We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveler rating
129
447
170
47
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
447
170
47
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop nice shower the staff was friendly and helpful the air conditioning clean hotel old town the main railway station public transportation the ground floor expo stade city hairdryer pros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 815 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed a few nights and have to comment upon the team we meet who were exceptionally friendly helpful and a pleasure to spend time with. They all spoke excellent English. The hotel was in very good order and we had no complaints. Curtesy bus tickets were available making travelling into town no trouble at all- which is needed to go for dinner. Some people ordered delivery food which the hotel was happy to accommodate. A beautiful city and a easy hotel location to enjoy it.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MaChambre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send a comment after your stay.
We very much appreciate it.

Best regards from the entire team of the hotel ibis Bern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

No. Way. Never. Again.

Bang goes the neighbour's door on the left. Bang goes the neighbour's door on the right. Bang goes a door down the corridor. And another one. And another one. And another one. Each time, the bed and the plastic bathroom walls vibrate.

Whoever fitted out this hotel apparently gave little or no thought to soundproofing. I've stayed in plenty of Accor hotels before, both Ibis and other higher and lower level brands, so I'm in a good position to compare. I've never encountered one where the doors have a system that holds them open just long enough for a person to walk through, and then closes them with an almighty bang. Sure, I've seen slow-close systems, but at least they don't make a racket each and every time.

Throughout our three nights, we faced the constant in and out of groups on the same floor at times such as 1:45 am and 6:00 am. For two nights it was several teenage swim teams in Bern for some kind of championship. I asked reception to deal with this, and got a cursory "we'll talk to their trainer". Yeah, right, that really, really had an impact. On the last night, it was the Tour de France security detail, who apparently thought that they owned the entire floor, given that they had a planning conference in the corridor outside our room ("Do Not Disturb" sign -- what's that) and, when asked firmly to be quiet, behaved in an unpleasant manner towards both me and my wife (who went out the second time to see if a feminine input would have an impact). Great to see that the public image of the Tour de France crew matters so much to its members, by the way. A call to reception to ask them to sort the issue out yielded.... Well, what? Nothing at all, beyond a "we'll sorry, we'll sort it out." Actions speak louder than words, and there was zero action. Accor's 15-minute guarantee for sorting out problems apparently involves taking 15 minutes to think about it and then doing nothing.

It seems that the hotel management see the money paid out by groups, and reckon that one-off paying punters can just like it or lump it if the group acts up. And they make little or no attempt to put groups and ordinary punters on different floors. Great policy....

After near-zero sleep, it was of course a pleasure to be woken up at around 9:00 am by the housekeeping staff calling out to each other up and down the corridor, banging doors and clunking their vacuum cleaners against the walls of the corridor and the neighbouring rooms. Again, the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door might have been a little indication that a hotel guest inside a room might like some peace. That there's room for improvement on staff discretion is an understatement. It's symptomatic of the problem that, while having breakfast around an hour before the end of weekend breakfast time, we were treated to the sight and sound of the breakfast area being vacuumed.

Then there's the follow-up from reception if a guest has not had a great stay. You'd think that two complaints over the course of three nights might actually show up on the system, and maybe you'd get a little word of apology at check out. But no, when we checked out, it was clearly news to reception that there had been any kind of problem. Having dealt with my bill, the receptionist didn't remember my room number and, when I said that I very much doubted we'd be back, made a play of asking me the number in order to write it down (not...) on a piece of paper for some kind of follow up.

I don't like to give a 1 grade on a scale of 1 to 10, so I'll give the place a 2. The tiny upside it that the room fittings are pleasant and modern, the place is clean, and the Alpine view from our 9th floor room was great. Plus the location is good for the tram and for walking into the pleasant climes of Breitenrain and central Bern, and just five minutes on foot from the main stadium. The breakfast was alright, the beer was tasty, and the apple cakes OK (after a second dose of microwaving to unfreeze them in the middle...).

But overall, a very negative experience.

Room tip: Anywhere without a group. Maybe. If you're lucky.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwfwarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

dear customer,

thank you for taking the time to send a comment after your stay.
Be assured we take this matter seriously and will talk about it with our staff at the reception and also with the housekeeping staff.
It is not always possible to separate the groups because of the number of rooms, but we really have an eye on that during the planning. But, of course, all guests should take care.

We apologize for this inconvenience and remain with best regards from the team of the hotel ibis Bern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Grealt location and good prices
Nice little bar with good serice
room as stantdard as ibis use to be but comfy bed and good shower
Breaky ok
I travelled there a few times and always a good and friendly service

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank yves r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

best regards from the team of the hotel ibis Bern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

We had an exposition at Bern Expo - what a perfect place. Breakfast is related to the price of the hotel very large and good, service was very charming and helpful, what else do you need? Just for the few hours of sleep.... the rooms are clean and - ibislike - well organized.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send a comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We remain with best regards from the team of the hotel ibis Bern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here a couple of times now. It represents good value accommodation for Switzerland. Easy to get to by tram (No 9) from town/railway station. Hotel provides free public transport ticket, which is a good saving. Adequate parking if you arrive by car.

Great views of the mountain tops from our 5th floor room.

Only downside... What have Ibis done with the decor in the bedrooms? Awful 'work like' lights by the bedside. Awful dark colour accents. We much prefer the old style; bright and breezy pastel shades of other Ibis. If this is a new trend, I hope it passes quickly. Yuk!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vivelafrancetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send a comment after your stay with us.
We are glad ou enjoyed your stay and send best regards from the team of the hotel ibis Bern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews