We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, and it feels cheap”
Review of Ibis Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bern Expo
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you want a cheap clean bed, this is ok. If you want a basic amenities like an iron and ironing board, better go somewhere else. If you want an iron, they make you come down to the front desk and give them 20 CHF as a deposit, which you will get back when you return the iron. Cheap and tacky, but OK. But you can't get an ironing board because the hotel doesn't have any. So if you are a business traveler who might need to iron your shirts, this is a bad choice.

Also, there is no fitness center.

Finally, the wifi is free but irritating. You need to get paper slips with usernames and passwords on them for each device each day. Each slip is supposedly good for 24 hours, but if you stop using your device for more than a few minutes, it boots you off and you need to go through the whole sign on process again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank PeteH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.

If you have any questions during your stay wether concerning the internet or other items, please do not nesitate to contact the reception desk, all members of our team are pleased to help you 24/7.
And we all want you to feel comfortable while staying with us.

Hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

best regards

the team of the hotel ibis Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bern Expo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 739 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Picturehouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Location is not in down town but thanks to the tram. 15 minutes to down to wn and 10 minutes tram interval is helping. David, you must remember that we are the hotel's guests and you are the staff. Don't be snobbish

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pw_talenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

dear customer,

thank you very much about your comment.
We will talk about this item directly with our team member.
This is not how we want our staff to react.
But we hope you enjoyed staying in our hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

best regards

hotel ibis Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Svartanders
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

You know what you are going to get in ibis, and it is the same here, except the service is poorer. They were renovating their lobby & restaurant area on the day I am checking out, after spent 2 nights in this hotel. For breakfast, I was asked to go to Novotel right beside this hotel for breakfast. I thought it was a upgrade, in order to compensate the difficulty that they introduced to customer, but NO, basically they just use the bar in Novotel to offer the breakfast, yet, items like fresh fruits were missing. The worst part is, when I am checking out, I asked to store my luggage in the hotel and collect it in the afternoon. But because they are renovating the lobby area, where the storage located, they just rejected my request, and ask me to find my own way.
This is very wrong, they supposed to do more to reduce the impact to the lowest for customer, but, they choose the easiest way, by simply decline their customer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send your comment after your stay with us.

You are right, we are rebuilding our lobby/bar/ reception area at the ibis hotel, therefore the breakfast is at the Novotel (same building). We are very sorry for any inconvenience that may cause. And, of course, we storage your luggage. We apologize for this misunderstanding and look forward to welcome you again.

best regards

hotel ibis Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#10 of 30 in Bern
256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bern Expo

Address: Guisanplatz 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Green Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $115 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bern Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently completed Ibis Bern Expo hotel is located opposite the BEA Bern Expo centre and not far from the new Wankdorf football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.5 Km from the hotel and the Bern Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. Book one of our 96 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the amenities on offer, including a 24 hour bar, wireless Internet access and private undercover pay parking. Restaurants can be found nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing