We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative, high quality cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blauer Engel

Blauer Engel
Ranked #161 of 512 Restaurants in Bern
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Bern
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Creative, high quality cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I ordered grilled veggies and tofu with cuscus and my expectations were not very high. But the quality and flavors of this rather simple meal really surprised me. Everything was perfect: the veggies were still a bit crisp and the cuscus was incredibly flavorful. Bravo.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank green_epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food - Amazing Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Probably the nicest place to have dinner in Bern !

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I love going here. The atmosphere and service are very charming. I also enjoy that the menu is short, yet I could order almost everything on it. We enjoyed the tagetalli with shellfish as an appitizer. The pasta tasted homemade. For a main course we had a whole mackeral with mango salsa and lamb with lentals and veggies. They could have skipped the lentals. The wine menu was also very good. They have a delicious dessert wine! And the coffee was delicious as well. We will return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coriander_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best cuisine in all of Bern, maybe in all of Switzerland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

Tried this restaurant on our first trip to Bern, and despite the language barrier (menu only in German and waitstaff had limited English), we had a wonderful experience. The decor is interesting -- sort of shabby chic with animal heads -- nice low lighting. The food was really something, even though the choices for me as a pesca-vegetarian were a little limited. I had an amazing pumpkin souffle, and my chocolate dessert was both artful and incredibly tasty. My husband blindly picked items off the menu, and was also very happy with his meal. The only negatives were that it was a Friday night so they were packed which made the temperature a little high, and slowed the pace of the meal somewhat. Still, I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes quality food with a local feel.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant in quiet part of the town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Very charming restaurant in the nice "Laenggasse" quarter of Bern. Very good food and a very warm interior design. The menues are seasonal and the wines are als very good. One of the best restaurants in the city of Bern.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wernesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blauer Engel also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Blauer Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing