We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food poisonning” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grissino

Grissino
Ranked #78 of 512 Restaurants in Bern
Price range: $17 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food poisonning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I had a terrible food poisonning a few hours after dining there! be careful with this place there are other great italian restaurant nearby...

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    68
    22
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
133 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Honest Italian, Brilliant Tiramisu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Pizza made in the old fashioned way, and delicious, pasta and seafood, brilliant, service is friendly and attentive.. Tiramisu is truly magnificent, in fact I have never had better.
Love this place, sit outside on sunny days and it is magic.

Love this place

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanked2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
Level Contributor
320 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good food; boiling hot dining room, and where's the service?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived quite late on a Friday night. This was quite a hip place so the clientele were visibly well-off. One would expect the service to be good, but we were very disappointed.

I was initially drawn into the pizza oven and that was what I had. It was delicious and was so big, that I had to share. The other dishes were very good as well.

However, the staff were not very attentive and we had to ask numerous times for a coke, after the first order was taken but completely forgotten. Then when the coke came, it was in a bottle with no glass, no ice, no straw. How was I supposed to drink this?

The place was really hot as well for some reason. It was only 20C outside, so, I wonder what happened here.

We had a train to catch so we asked for the bill. That of course took us a few tries and a LONG time before it came. We just made the train.

Food - fine, but otherwise not somewhere I will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Generous portions and nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've eaten here a number of times and the overall conclusion is that portions are generous, food is pretty good, but service can be hit and miss. Vegetarians have a good choice of dishes from the menu (although be aware that lunch times have a limited menu, so only pizzas and salads - if you want pasta, go to the sister restaurant Luce across the road). It's worth making a reservation if you want to go for a specific occasion in the evening or even at peak lunchtime as the place does get busy. Ice cream sundaes here are big - good choice of flavours and very large portions! Service is sometimes good but most of the time average - it's not that waiters are rude or anything, they can just be inattentive. It can sometimes take ages to catch an eye to get service and sometimes my husband has gone to the desk in order to pay the bill as it's taken so long to get someone's attention. However, the food itself is delivered fairly quickly once ordered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giggles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The best Tiramisu worldwide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Ok, perhaps this is overdone, it might not be the best tiramisu globally - but it must be close to that level! Personally, I have yet to get a better one, someday, someplace - and I will keep looking.

One thing at the time. Decor has not changed the past 15, perhaps 20 years, but it is timeless, however not particularly attractive. Service, is super fast, friendly and professional. The food is consistently very nice indeed. And rest assured, Yu may try anything.

It's not the most cozy place, it's probably not the lace for a romantic dinner, where you would plan a first date. For anything else, I believe this is pretty much top of the crown - for Berne anyway. It simply works!

Helpful?
Thank TravelPal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grissino also viewed

 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Grissino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing