We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basil Fawlty in Thun?”
Review of Schwert Thun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schwert Thun
Ranked #2 of 15 Thun B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel began like an episode of "Fawlty Towers." We were standing outside in the cold at a time we had been told was a normal check in time, ringing the reception bell 5 times over 30 minutes. We were considering a long walk back to the train station to ask the tourist office to call for us. When someone the manager knew (perhaps with an appointment) rang the bell, he opened the door immediately. He did not apologize. He did say he might have put the wrong time in his email.

A bigger ongoing issue was that every day, we would leave the windows closed to avoid smoke from the garden behind our room coming in. Each day, we would come back to open windows and a room smelling of smoke. There was no "do not disturb" sign, and no staff around to ask to please stop leaving the windows open. Most people do not smoke, and we do not want to come back to a non-smoking hotel room that smells like smoke.

Our email from booking.com said no meals were included. As mentioned, we did not see any staff to ask after we forgot to ask about that at check in. When we checked out, we were told breakfast had been included. Sad to hear in such an expensive country, and someone could have left us a note. We stayed there for three nights, and we only saw a staff member when we checked in and then when we checked out 4 days later...

All signs and room information only in German. We speak French and English (and the staff were fluent in English). Something besides German would have been nice.

Plusses, nice room and very nice water pressure. Nice garden. Nice location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bosphorus104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 60 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Perfect location in the middle of Old Town. Spacious, pristine room with large bathroom. Comfortable bed. Terrace just outside room. Staff were very accommodating and helpful -- went above and beyond in helping us get our laundry done. Breakfast was great -- fresch croissants, bread, jam, cheese, muesli with yogurt, eggs, coffee, juice. Coffee maker and mini bar in foyer, honor system. Can drive up to drop off bags, then go park (short walk away). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonRona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here four four nights in May 2012. Could not fault the accommodation. Endo ( the manager ) and his staff were so accommodating and friendly. They could not have made our stay any more enjoyable. You do need to note that there are no tvs in the rooms, but who needs tv when you are in Switzerland. Also, thank you Endo for the breakfast cereals who went a bought especially for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KincumberKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staying here was one of our best decisions during a recent trip to Switzerland. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom small but well designed and spotless. It is positioned in the old town. Thun itself is very attractive town and Schwert Thun is a great place, at an excellent price, to stay if you want a clean, comfortable and charming room and don't want a mini bar and a television.
The breakfasts were among the best we had in Switzerland. Andy and Dana are great hosts, they were very friendly and helpful both with booking and with advice on things to do and see.
We had dinner at their restaurant which was excellent.

Room Tip: Some rooms share a bathroom. This could be useful for families. Ours had its own ensuite facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanbluecanberraACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We just returned from a crazy trip to Italy and Switzerland with an extended family of 9. Of all the hotels we stayed in on this trip this was our favorite! It is a wonderful restaurant with 5 rooms they rent out upstairs. The rooms were so charming and well appointed. We put The kids upstairs on the 3rd floor in the rooms that shared a bath and the two couples stayed on the second floor rooms with private baths. Our room was huge with a wall of windows that overlooked the picture perfect town.
The breakfast was great and presented artfully. Do yourself a huge favor and have dinner in the restaurant too!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The only reason to give his B&B an average rating is because we paid the highest room rates for the smallest room during our trip. Also there was no TV in the room (but to be fair to them this was already conveyed to us in advance). Free WIFI was available and was good. On most days, we were the only one's for breakfast - the choice was limited. In fact even the quantity of food was limited (on the first day there were 3 croissants for the 3 of us and when my daughter wanted one more they said that they had ordered only 3 for us, the next day was the same story with only 3 croissants). I must however add that on 2 days when we left before the normal breakfast time, they did pack for us breakfast (we appreciate that). The B&B is located at 8 min walk from the station with lots of eating places in the vicinity. While it was very cold outside, it was quite hot inside the rooms, we could not enjoy good sleep. We would want to try another property next time

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This B&B was really central to the train/bus station - only about a 10 minute walk. It is also just round the corner from countless restaurants set on the lovely river Aar, and set below the Castle. The town is just beautiful, and so central to many beautiful parts of Switzerland by train.

The rooms were spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and the bathrooms redone fairly recently to a really good standard.
We stayed in rooms 2 and 3 which shared a bathroom. Whilst the chiming of the church bells can be heard from the room, as soon as you close the window the double glazing blocks out the sound so it was easy to sleep.

Breakfast was very traditional - muesli with yoghurt, croissants, jam, bread, and an array of delicious Swiss cheeses. They were also very accommodating for my husband who has special dietary requirements and provided a separate breakfast for him.

Where the service really stood out was Kung's helpfulness when I tripped in Zermatt and injured myself, ending up needing a wheelchair to get around.
As we could not speak Swiss German, he called the local hospital, pharmacies, etc until he found somewhere that would hire us a wheelchair.
He also accommpanied my husband for an hour to the place as they did not speak English and it was difficult to find.
He really went the extra mile to make sure everything was sorted out and wouldn't accept anything in return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate-SA-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.1 mi away
Restaurant & Hotel Schlossberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwert Thun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwert Thun

Address: Untere Hauptgasse 8, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Thun
Price Range: $139 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schwert Thun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing