We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but unfriendly staf” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Bern Expo
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Brussels
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good location but unfriendly staf”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Good location next to EXPO, near the Paul Klee modern art museum (1km) and good public transport into the city,
Large parking facility (to be paid)
Unfriendly staf.
Although it is mentioned you can order snacks, they advise you to go the Novotel.
Although the hotel has your credit card details, every service (breakfast, parking ticket) is to be paid in advance! If not, you get a remark of the staf.
Staf does not make an effort to speak understandble German or French; they prefer to speak their German dialect!

Room Tip: We had a room with view on the horse riding school. My guess is that the other rooms had view on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for posting your message and sharing your remarks about your stay in our hotel.
Every remark helps us making our service better. It is abslutely right that we are serving snacks in our bar 24/7.
We do need your credit card details for the guarantee of the payment, if you gave the details once for the guarantee all addititonal services should be added to the room account. Of course, we have to verify these by asking you if you take breakfast or drinks at the bar. But this is not to bother you but only for the security. This is different if you pay for the room in advance, in this case you have to pay your extras separately.

All our staff is able to speak german , french and english. Also italian and spanish and russian speaking staff we have here in our hotel. So we hope the next time you stay with us we will understand each other very well.

Thank you for your stay in our hotel we remain with best regards.
Your Hotel Ibis Bern staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    387
    143
    36
    19
See reviews for
103
251
79
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

it would be nice to have an ice machine (for ice cubes) for self service on one of the floors at the hotel. a pen and a small hotel pad for taking notes would be useful. a printed list of the TV programs would be nice, instead of having to zip back and forth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at an Ibis hotel for 13 of the 16 nights when traveling Europe this summer and this one was the best. Very clean and well managed. The breakfast was of superior quality with more variety than the others we experienced in Paris, Strasbourg, Blois, and Nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridalesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

You get what you pay for, this hotel was nice, not luxury or anything but it was cheap compared to the other options in Berne. The rooms were good with big windows. Bed s a little hard and the bathroom was literally a pre-fab pod that was plopped in the room, which was kind of interesting to see. Breakfast and parking was not included which was kind of a downer. The location is great with a 15 minute walk to downtown, or a quick subway ride. Staff were friendly. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and want a decent hotel for a decent price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

In some ways I felt this hotel was everything a good hotel should be: clean, comfortable and conveniently located - close to the stade de suisse and right next to a tram stop (from which trams run frequently into the beautiful centre of Bern and take next to no time). The staff were friendly and helpful. It was good value for money for Switzerland (although we had a reduced weekend rate). On the down side the decor is bland and it is just not terribly exciting as a place to stay. The one real negative was that the pedestrian access to the tram stop was difficult - we had to walk through a puddle when it rained.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viermabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

good position, by tram stop (line 9), and 15 minutes walk away from city centre. awful building, but very comfortable inside. There is a small hall-bar with kind staff. Breakfast was very tasty. My room was perfectly clean and tidy. Very silent. Free wi-fi in the room. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear user antpiers

Thank you for your positive comment. We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind greetings

Anna Stoll
Guest Relations, Ibis Bern Expo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#10 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bern Expo

Property: Ibis Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Green Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bern Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently completed Ibis Bern Expo hotel is located opposite the BEA Bern Expo centre and not far from the new Wankdorf football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.5 Km from the hotel and the Bern Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. Book one of our 96 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the amenities on offer, including a 24 hour bar, wireless Internet access and private undercover pay parking. Restaurants can be found nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing