hotel but these are usually occupied. However there is additional parking for CHF 4.00 per 24 hours. Note, if you park in this lot I recommend you pay the CHF 4. A colleague got a CHF 40.00 parking ticket because he didn't pay. Overall, not bad. I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rieder83, Manager at Alpha Thun, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Rob B! Thank you very much for your stay at alpha thun and your feedback on TripAdvisor!
However we in process to improve continuously our services and facilities.
We would be glad to welcoming you in the future at alpha thun again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 103 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2004

I stayed at this hotel during the summer. I was very impressed by the staff (very polite and studious) and rooms at this hotel were very clean and spacious and the location was incredible...I'm looking at booking in there again next year. It's across the road from a beautiful lake, within walking distance of everything including the main train station and Thun Castle....I would suggest this hotel to anyone.

C

11  Thank Vanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolitooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
20
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rakIkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank luizcarlosaquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Sandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
1.2 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
1.3 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Holiday Thun
1.3 mi away
Restaurant & Hotel Schlossberg
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Thun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Thun

Address: Gwattstrasse 4 | 3604 Thun, Thun 3604, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range: $137 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Thun 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha thun hotel offers modern rooms, a 5-minute walk from Lake Thun and the marina. It includes an innovative restaurant, serving freshly-made dishes with seasonal ingredients. As an extra you'll get in the lobby drinks (coffee, tea, mineral water) and snacks for free. Rooms at the alpha thun hotel are nicely decorated with wooden furniture and they have private bathrooms. Free Wifi is available troughout the entire hotel. The alpha thun restaurant offers a selection of fresh fish, meat and vegetarian dishes. The wine list includes Swiss wines only, but there is at least one wine from each region. A large choice of homemade desserts, regional ice-cream variations and various coffees is served. Thun train Station is only a 20-minute walk away. The station can be reached by local bus (Line 1, Stop "Strandbad"), which stops directly in front of the Hotel alpha thun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Alpha Thun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing