We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a few glasses of wine and snooty service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorenzini

Lorenzini
Ranked #20 of 512 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good for a few glasses of wine and snooty service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well it may look a lot like a Parisian café / bistrot, they may well serve wine, but Paris it ain't! In this tiniest of capitals, it never ceases to surprise me how fast establishments think they've reached the pinnacle of hospitality and style, and that somehow this allows them to take on a blasé French level of service. In addition, for a place that prides itself on its cocktails, the waiter has no clue what a Vodka Martini is. By the way kids: this is the proper way to judge an establishment that professes it knows something about cocktails. If they dare bring out that awful Italian juice and a highball glass with ice-cubes when asked for a Martini, better to just walk away, or at worst order a beer. Anyway, judging from the clientele, this appears to be a place for people who think they have class. Based on their location and décor, there is no reason to believe they will run out of customers soon - therefore the can also afford this reviewer to take them down a peg. And perhaps review their cocktail recipes... Haven't had lunch or dinner here, and not going to: looks overpriced and pretentious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zerosixzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    79
    33
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good and very versatile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I organized a group dinner and it worked out perfectly.
I was a bit worried because there wasn't much space for business groups for dinner, but I have to say they have a very good organization and the restaurant has 3 parts: the café and the bar-pub in the ground floor and upstairs they have the restaurant with 2 very nice rooms for private groups.

Food is very good to be a mix between italian and swiss, and service is very charming and polite.

Very good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenthal, Schweiz
Level Contributor
161 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good food, but problems with wine and service ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

6 of us were here for a business dinner this week. The food was actually quite good, but we had problems with the wine in service. We suspect that they are not storing the wine correctly. For every bottle that we had, we had to send one back.

This is not a cheap place, so for the prices they charge, they need to do a better job with the service. Few of the wait staff new much about the wine list.

One of the wait staff had never been trained how to place food on a table. When the main course arrived, two of us had to do evasive maneuvers to avoid an elbow in the face.

They were very professional about the wine problems and the food was very good, so I'm sure we will return.

Helpful?
Thank Ravenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

During my few days in Bern, I was surprised at how uniformly bad the food was, until dinner at Lorenzini. I ordered the fish of the day, bronzini. Perhaps there was a translation problem, because I'm pretty sure they said "grilled" and on arrival it appeared to have been sauted. It was a whole fish very lightly crusted or battered which I normally do not like. But never mind. The coasting came off with the skin, and the fish itself was simply superb. Very fresh, very flavorful, cooked to perfection. It came with a medley of steamed vegetables, mostly broccoli and cauliflower, each one yielding delightful flavor and also cooked to perfection. The bread basket contained forgettable white rolls and slabs of a great black bread. For desert I had a ball each of an ice cream and two sorbets--and they were terrific. All-in-all a wonderful restaurant meal in a city notable for lousy restaurants. (I'm unable to answer about price or value because others hosted.)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little Italian gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Following a disastrous restaurant choice last year in Bern, last weekend we ate lunch at Lorenzini and I have to say that it was entirely a pleasurable experience.

The service was excellent and the food and wine top quality Italian.

So if you fancy great Italian food in Bern this is the place to go - but be sure to book it is very popular with locals.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EDRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lorenzini also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Lorenzini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing