We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and homely”
Review of Hotel Marthahaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marthahaus
Ranked #2 of 18 Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay here. This time, I stayed in a twin room with private facilities. It was warm and comfortable. It wasn't too far from the station to walk, but if in a rush, take the #20 bus. The breakfast was basic but enjoyable and I liked that you could get a hot chocolate/coffee/tea at night. It was quiet as well. I also liked that there was a kitchen with 2 stoves where you could sit and eat dinner at night.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank lbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

My mom and I spent two nights at the Marthahaus last spring. It is a very nice location about 10-15 minutes from the central station.
Everything is nice and clean but you have to keep in mind it is a pension so it's not very cosy or stylish. But it has nice ensuite rooms, a good breakfast with local food, very friendly staff and everything was spottless clean.
So if you want to stay in downtown Bern and don't want to spend a fortune but still want a nice place to stay - this is it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Defrost_Hallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Switzerland is very pricey so when it comes to accommodation Marthahaus is economically a wise choice. Rooms are very basic, no frills. Older TV, often shared bathrooms unless you specify otherwise. We were in the attic family room, 4 beds, 5th floor, very tight for space and a bit stuffy in Aug, no air con. Berne is such a beautiful breezy city that when we opened our windows the room cooled down. It seemed like many European single travelers stayed here and the lower floor rooms seemed more spacious. Basic breakfast is included. No toaster which I missed. In the basement is a clean communal kitchen. Wifi wasn't really reliable but there are 2 computers for guests to use. Location is wonderful, a short walk across the river to old town. We usually had very friendly service with one exception.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Marthahaus is the place if you look for an affordable, clean and friendly place on a strategic spot near Bern's city centre. Only ten minutes walk to the Zytglogge. The rooms are simple but with a nice bed with down covers and a spotless bathroom. The staff is very helpful. Downstairs is a guest kitchen where you can store stuff in the fridges and can cook if you wish so (with the restaurant prices in Switzerland this could be a good option if you stay longer). Nice breakfast with enough choice and all day long free coffee and tea. If you have the chance go swimming in the Aare river and let yourself float on the stream together with the other Berners or whatever they are called.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice European hotel. The room is good sized, it is a ten minute walk into town, or ten minute walk from the train station. Simple but good self service breakfast. Anytime you want good coffee or cappuccino is available, and they lent me a corkscrew on request and threw in two wine glasses. We sre on floor three, with a balcony which is really nice. Crying kid across the street needs to go to bed before midnight, however. We share a WC and shower with seven orher rooms, but it was no problem, never had to wait (maybe we are the only people on the floor? Just kidding) and it was cleaned regularly. Nice hostess, fluent in at least three, and I suspect five languages. Two nights at $120CHF per night. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I spent 2 nights in a double for single use at the Hotel Pension Marthahaus in June, and found it well-located, charming, and affordable!

My spotlessly clean room had a small balcony in a delightful courtyard, complete with large leafy trees -- very pleasant! (There was no furniture on the balcony – I carried the room’s desk chair in and out as necessary.) I could hear some creaking floorboards from other rooms once in a while; these sounds didn’t bother me, but someone who is sensitive to noise might feel differently.

The breakfast room was cheerful and held a small, but pleasing, buffet. Like the other common areas of the hotel, it held some interesting works of art and other decorations.

Just a block or two from a tram line, one can also walk into the Bern’s Old Town; its only about 10 mintues by foot to the Kunstmuseum, and Bern’s lovely botanical gardens are just steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife & I, along with 2 friends in another room stayed at the Pension Marthahause in Bern, Switzerland from June 14th through June 17th, 2013. This pension is a moderately priced bargin in relatively expensive Bern. It is clean, well kept and generally quiet except for the local cats that tend to have loud fights at night. We had a large room with king bed on the 2nd floor with windows that overlooked the nearby square. A nice elevator made luggage easy. We had reserved in advance a free parking place for the hotel lot (which is liminted, so make a reservation) Our friends were on the 4th floow in similar room with a balcony that looked over the back of the property. Breakfast was very good with the usual European items. The cappuccino coffee was very nice. The front desk staff was absolutely outstanding and friendly. They provided answers to all our many questions, directed us to an ATM machine about 50 meters away, sold us bus/tram day pass tickets & instructioned us on how to use the system and even recommended we see the Einstein museum which also had a special Qui exhibit Terracotta Warriors on loan from China. This exhibit is a must see. From the pension we could walk to the center of town in about 20 minutes or take the bus/tram and arrive in 5 minutes. Bern is a relatively small capital city with lovely river winding through town. The surrounding hills are beautiful. .

Room Tip: try to get room on 4th floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marthahaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marthahaus

Address: Wyttenbachstrasse 22a, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bern
Price Range: $120 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Marthahaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marthahaus Hotel offers you individually and very tastefully furnished rooms in a quiet residential area of Berne, near the centre, the main station, the BEA-Expo, the Stade de Suisse and the Postfinance Arena.A guest kitchen, wireless internet access are available free of charges! The Marthahaus serves a complimentary breakfast. Many restaurants can be found around the hotel.The staff of the Marthahaus is at your disposal 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marthahaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marthahaus Bern Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing