We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking and in a great location.”
Review of Hotel Freienhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Freienhof
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
perth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Parking and in a great location.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here while travelling through Europe on a motorbike tour so secure parking was important. Staff were great actually and sorted out a free and secure place to leave the bike at their underground car park.

The hotel, while a little expensive, is in a great location, couldn't be better. Our room was very clean, modern and quirky. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perthsconeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    86
    49
    16
    5
See reviews for
30
56
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Me and my girlfriend visited Thun for a short break, I had visited about 4 years earlier for business and was booked in here and loved the town so much I decided to revisit. The good points are, the location, cleanliness, that's where it ends. The hotel rooms are tiny, the bathroom is a wet room shower type area with a semi frosted glass walls, with a glass sliding bathroom door. Tiny unusable sink, shower goes everywhere when it decides to work. The night time is the worst by far. They decided to slow boil us. We had 3 nights there of which 2 we had very little sleep. We had to leave the patio doors open all night to get any sort of cool air. Don't forget you are on a river so the noise is very loud at night. Even with the radiator turned off, its scorching, (October) scorching! The TV stations were very basic with not 1 single English chanel . Breakfast was nice but very very basic. We were spoken to very rudely on a Saturday morning as one of the staff thought it was Friday and we had only turned up with 5 minutes before they had to clean up, when actually we had 35 minutes. Only when complaining to reception did we finally get an apology. And the coffee we ordered never arrived. There also seems to be a large divide in the way people are treated. If you don't speak the lingo in Thun, the majority of resteraunts / shops are rude, and couldn't give a monkeys. An expensive stay in a very poor hotel. Would not recommend, try the krone, looks a lot nicer and friendlier.

Room Tip: They say heat rises, so as low down as possible, its roasting in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much that you have taken the time to write a comment about your holiday in Thun. We are sorry that we couldn’t make up with your expectations and you didn’t feel comfortable in our hotel. As you say, the hotel is located on an Island, so you can hear the river pass by. Some people really love it, others less. Most of our rooms are business rooms, which are equipped in an urban and modern stile. On demand we could reserve you a room which shows to the inner courtyard, so you don’t hear the river. We also have traditional rooms, which are less modern.
After all, we always try to arrange the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible. With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Actually, this hotel excels at everything, but that decision was made after staying for the three nights. On arrival and opening our room door I was horrified at what was before us - an ultra modern, steel everything - headboard, end of bed table (OVER the end of the bed !?), steel bed, plastic chairs, no paint on the bare cement walls, industrial ducting around the ceiling and a dubious looking white opaque bathroom "pod" which was IN the room but didn't reach the ceiling. The sliding, flappy door does nothing to provide that privacy most people desire. The fluorescent lighting throughout (no bedside lights whatsoever) gave a distinct office feel and the bathroom light lit the whole room if put on during the night. Bizarre. Yes, I agree with solotravellerCanada - I too described it as a prison cell. Having said all that, the bed was comfortable and unusually I slept well. The staff were so helpful, at all times. When I gave up trying to find a room thermostat control to turn down the heating I was told it was set throughout the hotel, but they immediately offered me a large fan, which was ideal in cooling the room. The food both for breakfast and for evening meals was amazing and we ate in the restaurant every night. Brilliant staff (we were in a party of 20) and they did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you're not keen on steel and plastic and want privacy in your bathroom then ask for a traditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2travelfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula F, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much that you have taken the time to write a comment about our hotel. We regret that our rooms didn’t cover your expectations. Most of our rooms are business rooms which are equipped in an urban and modern stile. But, as you say, we have also traditional rooms, which we can be reserved, if available.
Thank you very much for all the compliments about our staff and the food. We always try to arrange the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible. We are looking forward to welcome you back! With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Region, Cameroon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A great hotel with a good view of the river. Splendid rooms with a good view of the old city of Thun. I enjoyed the coffee break during the business meeting. The supper was equally great especially the red wine that was served. The continental breakfast was superb. I recommend this venue for business meetings.

Room Tip: A great hotel with a good view of the river. Splendid rooms with a good view of the old city of Thun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChoforChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We wanted to stay within a walking distance from the Thun Old town, so that we don't have to drive all the time.

This hotel truly provided us with a great location. The parking was next door (underground), but we were able to park in front of the hotel while unloading the car - not difficult at all.

Biggest minus was the missing WIFI - well atleast a free one in the room. You had to pay for it unless you had a wired version. Free WIFI was available at the lobby.

Breakfast was great - a bit slow at some points, but good and a good selection of things.

Rooms were ÜBER modern - atleast on the new side (not sure if there actually are rooms on the old side and if they are of different style).

The bathroom had glass wall (frosted) - gave enough privacy for us, but if you'd be more private type - this would not be your place!
VERY difficult shower! there was a shower curtain, which didn't stay put so all the water run on the floor - we ended up putting a small hand towel on the ledge, then placing the shower curtain against it and placing another hand towel on top of the curtain (sandwiched it inbetween the towels) - no more water on the floor!

Biggest issue was the lighting in the room. Plenty of it but not proper nightlights. So when my husband wanted to read (jet lag) in the middle of the night - there was too much light for me to sleep.

Nice thing was that the windows had an electronic blind, which allowed us to turn the room VERY dark even during the day.
We had a SPECTACULAR view to the river - Christal blue (and Icy cold!)

While in Thun, take a ride on the ferris wheel - definately worth it!
This hotel also rents bikes (although we didn't have time for that)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. And remember, the room nr is in the ceiling - not on the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location in the heart of downtown Thun. Sadly, that's about the only good thing I have to day about it.

The hotel does not provide free wi-fi in the rooms - Swisscom Public LAN has the contract for Wi-Fi, and it costs CHF 25 a day. The hotel does provide free ethernet (wired) internet connections in the rooms.

The hotel does not have any parking - you have to park in the public lot beside the hotel, and there is a charge for that as well. If you add the wi-fi fee and the parking fee to the room charges, it will cost you close to CHF 250 a night to stay here, which is far more than this hotel is worth, even by Swiss standards.

The architecture and decor of the hotel is very strange. Hallways and rooms are decorated in a very sparse, minimalist, industrial style, with exposed concrete walls in the rooms, steel desks and steel beds. Although I am sure that the architect thought this was very trendy, the overall impression the guest has is that they are staying in a jail or a detention center, rather than a hotel.

Breakfast was unimpressive, with a very small offering and no attention at all from the service staff, who were focused entirely on cleaning up. Check-out time is 10:30, which is quite early.

All in all, unimpressive, expensive, I would not go back nor would I recommend this hotel to others. Go find another hotel to sleep in, then come by this hotel to enjoy a coffee or a drink on the patio beside the river.

Room Tip: Go find another hotel - avoid this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

With Ulsterbus tour. Excellent central location by the river. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms bit on small side with little storage space. Clean. No air conditioning but lying with window open listening to river sounds can be very soothing. As we were in a group dinner was 3 course set menu with 2 choices of main course. Always good as was variety of continental breakfast. Thun itself a lovely town with plenty of shops and lovely riverside walks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E19_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emmental
Hotel Emmental
#6 of 9 in Thun
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Freienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Freienhof

Property: Hotel Freienhof
Address: Freienhofgasse 3, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Freienhof 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic, yet modern hotel is situated in an idyllic spot by the River Aare on the edge of the old town of Thun. 66 renovated modern rooms, 700m2 of professionally equipped seminar facilities and a creative kitchen offering speciality foods are brought to you in a refreshing manner by our young team. Although we are in the centre of town, peace and quiet are guaranteed since our rooms are on a little peninsular where all you hear are the gentle sounds of the River Aare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Freienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freienhof Swiss Quality Thun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing