We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of Hotel Freienhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Freienhof
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a nice enough hotel, well situated, close to the train station and the center of this small town. The reception area is small but functional and well presented, the staff on reception without exception were friendly, knowledgable, helpfull, and welcoming. The restaurant serves typically continental breakfast which was fine, and if weather permits can be taken in front of the hotel alongside the beautiful river which is on the doorstep. In the evening the food is of good quality, tasty and well presented- it is a little expensive, but then, the whole country appears to be trying very hard to price itself out of the average persons budget. The rooms are what made me give a 3/5 as they are just a bit too small, the shower i had was no more than "usable" as to turn around inside it was not really an option. On top of that there is no air conditioning, this was a bit of an issue as the temperature was reasonable and humidity was high. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but bear in mind that they, like the tv are above your feet at the end of the bed as the room lacks any other space. There are alot of rooms in this hotel and possibly the ones further down the hall were of a better standard than mine. All in all an average hotel, but like the title says..Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesesalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Zimmer at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your detailed review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we can`t comprehend the allocation of your room. Perhaps you had a normal single room? The single rooms have a wonderful view to the river, but are the smallest rooms. The double rooms which are possible for a single use too are bigger.
We hope that we can appreciate you another time.
Best regards!
Your team from Hotel Freienhof, Thun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    81
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
25
54
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Well what can you say !!
always a perfect stay i have stayed more than once or twice ???
if you ever need anything the staff are always on hand to help and assist you
i already look forward to my next stay
can't recommend the hotel enough if you stay in Thun or the surrounding area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My five nights at the Freienhof Hotel in late May were perfect. The staff were amazing. Everyone seemed genuinely helpful and friendly, especially the young women at the reception desk. Special thanks to them.
As noted by others, the hotel is an easy five-minute walk from the train station. I had originally reserved a single courtyard-facing room because, at the time of my reservation, all riverview rooms were booked. However, on arrival I was able to upgrade to a single riverview room for a surcharge that was worth every dollar (or Swiss franc). My room faced a rapidly running river and covered bridge. Because the hotel was directly on the river, without even an intervening street, the effect from my mini-balcony was somewhat like being on a boat.
Again, as noted by others, the room was somewhat small and stark but well planned and perfectly adequate for one person. Most importantly, everything (TV, lights, hair dryer, etc.) worked and worked well. The lighting was exceptionally good. One very minor problem was the lack of counterspace. The table that fitted over the bed already held the TV and did not allow much room for personal belongings and the night table that held the phone was so small that even my tiny alarm clock would not fit. Perhaps a small table could be added somewhere in the room to provide additional space.
Breakfast was very good. I especially liked the fresh fruit salad (not canned) and delicious breads and croissants. Everything was nicely displayed and quickly replenished.
This was my first stay in Thun, although I had vacationed in nearby Interlaken several times. Both cities provide an excellent base for daytrips to the Bernese Oberland. However, I much prefer Thun. It is more of a "real city" with beautiful views of the rivers, lake, mountains, and castle, and also has many riverside restaurants just one or two blocks from the hotel. Interlaken is more "touristy" and very crowded.
In summary, I will definitely return to Thun and the Freienhof Hotel on my next trip to Switzerland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina P, Bewertung at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear guest!
Thank you very much for this detailed and very positive review. We are very grateful for all reviews, positive and negative. Only with theses comments we can improve us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaZore'a, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. conference facilities were good. Room was very small and basic, but nicely designed and very very clean (like the whole hotel and country). Breakfast was good. 5 minute walk from the train station. Wi-Fi prices are unreasonably high, which tilted me to 3 rather than 4 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is a member of the Swiss 'Quality' group and the quality is in its staff. From email correspondence before our trip and all communications during with reception, housekeeping and restaurant staff were of the most friendly, polite and helpful possible.
Thun is a lovely city, well worth a visit and well placed for visiting much of this lovely country.
The hotel is excellently situated, very clean and comfortable and the food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. Shame the wifi in the rooms isn't free but we had no problems accessing the terminals in the lobby.
There is a contrast in style/furnishings between the rooms from ultramodern to more traditional so you could choose your room according to your preference. The view from our room of the river and the castle was lovely and from our balcony you could see the stunning Alps at the end of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hussingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Thun was our second stop during a tour of Switzerland in June and wow what a place. I loved this town and the Freienhof hotel was brilliant. The hotel is located next to the river and a short walk from the train station. It is also minutes from the main street and surrounded by lots of restaurants. Our room was very modern, clean and bright and the hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a nice view from our window (we stopped in a non river view room as they were cheaper, I’m not sure I would pay the extra for a river view room as the views from the other rooms are really nice). Breakfast was great, with a nice selection of cereals, breads and eggs. I would highly recommend stopping in Thun, it is a beautiful place and the location is perfect for visiting Bern and Jungfrau. I would defiantly return to the Freienhof Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Happy_Camper182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Thun is a lovely, underappreciated Swiss small city at the end of the lake with a river flowing through it and a handsome castle. The architect that designed this hotel did a remarkable job of adding beautiful rooms with delightful views overlooking the river, surrounding them with a garden and linking them with the old Main building. If you like to go to sleep withthe noise of a rushing river in the background just leave your balcony door ajar. If you ask and if the hotel is not too busy you can get its wonderful breakfast on your balcony in the morning. We had a superior double room for two people for
Sw Fr. 295.00 per room and per night, including breakfast, which by Swiss price standards actually makes this a good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGM-Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emmental
Hotel Emmental
#6 of 9 in Thun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chartreuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Freienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Freienhof

Property: Hotel Freienhof
Address: Freienhofgasse 3, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Freienhof 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic, yet modern hotel is situated in an idyllic spot by the River Aare on the edge of the old town of Thun. 66 renovated modern rooms, 700m2 of professionally equipped seminar facilities and a creative kitchen offering speciality foods are brought to you in a refreshing manner by our young team. Although we are in the centre of town, peace and quiet are guaranteed since our rooms are on a little peninsular where all you hear are the gentle sounds of the River Aare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Freienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freienhof Swiss Quality Thun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing