We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, cozy, quality food”
Review of Fugu-Nydegg

Fugu-Nydegg
Ranked #64 of 545 Restaurants in Bern
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Innovative and modern dishes from Thailand and Japan. Selected materials and pure design with ancient wood and warm colors create an outstanding Asian lifstyle touch. dangerously good!
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice interior and delicious food. Have to write more characters but really there's not much more to add :)

1  Thank RuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossobukko, Geschäftsführer at Fugu-Nydegg, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We appreciate your outstanding comments and we hope to welcome you again.

Your sincerely
Dennis Thaele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 201 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Over all not bad but trully Germans and it seems that Swiss too have to understand that using other spices means they have to lay low on the salt for both the taste buds and the health of all of us !

Thank Mona_Shai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossobukko, Geschäftsführer at Fugu-Nydegg, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your helpful and well-appreciated feedback.
We would like to point out, that our chefs at the Fugu-Nydegg are mainly Thai Nationals and in Total 100% Asians.
Altough we hope that you could enjoy your stay and looking forward to welcome you again.

Your sincerely
Dennis Thaele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are in Bern for the first time and walking around the old part of town, start from the Clock Tower and work your way down on the main street, to the Bear Pits near the river. This is a place to take a lunch break, that is, if the restaurant is not full. It's a small venue and i would recommend booking a table inside. There is another section on the second floor. But their Thai and Japanese menus are really tasty. And fast service. On warm days, sitting outside is cozy and you get a feel of the old city with its cobbled streets. Then continue walking across the bridge towards the Bear Pits, then walk leisurely up to the Rosengarten, the Rose Garden, for Bern's most gorgeous view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tumbleweed_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossobukko, Geschäftsführer at Fugu-Nydegg, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for positiv valuation of your stay in our restaurant.
We appreciate your kindly comments and looking forward, to welcoming you soon again in our restaurant.

Your sincerely
Dennis Thaele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I eat at the Fugu regularly - never been disappointed. I always look at the menu, but then 95% of the time choose the Ginger Beef! But my companions all enjoy it too - even my picky-eater daughter. Not the cheapest place to eat, but always reliable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil_in_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossobukko, Geschäftsführer at Fugu-Nydegg, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your friendly and positiv valuation at Tripadvisor.
The Ginger beef is an excellent dish wich many people like. If you like fish as well, you should try our tuna, salmon or our butterfly jumbo shrimps, if you wanna stay with beef, maybe try the wasabi beef?
Regarding our prices, we only choose first quality products for our dishes and to keep an stable quality of service and food, we do need professional staff. All this is included in our prices and we think, this is justifying and the value for money is given.
Once again thank you very much for your kindly statement and we’re looking forward to welcome you soon again in our restaurant.

Your sincerely
Dennis Thaele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Not a lot needs to be said about this place. Simple menu, varied choice, delicious food and great service, what more does a person want? The ginger beef in particular was incredibly tasty ;)

Thank Clair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fugu-Nydegg also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Fugu-Nydegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing