We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meridiano

Meridiano
Ranked #9 of 512 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $166
Cuisines: Swiss, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Be well - be Meridiano! Culinary quality and dining of distinction are the ingredients prepared to perfection à la Jan Leimbach for your personal pleasure. Not forgetting our cosy Casual Style lunches and the warmest of welcomes from Chef de Restaurant Giovanni Ferraris. Take the trip to the top through our Congress Centre, and you'll enjoy views of Switzerland's captivating capital and UNESCO World Heritage. All the way to the distant snow-capped Alps. The Meridiano - definitely the Top of Bern!
Switzerland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is probably the most innovative cuisine we have tasted in a long time. Great dishes, well served, excellent service, some unexpected surprises along the way, great view onto the city of Bern, very nice wines that go perfectly well with the food. Too bad that the chef will leave in July 2013. We hope that the new chef will keep up the highest standards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Meridiano, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Meridiano Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit at the Meridiano.
It was a pleasure for us to serve you and we are glad that you spend a wonderful evening in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you at the Meridiano soon.

Best regards Meridiano team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    26
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous seduction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This teams does a great job to seduce u with several very creative surprising dishes made out of excellent fresh but not fancy products. Try the spring rolls and just enjoy the view and let it happen to you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sun_kissed932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Meridiano, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Meridiano Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure for us to serve you and to make your Dinner an unforgetable experience.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon, that you can enjoy our new creations.

Best wishes your Meridiano Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a culinary experience "Erlebnisgastronomie"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

this was really an amazing experience, all you can produce with food, served in an elegant, yet not at all snobby manner from a young crew; we enjoyed all the suprises contained in the way the food is served, and also the possibility to have a different wines (one glass) for each course.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Meridiano, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
far away
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best in Bern, by some distance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have been there four or five times now, and intend to continue visiting regularly; the service is excellent, the welcome cordial, the view unbeatable, and the food outstanding. Whether for a intimate meal with friends, a business lunch, or a romatic dinner for two, it's the best. We most recently visited over Easter weekend, when some restaurants let their standards slip, and I confess I was a bit concerned when the the hotel clerk who took the reservation (normally the urbane and friendly "restaurantleiter" - Maitre d' and sommelier- Christian Grimm handles that himself) could only tell me that there was a fixed Easter menu, no a la carte, but could not tell me what was on it. I needn't have worried, the food was more than up to the usual Michelin-star quality I have come to expect. Others here have described the cuisine adequately, so I will only say that we have never had a less-than-excellent dish, whether it's the veal, the foie gras, the lamb or the fish. Kudos to chef Markus Arnold not simply for his fine cuisine, but also for his much-improved English skills, and his courteous welcome to guests; and special thanks to Herr Grimm, who has imbued his wait staff with the warmth and friendliness that makes dining there a pleasure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shutterlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Meridiano, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern - Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One word = perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

It was the second time I came in restaurant Meridiano and it was perfect. This time I chose a 4-course menu with accompinying wine. First course was an variety on vietnamese spring rolls which came in a very suprising way. It was delicious. 2nd and 3rd course was redfisch and simmenthaler veal.... Excellent, high quality fish and meat but the dessert was the "Hammer" it was a orange like chocolate chocolate bombr filled with ice cream, grand marnier, orange, crunchy crisps and cream.....what superlative can I use for this dessert? Been to many 1-2-3-star restaurants but never experienced such a suprising dessert like this. Meridiano is the absolute hidden gem from Bern.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Meridiano, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meridiano also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Meridiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing