We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a beautiful town”
Review of Schwert Thun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schwert Thun
Ranked #2 of 15 Thun B&B and Inns
Kincumber
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a beautiful town”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here four four nights in May 2012. Could not fault the accommodation. Endo ( the manager ) and his staff were so accommodating and friendly. They could not have made our stay any more enjoyable. You do need to note that there are no tvs in the rooms, but who needs tv when you are in Switzerland. Also, thank you Endo for the breakfast cereals who went a bought especially for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KincumberKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
canberra ACT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staying here was one of our best decisions during a recent trip to Switzerland. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom small but well designed and spotless. It is positioned in the old town. Thun itself is very attractive town and Schwert Thun is a great place, at an excellent price, to stay if you want a clean, comfortable and charming room and don't want a mini bar and a television.
The breakfasts were among the best we had in Switzerland. Andy and Dana are great hosts, they were very friendly and helpful both with booking and with advice on things to do and see.
We had dinner at their restaurant which was excellent.

Room Tip: Some rooms share a bathroom. This could be useful for families. Ours had its own ensuite facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbluecanberraACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We just returned from a crazy trip to Italy and Switzerland with an extended family of 9. Of all the hotels we stayed in on this trip this was our favorite! It is a wonderful restaurant with 5 rooms they rent out upstairs. The rooms were so charming and well appointed. We put The kids upstairs on the 3rd floor in the rooms that shared a bath and the two couples stayed on the second floor rooms with private baths. Our room was huge with a wall of windows that overlooked the picture perfect town.
The breakfast was great and presented artfully. Do yourself a huge favor and have dinner in the restaurant too!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The only reason to give his B&B an average rating is because we paid the highest room rates for the smallest room during our trip. Also there was no TV in the room (but to be fair to them this was already conveyed to us in advance). Free WIFI was available and was good. On most days, we were the only one's for breakfast - the choice was limited. In fact even the quantity of food was limited (on the first day there were 3 croissants for the 3 of us and when my daughter wanted one more they said that they had ordered only 3 for us, the next day was the same story with only 3 croissants). I must however add that on 2 days when we left before the normal breakfast time, they did pack for us breakfast (we appreciate that). The B&B is located at 8 min walk from the station with lots of eating places in the vicinity. While it was very cold outside, it was quite hot inside the rooms, we could not enjoy good sleep. We would want to try another property next time

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This B&B was really central to the train/bus station - only about a 10 minute walk. It is also just round the corner from countless restaurants set on the lovely river Aar, and set below the Castle. The town is just beautiful, and so central to many beautiful parts of Switzerland by train.

The rooms were spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and the bathrooms redone fairly recently to a really good standard.
We stayed in rooms 2 and 3 which shared a bathroom. Whilst the chiming of the church bells can be heard from the room, as soon as you close the window the double glazing blocks out the sound so it was easy to sleep.

Breakfast was very traditional - muesli with yoghurt, croissants, jam, bread, and an array of delicious Swiss cheeses. They were also very accommodating for my husband who has special dietary requirements and provided a separate breakfast for him.

Where the service really stood out was Kung's helpfulness when I tripped in Zermatt and injured myself, ending up needing a wheelchair to get around.
As we could not speak Swiss German, he called the local hospital, pharmacies, etc until he found somewhere that would hire us a wheelchair.
He also accommpanied my husband for an hour to the place as they did not speak English and it was difficult to find.
He really went the extra mile to make sure everything was sorted out and wouldn't accept anything in return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate-SA-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Schwert Thun is a delightful hidden gem of a B&B in the lovely and lively old town section of Thun, a small city which is an excellent base for exploring the Bernese Oberland. My sister & I spent 3 nights here in May, 2010, and wished we could have stayed much longer. The owners are attentive, very pleasant, and lovingly restoring this dwelling built around 1740. In the back is a terraced garden leading up to the intact Castle built in 1190 and well worth a visit. You can really sense what the town may have been like in the 18th century staying here. The rooms are elegantly yet simply furnished. The beds are very comfortable and the baths (some shared) modern and spotless. Each room is distinctive and unique with small whimsical touches. We stayed in the twin room facing the back with a view of the garden and the castle. The wood paneled, cosy and elegant restaurant on the ground floor serves a delicious and substantial breakfast; in the evening, the dinners are fine dining with local specialties and a good wine selection. There are outdoor tables in good weather.
Thun was for us a delightful surprise. The old town has many intact historic buildings and a lively, exceedingly youthful atmosphere. The Aare River banks (a block from the B&B) are filled with young and old in the evenings, walking, eating, drinking and simply having a good time. There is a unique "double decker" shopping street from around the 16th century. You can cruise Lake Thun & Lake Brienz, take a train to the Lauterbrunnen Valley (75 min. by train) and Jungfraujoch, visit Bern (30 min.) or just visit the sights in Thun. Thun is well worth an extended visit and Schwert Thun a very memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helvetiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.2 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
0.0 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emmental
Hotel Emmental
#6 of 9 in Thun
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwert Thun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwert Thun

Property: Schwert Thun
Address: Untere Hauptgasse 8, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Schwert Thun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing