We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - very odd decor - VERY beautiful town!”
Review of Hotel Freienhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Freienhof
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We wanted to stay within a walking distance from the Thun Old town, so that we don't have to drive all the time.

This hotel truly provided us with a great location. The parking was next door (underground), but we were able to park in front of the hotel while unloading the car - not difficult at all.

Biggest minus was the missing WIFI - well atleast a free one in the room. You had to pay for it unless you had a wired version. Free WIFI was available at the lobby.

Breakfast was great - a bit slow at some points, but good and a good selection of things.

Rooms were ÜBER modern - atleast on the new side (not sure if there actually are rooms on the old side and if they are of different style).

The bathroom had glass wall (frosted) - gave enough privacy for us, but if you'd be more private type - this would not be your place!
VERY difficult shower! there was a shower curtain, which didn't stay put so all the water run on the floor - we ended up putting a small hand towel on the ledge, then placing the shower curtain against it and placing another hand towel on top of the curtain (sandwiched it inbetween the towels) - no more water on the floor!

Biggest issue was the lighting in the room. Plenty of it but not proper nightlights. So when my husband wanted to read (jet lag) in the middle of the night - there was too much light for me to sleep.

Nice thing was that the windows had an electronic blind, which allowed us to turn the room VERY dark even during the day.
We had a SPECTACULAR view to the river - Christal blue (and Icy cold!)

While in Thun, take a ride on the ferris wheel - definately worth it!
This hotel also rents bikes (although we didn't have time for that)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. And remember, the room nr is in the ceiling - not on the door!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Freienhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location in the heart of downtown Thun. Sadly, that's about the only good thing I have to day about it.

The hotel does not provide free wi-fi in the rooms - Swisscom Public LAN has the contract for Wi-Fi, and it costs CHF 25 a day. The hotel does provide free ethernet (wired) internet connections in the rooms.

The hotel does not have any parking - you have to park in the public lot beside the hotel, and there is a charge for that as well. If you add the wi-fi fee and the parking fee to the room charges, it will cost you close to CHF 250 a night to stay here, which is far more than this hotel is worth, even by Swiss standards.

The architecture and decor of the hotel is very strange. Hallways and rooms are decorated in a very sparse, minimalist, industrial style, with exposed concrete walls in the rooms, steel desks and steel beds. Although I am sure that the architect thought this was very trendy, the overall impression the guest has is that they are staying in a jail or a detention center, rather than a hotel.

Breakfast was unimpressive, with a very small offering and no attention at all from the service staff, who were focused entirely on cleaning up. Check-out time is 10:30, which is quite early.

All in all, unimpressive, expensive, I would not go back nor would I recommend this hotel to others. Go find another hotel to sleep in, then come by this hotel to enjoy a coffee or a drink on the patio beside the river.

Room Tip: Go find another hotel - avoid this one.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

With Ulsterbus tour. Excellent central location by the river. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms bit on small side with little storage space. Clean. No air conditioning but lying with window open listening to river sounds can be very soothing. As we were in a group dinner was 3 course set menu with 2 choices of main course. Always good as was variety of continental breakfast. Thun itself a lovely town with plenty of shops and lovely riverside walks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E19_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent 5 nights in this hotel, with sound of the Aare river outside my room. Thun is an outstanding location to tour this area of Switzerland, and a very interesting town to visit in its own rights. The staff cannot be faulted, all being most helpful and polite. There is a good restaurant with a good choice of food and they catered well for my food allergy. I would certainly use this hotel again. As usual I was travelling with a coach party. My only complaint is one that I encounter frequently and that is being charged a single supplement when occupying a single room

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a very soothing background noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having been on a business trip in Thun, Switzerland, a colleague and I stayed at the Freienhof Swiss Quality Hotel.

Having arrived in the middle of February in the snow covered city of Thun by car, we were at first a little annoyed to find that the underground Car Park, part of a small shopping complex and right next door to the Hotel had the exit to the hotel indicated on the car deck, but to our dismay we found no lift present.

Instead we had to carry our luggage up two flights of snow covered stairs and then along a short walkway to the hotel entrance.

If you should also arrive by car, I suggest that you first park your car in the front of the main entrance of the hotel and bring your luggage inside to the reception area, before you park your car.

Our slight annoyance about the missing lift disappeared immediately once we where greeted by the very friendly and efficient receptionist, who completed our check-in formalities very quick, efficient and with a smile on her lips.

Armed with our door keys, we ventured to the given floor, in my case the third, to find our rooms. Once you get used to the fact that all room numbers are actually written on the ceiling, a fact stated by the receptionists, I found my small, but nicely furnished room with ease.

The room contained all amenities one expects of a hotel this size and the bed was very comfortable. The only little negative point is the bathroom, which is actually a wet-cell, meaning, it was fitted afterwards as a self contained unit into the room. Unfortunately, the ventilation of the bathroom/toilet is not very efficient and odors can be disturbing if you don’t open the room’s windows after use.

As mentioned at the beginning, the Hotel is actually situated on a little island, formed by the river Aare being split and therefore running in front and at the back of the Hotel. My Room, fitted with a small balcony, gave a beautiful view right onto the river and one of the old wooden covered bridges crossing it.

Being located more or less in the middle of the beautiful city of Thun, one should not miss the opportunity to take a brief walk through this fantastic old city centre, which is only minutes from the hotel entrance.

After a brief tour through the centre of Thun, you may have build up a hunger which gives you the perfect excuse to try the great Restaurant of the Hotel. The food is excellent and in line with Swiss pricing for such an establishment.

The restaurant is also the place where buffet style breakfast is being served in the morning.

The breakfast is typically Swiss with a vast variety of bred, rolls, cakes, charcuterie, cheese, marmalade and yoghurts as well as eggs in many forms.

The staff was attend and friendly and despite the breakfast area having been “grazed” by a large group of Chinese tourists just prior to me arriving for breakfast, the staff was already working hard to replenish all items on the buffet.

All in all I found my stay to have been a pleasant one and I will surely be back when in the Area!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ikke5473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It’s a very nice hotel in an immensely beautiful place. It‘s located right in the center of Thun, surrounded by the river and just in a walking distance from the railway station.
The services in this hotel are excellent in all the aspects.
As a tip: try to be accommodated in a room, the windows of which overlook the front side (entrance) of the hotel. Otherwise it might be too noisy because of the river on the opposite site. Plus the view is much better.

Room Tip: rooms with the windows overlooking the front side (entrance) of the hotel are quieter and with much...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina_Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina P, Hotel at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive review. We hope to see you again!
Best regards
Your team from Hotel Freienhof, Thun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a nice enough hotel, well situated, close to the train station and the center of this small town. The reception area is small but functional and well presented, the staff on reception without exception were friendly, knowledgable, helpfull, and welcoming. The restaurant serves typically continental breakfast which was fine, and if weather permits can be taken in front of the hotel alongside the beautiful river which is on the doorstep. In the evening the food is of good quality, tasty and well presented- it is a little expensive, but then, the whole country appears to be trying very hard to price itself out of the average persons budget. The rooms are what made me give a 3/5 as they are just a bit too small, the shower i had was no more than "usable" as to turn around inside it was not really an option. On top of that there is no air conditioning, this was a bit of an issue as the temperature was reasonable and humidity was high. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but bear in mind that they, like the tv are above your feet at the end of the bed as the room lacks any other space. There are alot of rooms in this hotel and possibly the ones further down the hall were of a better standard than mine. All in all an average hotel, but like the title says..Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheesesalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your detailed review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we can`t comprehend the allocation of your room. Perhaps you had a normal single room? The single rooms have a wonderful view to the river, but are the smallest rooms. The double rooms which are possible for a single use too are bigger.
We hope that we can appreciate you another time.
Best regards!
Your team from Hotel Freienhof, Thun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Restaurant & Hotel Schlossberg
0.8 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Holiday Thun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Freienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Freienhof

Address: Freienhofgasse 3, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range: $167 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Freienhof 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic, yet modern hotel is situated in an idyllic spot by the River Aare on the edge of the old town of Thun. 66 renovated modern rooms, 700m2 of professionally equipped seminar facilities and a creative kitchen offering speciality foods are brought to you in a refreshing manner by our young team. Although we are in the centre of town, peace and quiet are guaranteed since our rooms are on a little peninsular where all you hear are the gentle sounds of the River Aare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Freienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freienhof Swiss Quality Thun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing