We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bern Expo
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was pleased with my stay at IBIS Bern expo. The service from every staff was wonderful. They were friendly and professional and were eager to help with very aspect of my stay. The only negative experience I had was the shower and the water alternated between hot and cold during the busy times (first thing in the morning). Otherwise, it was great. Wonderful breakfast buffet selection and nice location - walking distance from old Town after a big meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Agapitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and let us know this after departure.
Our staff is very happy about this comment as well adn we all hope to welcoming you again in our hotel.

best regards
the team hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    387
    143
    36
    19
See reviews for
103
251
79
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 834 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

When we reached the Hotel Ibis we had been on holiday in Europe for two months and this was our seventh country, so we have experienced many hotels. I was shocked to see two stars, as the property and most definitely the service is FOUR STAR. What a friendly welcome we received and our special requests were met with a smile. The tram is just outside and drops you directly in old town Bern within minutes. Some Expo Center is located across the street and was filled with hundreds of people. We were interested in old town Bern and did not explore the expo. The rooms are so very comfortable and clean. The hotel is very quiet and friendly. We highly endorse the property.

Room Tip: Room 403 had a GREAT VIEW of the Alps and Cathedral Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment after your stay in our hotel.
Our team always wants to improve their service and wants to make our customers feel very comfortable. So the whole team is very happy about your comment.
Look forward to welcoming you again at your next visit to Switzerland.

best regards
the team ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melide, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This Hotel has 2 stars but if it would have been in Italy it would be are 4 star hotel .The location is fantastic for Messe /Expo or Stade de Suisse all in about 200 meters .
I had booked for one person had a Huge room 701 with 3 beds .The room was very clean and the bed exstrmely comfortable.bathroom is the "classical" cabine like on a Ship not fantastic but functionally .Breakfast very various and good all bread warm and freschbaked .Staff young but very proffessional

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpa962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send your comment after your stay.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Each day we are trying to improve our service for our clients.

Look forward to welcoming you again our hotel.

best regards
your team ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Reservation MESS: I booked the hotel through the Accor website. When I checked in they could not find my reservation, so they booked a lower quality room for me. 2 days later I check with them on this and oops, they found it, and ooops, they can't cancel the first reservation which was more expensive. So stuck in crapper room, paying more than list rate, crapper breakfast, no notification of whats going on until I ask 2 days in, only get refund on the cheaper booking when I checkout, 4 days after checking in. Stuck with more expensive pre-paid reservation even though they did not put me in a nicer room. Bottom line, they dont care.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank asdfasdfsaddfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

we really do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay.
We want our guests to feel comfortable and convenient and they should enjoy the stay in our hotel this is the kind of service we want to provide.

But however we look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel to give us the chance to show you the improvement of our service.
Your team hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bern hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the tram stop which takes you to the city centre for CHF2.30 in about 10 minutes. The location is not very atmospheric though, with the vast Expo Centre on one side and the National Equestrian Centre on the other.The room was very clean, spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent- spacious and clean with superb shower. The service was very good indeed - extremely friendly and helpful. We did not take the breakfast because it was an extra CHF15 which we thought was too much for what you get - there are better deals in town.
Bern is an expensive city, and this hotel is a good compromise between cost, convenience and quality - recommended!
The least attractive part of the deal was the cost of car parking - either outside or underground - CHF20 per 24hrs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ghissywicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment after your stay.

At our breakfast buffet we serve several sorts of bread, toast, rolls,marmelade, fresh fruits, fruit salad, juices, joghurts, cheese, meat, flakes, coffee, tea, hot and cold milk and chocolate/ovomaltine, boiled eggs, and other things more.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

best regards

your hotel ibis team Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's an Ibis - so you know what you're getting in the room before you arrive. In short, compact comfort and basic, but more than adequate facilities.
The Bern Ibis Expo is a short ride on the number nine tram from the centre of the Swiss capital - it takes less than 10 minutes from the Zytglogge and usually only a little more from the station (during our visit the main road in Bern was being dug up and so we had to change for that one journey). It was easy to nip back and forth into the city from the hotel and the price differential between here and city centre hotels made it more than worth it.
The wi-fi signal was more than adequate for all our needs and the staff were helpful of nay requests we had of them. The weather wasn't great, but on the third day we discovered we had a view of the Alps. This was from the second floor, so imagine they were even better higher uo.
If there was one issue, the room was very hot on the first night, but we were easily able to turn the air con on to keep it cool thereafter.
Cheap (for Switzerland) and perfect for a short visit to Bern (we stayed four nights).

Room Tip: Ask for a room out back if you want quiet, also some on this side will have view of the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment after your stay in our hotel.

We are pleased you felt comfortable here in our hotel and in Bern and you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again her in the hotel Ibis Bern.

best regards
your team Ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hof
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed there for business. Though the swiss are said too be slow, the WLAN was even slower. No chance to work on the room. Taking my notebook to the Lobby is not an comfortable alternative. The other negative thing was the sleeping comfort: I felt something like an electrostatic charging in the sheets. So sleeping quality was poor. And now the positive aspects: the location close to the "stade de suisse", an tram stop just over the street, helpful staff. The breakfast was OK (I missed some vegetable and there were only hard boiled eggs).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MartinLecturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for taking the time to send this comment about your experiences during your stay. Our team is there for helping you 24/7 if there are any questions or if you may need further information.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Your Team Hotel Ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#10 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bern Expo

Property: Ibis Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Green Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bern Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently completed Ibis Bern Expo hotel is located opposite the BEA Bern Expo centre and not far from the new Wankdorf football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.5 Km from the hotel and the Bern Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. Book one of our 96 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the amenities on offer, including a 24 hour bar, wireless Internet access and private undercover pay parking. Restaurants can be found nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing