We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Thun”
Review of Hotel Freienhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Freienhof
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Thun”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This hotel is actually in Thun(pronounced "toon") not Interlaken(on completely opposite side of lake) and is very chic boutique like for such as small Swiss town. It's centrally located in old town and just a five minute walk to the train station. It's located on a penisula between two rivers so it's very quiet with little traffic passing around the rooms(either pedestrian or vehicular). Rooms are not tiny, but wouldn't consider them roomy either. Beautiful hard wood floors. Acutal queen beds, instead of two twins pushed together, that is comfortable. A shelf on wheels lays over the foot of the bed and holds the flat screen tv and coffee maker(guess it's on wheel so you can move it when you sleep). Lighting in the room is hidden in the trim in the ceiling, nice modern touch. Room has two sets of floor to cieling windows, one side opens up to create a balcony like space with great views of an old wooden covered bridge/dam. Bathrooms are very interesting. Instead of being behind a wall, the bathroom in encased in a cloudy glass stucture that you can see through from the bedroom, so make sure your very comfortable with whomever your staying with, because you will be seeing them naked, or at least their silhouette. Bathroom also has an orange, almost neon like, light that can be seen in the bedroom when turned on. Minor problem if you get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom or wake up early and decide to shower because the light protrudes brightly into the bedroom and can wake the other person. The shower is awesome with a huge shower head on the ceiling pumping out tons of water. No mini bar was a bit of a shock in such a nice hotel. Room numbers are painted on the ceiling of the hallways which was something a little original. Keys(no card, acual keys) to room have large and bulky key chains but I encountered this in two other swiss hotels.
Breakfast provided few options beyond a few cereals, cheeses, cold cuts and juice, but they let us take bread to feed the ducks and swans who live on the two rivers surrounding the hotel. The hotel restaurant had great modern Swiss food served in an upscale yet casual dining area. The perch on saffron laced spinach was particullary good and the steaks(very good) are cooked in the kitchen than flamed with cognac table side(nice show manship).
Staff was very nice but failed on our only attempt to get a recommendation for a place to grab lunch. Not a big deal, she was polite just not knowledgeable.
Thun is a beautiful little town and deserves a visit even if for only a couple of hours, if staying overnight I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    51
    18
    5
See reviews for
33
61
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We have just returned, and were so happy with this hotel that I thought I'd check in here to add my praise. Obviously whatever renovation issues others experienced were in the past, because the hotel was very peaceful and modern and perfectly well-equipped in April '08.
Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly, and our room was fabulous. I could go on and on about all the things we loved - the terrific views, the extraordinary spaciousness, the attentive extras provided by the helpful staff, the convenient location, the chic decor... We all enjoyed it so much and were terribly sad to leave. It will definitely remain a highlight among hotels for us!

  • Liked — views, spaciousness, location, service, decor
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moonstruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

The Freienhof in Thun was definitely the worst of the 5 hotels we stayed at during our vacation. Arriving by car, the garage was quite a walk from the hotel. We were quite lucky to get a space, as most were reserved for other companies.

The rooms were modern, but clearly the designer valued style over actual everyday use, as the (glass) bathroom/toilet door did not shut properly (the designer again), and the lights by the bed did not turn off individually. Wardrobe space was very limited, and the bath/shower turned out to be either or, not both, as we (wrongly) deduced from the booking form. Nowhere to hang towels to dry properly, despite the old 'environmental concern'
plea.

Plus points were 2 pc's for checking e-mail, a good TV, and te/coffee making facilities.

The breakfast though was way under par in terms of assortment, and understaffed, with some guests even offering to cook their own as they were told that there wasn't enough personnel. Some receptionists were snooty and would not acknowlegde guests.

I think if the hotel was a 3 star it would be more accurate, and you could live with the shortcomings. I'd rather have a 3-star hotel aspiring to be a 4-star anyday than a hotel that charges 4-star rates but in reality only delivers 3.

  • Liked — tea/coffee-making facilities
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank reizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

very nice rooms- modern and stylish, food and service were great, central position! nothing bad to say

  • Liked — the decoration of the rooms
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2007

The hotel is a shabby affair built in the sixties but recently renovated. The reception didn't tell me that it was still under renovation. Staff is generally friendly and efficient. The location is marvellous, offering views of the river Aare, the mountains and the inner city. Negative points are the check-out time at 10.30 and the uninspired breakfast. One good point is the WLAN for free. The price does not entirely match what is on offer. Amenities in the bathrooms are a joke. All in all, it could be recommended; just ask for the normal check-out time at 12 and bring your own tooth brush, tooth paste, comb, ear buds etc.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Baernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Holiday Thun
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emmental
Hotel Emmental
#6 of 9 in Thun
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Freienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Freienhof

Property: Hotel Freienhof
Address: Freienhofgasse 3, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Freienhof 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic, yet modern hotel is situated in an idyllic spot by the River Aare on the edge of the old town of Thun. 66 renovated modern rooms, 700m2 of professionally equipped seminar facilities and a creative kitchen offering speciality foods are brought to you in a refreshing manner by our young team. Although we are in the centre of town, peace and quiet are guaranteed since our rooms are on a little peninsular where all you hear are the gentle sounds of the River Aare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Freienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freienhof Swiss Quality Thun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing