We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No such thing as a non-smoking room”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bern Expo
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No such thing as a non-smoking room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This Ibis property promotes itself as 100% non-smoking - and this is deceptive. Ain summer with no heat control other than a window to regulate temperature I found cigarette smoke frequently wafting into my room from other open windows within the hotel. There is an unchecked and unregulated practice of people leaning out the windows to smoke, which simply results in their disgusting stale smoke ending up in your room. This was not an isoated incident! It occurred every day of my 4 day stay in Bern Ibis at nights until after midnight, and today I was woken up by cigarette smoke wafting into my room at 5.15am! This results in a far from comfortable sleep. No cut and paste excuses please Ibis, this deceptive marketing must stop or take active measures against smokers in the room.

Additionally this hotel was very expensive as is Bern. I paid much less for a more comfortable 4 star Novotel in Berlin just before arriving. I certainly wouldn't stay in Bern for 4 days again. One day is more than enough,

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment and the information you gave us.
Of course, all our rooms are non-smoking rooms and is it nor allowed indeed to smoke in the rooms.
We are sorry your stay was that inconvenient for you. This is not our purpose.

Nevertheless we really hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Bern.

best regards
the team of the hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    390
    145
    38
    20
See reviews for
104
255
79
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Room was very small but most likely in line with European standards. Biggest complaint, very small bathroom, all plastic.

Good service at front desk and restaurant. They had irons available at front desk, however, did not have ironing boards.

Bed was comfortable and room was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SGauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
best regards
your team hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Usual high standards from Ibis; know what you are going to get and nearly always deliver. This one a little more epensive than others we have stayed in. Garaging expensive. Front desk not as quick as usual on check-in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jnich4889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
dear customer,

thank you you very much for your comment after your stay with us.
Of course, it is our ambition to provide a convenient and quick check-in as well as we want to convince our clients with the complete service we want to offer.
So every comment helps us to improve our serice.

Look forward to welcoming you again here in our hotel ibis in Bern

best regards

your team ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was pleased with my stay at IBIS Bern expo. The service from every staff was wonderful. They were friendly and professional and were eager to help with very aspect of my stay. The only negative experience I had was the shower and the water alternated between hot and cold during the busy times (first thing in the morning). Otherwise, it was great. Wonderful breakfast buffet selection and nice location - walking distance from old Town after a big meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Agapitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and let us know this after departure.
Our staff is very happy about this comment as well adn we all hope to welcoming you again in our hotel.

best regards
the team hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

When we reached the Hotel Ibis we had been on holiday in Europe for two months and this was our seventh country, so we have experienced many hotels. I was shocked to see two stars, as the property and most definitely the service is FOUR STAR. What a friendly welcome we received and our special requests were met with a smile. The tram is just outside and drops you directly in old town Bern within minutes. Some Expo Center is located across the street and was filled with hundreds of people. We were interested in old town Bern and did not explore the expo. The rooms are so very comfortable and clean. The hotel is very quiet and friendly. We highly endorse the property.

Room Tip: Room 403 had a GREAT VIEW of the Alps and Cathedral Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment after your stay in our hotel.
Our team always wants to improve their service and wants to make our customers feel very comfortable. So the whole team is very happy about your comment.
Look forward to welcoming you again at your next visit to Switzerland.

best regards
the team ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melide, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This Hotel has 2 stars but if it would have been in Italy it would be are 4 star hotel .The location is fantastic for Messe /Expo or Stade de Suisse all in about 200 meters .
I had booked for one person had a Huge room 701 with 3 beds .The room was very clean and the bed exstrmely comfortable.bathroom is the "classical" cabine like on a Ship not fantastic but functionally .Breakfast very various and good all bread warm and freschbaked .Staff young but very proffessional

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpa962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send your comment after your stay.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Each day we are trying to improve our service for our clients.

Look forward to welcoming you again our hotel.

best regards
your team ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Reservation MESS: I booked the hotel through the Accor website. When I checked in they could not find my reservation, so they booked a lower quality room for me. 2 days later I check with them on this and oops, they found it, and ooops, they can't cancel the first reservation which was more expensive. So stuck in crapper room, paying more than list rate, crapper breakfast, no notification of whats going on until I ask 2 days in, only get refund on the cheaper booking when I checkout, 4 days after checking in. Stuck with more expensive pre-paid reservation even though they did not put me in a nicer room. Bottom line, they dont care.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank asdfasdfsaddfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

we really do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay.
We want our guests to feel comfortable and convenient and they should enjoy the stay in our hotel this is the kind of service we want to provide.

But however we look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel to give us the chance to show you the improvement of our service.
Your team hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bern hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#10 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bern Expo

Property: Ibis Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Green Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bern Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently completed Ibis Bern Expo hotel is located opposite the BEA Bern Expo centre and not far from the new Wankdorf football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.5 Km from the hotel and the Bern Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. Book one of our 96 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the amenities on offer, including a 24 hour bar, wireless Internet access and private undercover pay parking. Restaurants can be found nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing