We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, otherwise like an expensive jail cell”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Freienhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Freienhof
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Canada
Level Contributor
348 reviews
278 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Great location, otherwise like an expensive jail cell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location in the heart of downtown Thun. Sadly, that's about the only good thing I have to day about it.

The hotel does not provide free wi-fi in the rooms - Swisscom Public LAN has the contract for Wi-Fi, and it costs CHF 25 a day. The hotel does provide free ethernet (wired) internet connections in the rooms.

The hotel does not have any parking - you have to park in the public lot beside the hotel, and there is a charge for that as well. If you add the wi-fi fee and the parking fee to the room charges, it will cost you close to CHF 250 a night to stay here, which is far more than this hotel is worth, even by Swiss standards.

The architecture and decor of the hotel is very strange. Hallways and rooms are decorated in a very sparse, minimalist, industrial style, with exposed concrete walls in the rooms, steel desks and steel beds. Although I am sure that the architect thought this was very trendy, the overall impression the guest has is that they are staying in a jail or a detention center, rather than a hotel.

Breakfast was unimpressive, with a very small offering and no attention at all from the service staff, who were focused entirely on cleaning up. Check-out time is 10:30, which is quite early.

All in all, unimpressive, expensive, I would not go back nor would I recommend this hotel to others. Go find another hotel to sleep in, then come by this hotel to enjoy a coffee or a drink on the patio beside the river.

Room Tip: Go find another hotel - avoid this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    81
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
25
53
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

With Ulsterbus tour. Excellent central location by the river. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms bit on small side with little storage space. Clean. No air conditioning but lying with window open listening to river sounds can be very soothing. As we were in a group dinner was 3 course set menu with 2 choices of main course. Always good as was variety of continental breakfast. Thun itself a lovely town with plenty of shops and lovely riverside walks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E19_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent 5 nights in this hotel, with sound of the Aare river outside my room. Thun is an outstanding location to tour this area of Switzerland, and a very interesting town to visit in its own rights. The staff cannot be faulted, all being most helpful and polite. There is a good restaurant with a good choice of food and they catered well for my food allergy. I would certainly use this hotel again. As usual I was travelling with a coach party. My only complaint is one that I encounter frequently and that is being charged a single supplement when occupying a single room

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a very soothing background noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having been on a business trip in Thun, Switzerland, a colleague and I stayed at the Freienhof Swiss Quality Hotel.

Having arrived in the middle of February in the snow covered city of Thun by car, we were at first a little annoyed to find that the underground Car Park, part of a small shopping complex and right next door to the Hotel had the exit to the hotel indicated on the car deck, but to our dismay we found no lift present.

Instead we had to carry our luggage up two flights of snow covered stairs and then along a short walkway to the hotel entrance.

If you should also arrive by car, I suggest that you first park your car in the front of the main entrance of the hotel and bring your luggage inside to the reception area, before you park your car.

Our slight annoyance about the missing lift disappeared immediately once we where greeted by the very friendly and efficient receptionist, who completed our check-in formalities very quick, efficient and with a smile on her lips.

Armed with our door keys, we ventured to the given floor, in my case the third, to find our rooms. Once you get used to the fact that all room numbers are actually written on the ceiling, a fact stated by the receptionists, I found my small, but nicely furnished room with ease.

The room contained all amenities one expects of a hotel this size and the bed was very comfortable. The only little negative point is the bathroom, which is actually a wet-cell, meaning, it was fitted afterwards as a self contained unit into the room. Unfortunately, the ventilation of the bathroom/toilet is not very efficient and odors can be disturbing if you don’t open the room’s windows after use.

As mentioned at the beginning, the Hotel is actually situated on a little island, formed by the river Aare being split and therefore running in front and at the back of the Hotel. My Room, fitted with a small balcony, gave a beautiful view right onto the river and one of the old wooden covered bridges crossing it.

Being located more or less in the middle of the beautiful city of Thun, one should not miss the opportunity to take a brief walk through this fantastic old city centre, which is only minutes from the hotel entrance.

After a brief tour through the centre of Thun, you may have build up a hunger which gives you the perfect excuse to try the great Restaurant of the Hotel. The food is excellent and in line with Swiss pricing for such an establishment.

The restaurant is also the place where buffet style breakfast is being served in the morning.

The breakfast is typically Swiss with a vast variety of bred, rolls, cakes, charcuterie, cheese, marmalade and yoghurts as well as eggs in many forms.

The staff was attend and friendly and despite the breakfast area having been “grazed” by a large group of Chinese tourists just prior to me arriving for breakfast, the staff was already working hard to replenish all items on the buffet.

All in all I found my stay to have been a pleasant one and I will surely be back when in the Area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ikke5473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It’s a very nice hotel in an immensely beautiful place. It‘s located right in the center of Thun, surrounded by the river and just in a walking distance from the railway station.
The services in this hotel are excellent in all the aspects.
As a tip: try to be accommodated in a room, the windows of which overlook the front side (entrance) of the hotel. Otherwise it might be too noisy because of the river on the opposite site. Plus the view is much better.

Room Tip: rooms with the windows overlooking the front side (entrance) of the hotel are quieter and with much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina_Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina P, Hotel at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive review. We hope to see you again!
Best regards
Your team from Hotel Freienhof, Thun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a nice enough hotel, well situated, close to the train station and the center of this small town. The reception area is small but functional and well presented, the staff on reception without exception were friendly, knowledgable, helpfull, and welcoming. The restaurant serves typically continental breakfast which was fine, and if weather permits can be taken in front of the hotel alongside the beautiful river which is on the doorstep. In the evening the food is of good quality, tasty and well presented- it is a little expensive, but then, the whole country appears to be trying very hard to price itself out of the average persons budget. The rooms are what made me give a 3/5 as they are just a bit too small, the shower i had was no more than "usable" as to turn around inside it was not really an option. On top of that there is no air conditioning, this was a bit of an issue as the temperature was reasonable and humidity was high. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but bear in mind that they, like the tv are above your feet at the end of the bed as the room lacks any other space. There are alot of rooms in this hotel and possibly the ones further down the hall were of a better standard than mine. All in all an average hotel, but like the title says..Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesesalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Zimmer at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your detailed review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we can`t comprehend the allocation of your room. Perhaps you had a normal single room? The single rooms have a wonderful view to the river, but are the smallest rooms. The double rooms which are possible for a single use too are bigger.
We hope that we can appreciate you another time.
Best regards!
Your team from Hotel Freienhof, Thun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Well what can you say !!
always a perfect stay i have stayed more than once or twice ???
if you ever need anything the staff are always on hand to help and assist you
i already look forward to my next stay
can't recommend the hotel enough if you stay in Thun or the surrounding area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emmental
Hotel Emmental
#6 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chartreuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Freienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Freienhof

Property: Hotel Freienhof
Address: Freienhofgasse 3, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Freienhof 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic, yet modern hotel is situated in an idyllic spot by the River Aare on the edge of the old town of Thun. 66 renovated modern rooms, 700m2 of professionally equipped seminar facilities and a creative kitchen offering speciality foods are brought to you in a refreshing manner by our young team. Although we are in the centre of town, peace and quiet are guaranteed since our rooms are on a little peninsular where all you hear are the gentle sounds of the River Aare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Freienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freienhof Swiss Quality Thun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing